We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Little piece of heaven”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of River Bank Cottage

The cottage is on 3 floors 
Quiet location by the river
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage is on 3 floors 
Quiet location by the river
A view towards the moors Riverside Walk
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
53 reviews
The cottage is on 3 floors 
Quiet location by the river
A view towards the moors
Riverside Walk
Riverside Walk
first floor living room
living room to rear
from the living room
kitchen diner looking onto river
kitchen to the patio
bedroom overlooking river
Steam Train seen from cottage
Early morning view
Larpool Viaduct
Riverside Walk from the river
Feeding the ducks on the slipway
Walking the Whitby rail path
Whitby Abbey from the Viaduct
Whitby harbour from the old town
The famous Abbey steps
Taking a sea trip
from Whitby swing bridge
nearby Robin Hood's Bay
Robin Hood's Bay
Everyone likes a holiday!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Grandmaja...
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 21 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Driving down to the cottage, we were struck with the wonderful view! And once we got in and looked through the lounge window, it certainly didn't disappoint!
So peaceful and quiet, I could have sat watching the river roll by all day long!
The cottage is well stocked, with everyhing you need, and there was a lovely little welcome pack that was most acceptable!
Nice comfy bed and sofa too!!
Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this cottage to family and friends.
My only problem was the 3 flights of stairs, (getting old!) so if you have difficulty with stairs, this is not for you, otherwise, it's fabulous!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victorias...
Shipley
2 reviews
“Lovely cottage and beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 1 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

My husband and I, plus our 11 year old daughter loved it at River Bank Cottage. The cottage is lovely and homely and we were given a really warm welcome with a tray of tea, coffee and biscuits, plus milk and juice in the fridge, which was a lovely thought. The cottage is well equipped, clean and has a lovely feel. We all slept brilliantly (the double bed is so comfy). The views of the river, viaduct and passing steam trains are wonderful. Our daughter loved going crabbing and watching the trains go by and feeding the ducks. The walk into Whitby (after walking up the pretty steep hill) is lovely and only took us about 15/20 mins. We've never spent this much time in Whitby so really enjoyed being able to just walk in when ever we felt like it. Ruswarp village is really nice for a cup of tea down by the river or a row in a boat. We even called into a play center here so our daughter could have a go on a climbing wall and the staff we're really friendly.
We had a wonderful holiday and honestly didn't want to leave. We loved the cottage and the area and couldn't have been happier.
Thank you Tricia and Russ for making us feel very welcome.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2017
What a delightful review. We are always very happy when our guests have had such a good time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barryshak...
Cottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Absolutely brilliant cottage we had a marvellous week there, didn't want to come home, everything you need in the cottage and has a beautiful setting on the river Esk under the magnificent larpool viaduct which you can walk across.
Definitely go back there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2017
you are very welcome Mr Shakesby and we look forward to seeing you again
Russ and Tricia Camm
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashers222
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent cottage”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Love Whitby and all that goes with it arrived to a steampunk weekend (had never heard of it before !) lots of people in Victorian dress and really friendly. Riverbank cottage was immaculate we have stayed before so know the setting is lovely sure we will return again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2017
You are very welcome, once again, Mr and Mrs Asher. We hope to see you soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa D
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Peaceful, tranquil setting”
Reviewed 25 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Stayed here for a week with my husband. Lovely very well equipped cottage on the banks of the river Esk. Just a short 25 minute stroll into bustling Whitby. Lovely to see steam trains going past the window and also we saw Herons, kingfisher, owls, rabbits and lots of blackbirds and songthrushes in the garden. Had lovely biscuits on our arrival too! Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2017
You are very welcome Lisa and Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirstieli...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing, peaceful, serene and beautiful!”
Reviewed 26 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

My partner and I stayed at this beautiful cottage over Whit week and it was absolutely stunning, so peaceful, serene and absolutely breathtaking at times.
We loved the simplicity of the cottage, along with the very homely feeling you have as soon as you enter the door. The little personal touches of the biscuits and tea and coffee was a delightful surprise and very much welcomed after our journey. I can even go as far as saying that even when we had a little downpour of rain the scenery was still perfect.
Thank you for an amazing stay we will definitely be recommending to friends and family and also we hope to return for another peaceful stay.

On a final note I would just like to comment on the location of the cottage it was close enough to Whitby but far enough from all the hustle and bustle of Whitby just a perfect location.

Kind Regards
See you again
Kirsti & Chris

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2017
Thank you Kirstie and Chris. Living on the other side of the river, we often think of our guests and hope they are enjoying the cottage as much as we did. It is worthwhile when we get such a lovely review
Russ and Tricia Camm
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“"Scenic,peaceful,magical place."”
Reviewed 20 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We could not have asked for anything more. From the special little touches to having all the information we could have ever needed. We loved the location, the house was filled with every home comfort and we would recommend this property to anyone who is looking for a relaxing holiday but with Whitby just down the road, be it if you want to walk using the viaduct or by car. A good base for local attractions. We would certainly visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2017
Your very welcome
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing