We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful, tranquil setting”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of River Bank Cottage

The cottage is on 3 floors 
Quiet location by the river
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage is on 3 floors 
Quiet location by the river
A view towards the moors Riverside Walk
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
54 reviews
The cottage is on 3 floors 
Quiet location by the river
A view towards the moors
Riverside Walk
Riverside Walk
first floor living room
living room to rear
from the living room
kitchen diner looking onto river
kitchen to the patio
bedroom overlooking river
Steam Train seen from cottage
Early morning view
Larpool Viaduct
Riverside Walk from the river
Feeding the ducks on the slipway
Walking the Whitby rail path
Whitby Abbey from the Viaduct
Whitby harbour from the old town
The famous Abbey steps
Taking a sea trip
from Whitby swing bridge
nearby Robin Hood's Bay
Robin Hood's Bay
Everyone likes a holiday!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lisa D
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Peaceful, tranquil setting”
Reviewed 25 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Stayed here for a week with my husband. Lovely very well equipped cottage on the banks of the river Esk. Just a short 25 minute stroll into bustling Whitby. Lovely to see steam trains going past the window and also we saw Herons, kingfisher, owls, rabbits and lots of blackbirds and songthrushes in the garden. Had lovely biscuits on our arrival too! Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2017
You are very welcome Lisa and Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirstieli...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing, peaceful, serene and beautiful!”
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

My partner and I stayed at this beautiful cottage over Whit week and it was absolutely stunning, so peaceful, serene and absolutely breathtaking at times.
We loved the simplicity of the cottage, along with the very homely feeling you have as soon as you enter the door. The little personal touches of the biscuits and tea and coffee was a delightful surprise and very much welcomed after our journey. I can even go as far as saying that even when we had a little downpour of rain the scenery was still perfect.
Thank you for an amazing stay we will definitely be recommending to friends and family and also we hope to return for another peaceful stay.

On a final note I would just like to comment on the location of the cottage it was close enough to Whitby but far enough from all the hustle and bustle of Whitby just a perfect location.

Kind Regards
See you again
Kirsti & Chris

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2017
Thank you Kirstie and Chris. Living on the other side of the river, we often think of our guests and hope they are enjoying the cottage as much as we did. It is worthwhile when we get such a lovely review
Russ and Tricia Camm
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“"Scenic,peaceful,magical place."”
Reviewed 20 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We could not have asked for anything more. From the special little touches to having all the information we could have ever needed. We loved the location, the house was filled with every home comfort and we would recommend this property to anyone who is looking for a relaxing holiday but with Whitby just down the road, be it if you want to walk using the viaduct or by car. A good base for local attractions. We would certainly visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2017
Your very welcome
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy S
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 2 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We have just had 4 nights at River Bank Cottage and found it to be very comfortable and had everything you need. The location is very good for touring the area and is a 30min walk into Whitby. The cottage has lovely views of the river from the living room and we got to see a seal swimming up and down looking for his tea! There are some very good walks around the area and the cottage. All in all a lovley setting and a very warm and well equiped cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2017
Thank you Wendy - you are welcome
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Jan 2017
Thank you Mr and Mrs Hutchinson. You are welcome
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paulcol55
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely stay as always”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Cottage always clean and welcoming. Comfy bed, dishwasher and even washing machine/dryer if needed. Lovely biscuits and handy milk waiting in fridge.
Table and chairs out back to make the most of the sun. So peaceful and relaxing with lovely views over river.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
Thank you it's especially nice when our guests keep coming back to us
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashers222
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“unbeatable”
Reviewed 6 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed in a few places around the English coast but this cottage is without doubt the best everything was perfect so clean and tidy and the setting is beautiful we would recommend this cottage to anyone

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing