We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful”
other travellers have booked this property
Cottage and surroundings
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage and surroundings
Living room Double bedroom.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
Cottage and surroundings
Living room
Double bedroom.
Fitted Kitchen area
Bathroom with shower
Courtyard infront of cottage
View towards Whitby from Moors, roof of cottage above wood to left
Rear of cottage
Whitby Abbey from Cottage grounds
Old world charm of Whitby
Whitby whalebone arch
Bridge Inn Ruswarp
Ruswarp village
Famous steps to Whitby Abbey
Childrens playground Pannett Park.
Whitby
Steam trains through Ruswarp
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
glenlarge...
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 29 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

A wonderful holiday, peaceful location with stunning views. Lovely to sit outside in the sun and listen to the sound of the steam train as it makes its way through the valley. The cottage was well equipped, ( although I'll need to take a knife sharpener next time), ideal as a base for travelling around the area. The information given by Paul was excellent, can highly recommend the butchers in Sleights. I would highly recommend the cottage and will be booking again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2017
Many thanks for your review Glen, great to hear you enjoyed your stay in scenic Eskdale. We would love to have you stay again.
Best wishes Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
524beckyb
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful family break”
Reviewed 16 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Perfect cottage and location for a family holiday. Our little one is 2, but it would also be suitable for older children. Also brilliant local recommendations from the owner. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2017
Many thanks for your lovely review and we are so pleased you had such an enjoyable stay in beautiful Eskdale. Best wishes Paul and Dianne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallascre...
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Wonderful setting”
Reviewed 27 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Very spacious cottage with everything that you need. My little one slept better than ever due to the peace and quiet, wonderful to look out of the windows and see fields and sheep a truly relaxing break.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2017
Thank you for your lovely review of Grosmont Cottage. It was great to hear you enjoyed the beautiful peaceful surroundings of Eskdale.
I hope you may choose to stay again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary81201...
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great location and views”
Reviewed 5 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The cottage is a short distance from Whitby and is situated on a hill so you can see the abbey. There is equipment for young children to play on and sheep viewed from your window. The track to get to the cottage has quite a few pot holes so be careful when driving to and from there.
Although the oven was not working, the owner met us at the cottage to apologise and it was unfortunate he was unable to get the cooker fixed during our stay. However, everything else in the property was in good order (except we could not get the DVD player working?),
The cottage was very clean and the heating system brilliant, the shower is not that powerful though!
I would return to this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2016
Thank you for your review, it was good to hear you enjoyed your stay. I would like to apologize again for a few problems encountered during your stay.
The built in oven was only 18months old and still under Curry's cover. The problem was reported as soon as the fault was reported but sadly the Engineer took a few days to come out and the part required didn't arrive during your stay ( even after lots of phone calls on my part ). We share a long private drive with a few other properties which once formed a Hill Farm, the access road is surfaced with tarmac and any defects repaired at regular intervals but some potholes have formed over the past summer. Resurfacing has been arranged and we are awaiting the contractor doing this work.
It is good to hear you may return some time in the future.
Thanks once again for your booking. Regards Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melonhead...
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing venue”
Reviewed 19 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage was perfect for us and our daughter. It is a sign of a good host when the venue has everything you'll ever need. The kitchen was well equipt and was perfect for our needs. The cottage was well heated and cosy too. The surroundings were idiotic and the farm land provided entertainment for our daughter she we were back at base.
We would and have already recommended it to our friends and would return again.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2016
Many thanks for your kind review, so good to hear you enjoyed a great stay. I think maybe you mixed up a word when you said the surroundings were idiotic but I understand what you mean we are certainly surrounded by some wonderful scenery.
I hope you come and enjoy another stay soon. Regards Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“FAB COTTAGE, IDEAL LOCATION”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Just returned from a week at this cottage, the location is very peaceful. It was spotlessly clean and well equipped. Ideal placement for touring the local seaside towns and villages. Will consider this again for a break later in the year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location of cottage
Liked least: The lane to cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2015
Great to hear you had a good week and enjoyed the cottage and local area so much.
We are pleased you found Grosmont Cottage so well situated for enjoying the peaceful surroundings of stunning Eskdale but only 1 mile from Whitby.
I have just received your booking for late September. Many thanks from Paul and Dianne.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lesleyann...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
Reviewed 20 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Stayed here for 1 week august bank holiday had the best time
Lovely location Central for trips out around yorkshire cottage was very clean nice pub near the train station the bridge inn well worth a look food was georgeous you must visit local butchers the meat was spot on
All in all lovely holiday would go back again and defo recommend to anyone

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing