We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Feels like walking into my own home!”

Review of Anstis Cottage

View from Bedroom 1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Bedroom 1
Living Room Views from the Rear Decking
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
View from Bedroom 1
Living Room
Views from the Rear Decking
Views from Rear Bedroom
Living Room
Dining Room
Kitchen
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
View from Bedroom 1 - Anstis Cottage
Front Elevation
Winter at Anstis Cottage
Winter at Anstis Cottage
Main Bathroom
View of Moors and Beyond
River Esk - Aerial View
Old Viaduct
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
friendclo...
1 review
“Feels like walking into my own home!”
Reviewed 22 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We have stayed at Anstis cottage numerous times now and will return again and again. We have taken parents and friends on return visits purley down to that ' at home' feeling.

As you walk into the cottage it is bright, warm and spacious. It has all home comforts needed for a perfect stay. It has games for the children, wi fi, dvd player etc.

All bedrooms are of a good size and we have used a travel cot in the double room. My children now love the room with bunk beds and enjoy waking in the mornings to check if the Cows are in the fields!

The cottage is in a perfect location for a stroll into Whitby town on a buggy friendly route! The views all around the cottage are amazing.

The owners are always helpful in advising places around Whitby to visit and best dining places. They are keen to ensure the cottage has all you need and lives up to expectations to make your stay perfect!

Well be back soon! !

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LogiHarMa
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average house, good location - issues with cleanliness and cheap fixtures and fittings”
Reviewed 13 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Anstis Cottage on a last minute mid week short break (3 nights) in February 2013.

The cottage is a modern town house in an estate of houses (the majority of them are rental cottages). It is nicely located right next to the Cinder track which allows easy access into Whitby. (However, there is no street lightning, so walking in the dark is a problem and unfortunately, in winter it gets dark fairly early.)

We have had a few issues with the house, nothing major, but I thought I leave this review, as we originally picked it due to all the excellent reviews found on tripadvisor.

The house is an ok choice, but it certainly is nothing excellent.

We had some issues with the cleanliness. There were glass splinters on the kitchen floor (this is especially a problem as we traveled with two children under the age of 3), we found some old bottle tops on a side table in the living room. The bath was covered in a white powdery substance and there was a massive tooth paste stain on one of the three glass shelves in the bath room. The oven was dirty. We used it only once to bake some bread buns and smoked out the kitchen. It will need a thorough clean. The dishwasher was broken, so all the crockery had a soapy film on it and needed hand washing before using. Apart from that everything else was clean. However, the cleaning company used by the house owners insists 'the house was immaculate' before our arrival. You can take from that what you like. I just feel, if that is the best they can do. Next time it will not be properly clean neither. ;-)

Some of the blinds were broken, the towel holder in the bath room was broken and one of the draw handles on the coffee table came off when touching it.

The house owners provided a pint of milk, some tea bags, 6 sachets of coffee and some sugar. There was no bottle of wine as advertised. When we mentioned that afterwards, we were told that as we were on a budget they decided to give us a lower rate and no wine. By the way, I was not made aware that we benefited of a lower rate which had some strings attached at any point during the booking process or our stay. I did not even know, we were on a tight budget!

I was quite disappointed about the reaction of the cottage owners to our comments. I basically feel, they justified it by saying the house is due a spring clean which has not yet taken place and we only paid a low rental rate. Just to clarify, at no point before we commented on the property were we told that there were issues and we therefore paid a lower rate! Our booking was last minute (Friday for arrival the following Monday) in a low season.

In summary, the house is an average house with some issues. The rooms and beds are on the small side. The living area and the kitchen are nicely decorated. There are some games, books, DVD's etc available and the internet is working fine. You can definitely stay there, but do not expect something excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Cleanliness
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We would like to reiterate the importance of our guests' comments in order to monitor the standard of our holiday accommodation. We try to gauge this by contacting our guests on arrival via a phone call and also ask for comments in the visitor's book at the property. We also try to contact guests before departure.

Unfortunately, on this occasion, we have not met with your expectations and we apologise for this. Whilst we value guest's general comments we also find it helpful for awareness of any accidental damage or wear and tear issues that may have occurred during their visit in order to have the opportunity to recify these as soon as possible.

We do, however, find some of your comments unfounded and perhaps more to do with personal preferences but will take these on board and compare these against other guests comments should they be mentioned, for example the strong fragrance from the bed linen due to our choice of detergent and fabric softener.

Cleanliness is of paramount importance and something we have always received excellent feed back on. In fact the guests prior to your visit have a given a very favourable review. Naturally from time to time we do try out different cleaning products and futher to your feedback, we will now go back to using spray bleach rather than a Cif as this product can leave a chalky/white residue when dry. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Your comments regarding fittings in the property have suprised us too. Most of the lighting and bathroom fittings are from either M&S, Next or Laura Ashley all of whom we believe offer good quality and durability. As previously mentioned wear and tear can happen at any time and we hope these issues can be resolved during the changeover/cleaning of the accommodation

Regards
Allison & Tony
(Reply dated 22/2/13 - unable to post due to IT issues at Trip Advisor)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon R
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent short break”
Reviewed 13 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Spent 3 nights at Anstis Cottage - lovely modern, well equiped accomodation. Excellent location just a 15 minute walk from Whitby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful location, yet close to Whitby ameneties
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2012 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: back views
Liked least: slippy leather sofas !!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2012 for a stay in January 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything - we felt at home
Liked least: There's nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HKRDave
Hull
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“What a fantastic place!”
Reviewed 13 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011

4 of us spent New Year here, it was as close to perfect as possible. Perfectly located for a short walk or drive into Whitby and great access to the open countryside. The cottage was very clean, has everything you could need, and we all loved it. I want to come back just writing this!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cleanliness of the place
Liked least: nothing not to like!
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing