We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So good last year I had to stay here again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rosewood Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #27 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So good last year I had to stay here again.”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I am not the best of travellers and so it was a pleasure to stay once again at Rosewood.

I was in Whitby from A late Wednesday in October (23rd) to very early Monday morning (28th)and stayed for five nights.

The accomodation is large and comfortable and the breakfasts are ideal for an Autumn Whitby - substantial, healthy (if you go for the fruit options which I almost never do) and the welcome tea and coffee with scones is a welcome touch when you arrive especially after a long coach journey from London.

I phoned ahead to let Freda know we wer arriving at the Coach Stop and she had the tea and coffee ready for us as we walked through the door.

There is fresh milk in a jug in a small refridgerator in the room every day and a host of options for beverages.

We were visiting the Whitby Pavilion Theatre and this venue is under ten minutes from the venue so the location was perfect.

The hosts were great organising a taxi so we could make out 7am coach and also advising on cheap (and more importantly) vegetarian places to eat in Whitby.

Recommended.

Room Tip: There is little to choose between the two rooms they are both large and have all the facilities a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeanGeoghegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    20
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
14
220
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We arrived late, but Freda was there with a cup of tea and scones and helped us to our room. The room was clean and warm, and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was a really good size - the shower was very good - and there were plenty of bath and shower products; we didn't use the bath as the hot water wasn't available at times we were in the B&B - but that wasn't a problem.

The breakfasts were amazing - Freda's fruits soaked in different teas are wonderful (she willingly shares her recipes too!). We had to leave very early on the last day and Freda and Dave made us breakfast and sent us off with a packed lunch for our journey. They are so kind and nothing is too much trouble!

Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Both rooms are great for couples or solo travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ap16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

A fantastic welcome from Freda and Dave. Just had weekend in Whitby and stayed at Rosewood. It was a beautiful, clean, warm place to stay, double ensuite with loads of space, made to feel so welcome by Freda and Dave who would do anything for you. Really good value, Freda's breakfast fruit and compotes are to die for!Dave's cooked breakfast will keep you going all day! Nothing is too much trouble!If you want to stay somewhere where you are made to feel special, this is the place for you!!Anywhere else is just average!! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: phone the landlady in advance-she'll have fresh cakes, fruit scones with cream and tea waiting f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We went last weekend and stay at Rosewood bed & breakfast. The bedroom & en suite was so lovely and comfort. Also Dining room looks very nice and lots of Victorian dolls. Our landlady are very friendly and warm.

The breakfast was very nice anything to ask for any request food as fresh fruit, natural yoghurt or fruit with yoghurt & granolas in small glass dishes, full English or kippers with poached eggs or scrambled eggs also can have vegetarian breakfast.

We would like to stay again in future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanJ1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a lovely weekend at the Rosewood B & B in Whitby. When I say that the owners Freda and Dave cannot do enough for you is an understatement, this wonderful couple are an absolute asset to Whitby. The rooms have everything you could think of (and some things you might not think you need). Everything from the tea and scones on arrival, the advice on where to eat to the magnificent breakfasts prepared by Dave. Freda and Dave's passion for their business and their guests shows as soon as you step through the door. We will definitely be back next year and won't stay anywhere else in Whitby again.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms, one to the front of the property and one to the rear - both are a good siz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozzy1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2013

freda & dave gave us the best 5 days we could have wished for on my husbands birthday, we had a great party shared with other guests and freda, dave made us welcome by making a real fire in the front room, we had good food, clean rooms and exelent service, it was home from home in their beautifull house. we will be going back on our next visit.
the coopers

Room Tip: both rooms are good to stay in
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Absolutely fantastic very friendly and accommodating rooms were large and well equipped and spotless highly recommend food was great have as much as you wanted well situated for the pavillion spa for 60s weekend

Room Tip: room no 1 biggest room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.0 mi away
Park Dene B&B
Park Dene B&B
#16 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#18 of 151 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
0.6 mi away
Launceston Villa Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riftswood B&B
Riftswood B&B
#9 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ellies Guesthouse
Ellies Guesthouse
#21 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#6 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Bed and Breakfast

Property: Rosewood Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3 Ocean Road, Whitby YO21 3HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosewood Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rosewood Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing