We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rosewood Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #26 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whitby
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“welcoming”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Very comfortable stay, great nights sleep and lots of nice touches, like fresh milk and fridge in your room. Easy to walk into town and lots of advice. Lots of fuss and care provided if you enjoy that. Fabulous breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Janine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    20
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
13
220
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We have been coming to Whitby every May for the last 15 years for the Whitby Gospel Music Convention. This was our 3rd time at Rosewood, this year we had a couple of 'senior' friends with us. Freda and Dave could not do enough for us all. Accommodation is clean, comfortable, rooms are a delight, spacious, lovely decor, a variety of teas including fruit teas, coffees, hot chocolate and biscuits on the 'hospitality' tray. Also hair-dryer, sewing kit, manicure set, and the biggest variety of shower gels, body lotions and creams anyone could wish for, in fact just excellent. Great welcome, tea and scones on arrival. Breakfasts are just superb, fruit compots, also a variety of fruits marinated in Freda's own special recipies, cereals if you want, and full English, expertly cooked by Dave. We have already booked for next year!! Just one small drawback, our friends found it a little difficult to have a shower, they are used to a grab rail at home and there isn't one in either of the showers at Rosewood, at least not at present - no doubt Dave will put that right before too long.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roan_May
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Excellent welcome. First class service from Dave & Freda. All the basics were top quality and then there were all the extras: tea & scones; cakes; bag of snacks for our son travelling back on coach to London on his own; range of fresh fuit compots & fruit at breakfast; the list goes on...
Breakfast was top quality and you could have whatever you wanted. Attentive hosting when needed and left alone when hosting not required or appreciated.
Would totally recommend this establishment to anyone planning a trip to Whitby.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert54_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frimley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed at the Rosewood Bed & Breakfast this last weekend and felt relaxed and very comfortable indeed.
Our room, room number 1, at the front of the house, was absolutely lush. Our room was very spacious with super décor ~ great colours, art work and finishing touches that really impressed us.
A super comfortable bed with great quality bed linen with an extra bed, for our son to stay with us, were all appreciated. Our very spacious en suite bathroom made our stay "perfect".
Nothing seemed too much trouble for our hosts.
We enjoyed the most delicious cooked breakfasts plus was a variety of scrummy treats including fruits and homemade marmalade. We were delighted to receive many extras edible treats on offer too.
Our son was given a packed lunch to "takeaway" without us even mentioning a need.
Dave cooks (and sings) while Freda is the hostess with the mostess ~ attentive and efficient.
This was our first visit to Rosewood and it is definitely a B&B worth visiting. Hope they are not fully booked on our next trip to Whitby.
Without a shadow of a doubt we recommend this establishment for price, quality, friendliness, comfort and value for money.
We had a prefect stay.
Thank you, Dave and Freda.

Room Tip: We had room 1 at the front of the house. Very spacious and more than enough room for an extra bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TillyC-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We have just returned from a brief visit to Whitby, staying just one night at Rosewood with Frieda and Dave. We received a hearty welcome and were offered tea and scones immediately. As we were going into town for the must-have Whitby fish and chips we declined but what a great offer! Dave showed us to our room which was immaculately clean and sumptuous and contained every extra you could possibly think of. Fresh milk in a small fridge was certainly a welcome change and an excellent range of teas and coffees as well as bedtime drinks were provided. The bathroom was beautiful with an incredible range of toiletries in attractive bottles and a bath and separate shower.

Frieda told us we could have anything for breakfast which we ordered the night before. She also provided a selection of compotes and marinated dried fruits as well as a choice of cereals and a glass of guava juice! We had chosen a full English breakfast and it was certainly hearty and well cooked and presented. Plenty of tea and coffee was offered and toast and home made marmalade completed a very adequate start to the day!

Frieda was very helpful, getting us a taxi into town (my husband has impaired mobility) and Dave carried our case up and down the stairs when we arrived and left.

There is no way in which you could fault anything at this lovely, friendly B & B. The person who complained about being "told off" by Dave for leaving the front door on the latch should have known better if she was in her forties and had a "responsible" job (let's hope it doesn't necessitate writing good English!). Would she leave her own front door on the latch in the middle of the night? I have to say also that Frieda didn't chatter all through our breakfast - we chatted about various things before and after breakfast but we were left to enjoy our breakfast apart from the delivery of toast etc and offers of more tea or coffee etc.

I think it is very unfair of the person who left the door open to leave such a bad review because Frieda and Dave clearly take enormous pride in their B & B and would bend over backwards to help in any way to make anyone's stay as enjoyable as possible. They simply do not wish to be burgled when the insurance company would dismiss their claim because some stupid guest had given free entry to the perpetrator!

Thank you Frieda and Dave x

Room Tip: There are just two ample rooms - one at the front and one at the back of the house - both immaculate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turkishdelight37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Came up to Whitby for the scooter rally. Booked for the first time at the Rosewood. and was initially impressed by the little extras that are provided. However, my partner and I felt somewhat overwhelmed by the over tentative hostess. On our final night i was actually left upset by the host David.
I had come back to the room prior to my partner as i felt unwell and had left the front door on the latch so my partner could not get in (we were given one bunch of keys) as i knew he was only going to be 30 minutes behind me.
Dave raised his voice at me and was extremely confrontational. I apologised without thinking to receive the reply "i don't care how sorry you are" you could have had us cleared out"

As a couple in our mid forties with responsible careers, we do not wish to be made to feel like fourteen year olds living with our parents when we come away. I am a respectful person and the could have discreetly spoke to us about it, but this was raised the next morning in front of other guests
The next morning i wished to sit quietly and eat my breakfast but this was monopolised by the hostess who was very friendly but i wished to eat quietly. Guests should be left alone at their mealtimes

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feebee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Stayed at Rosewood the weekend before easter. Its just 2mins to the cliff edge( bit longer to get down the path to the beach, but the view is beautiful! ), 10 mins into town. Great pub and restaurant on the corner of the street, so a pretty great location. The b&b itself is lovely, the downstairs reflects the owner's character and is very welcoming (complete with real log fire and scones on arrival -yum!). Rooms are very spacious and the ensuite was huge! Lovely breakfast, many tastes catered for and freda didnt mind what you had for breakfast, she took your order the day before so it was freshly cooked when you got to breakfast.
Would definitely stay here again, Freda and Dave are lovely people, and very welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindseyvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.0 mi away
Park Dene B&B
Park Dene B&B
#16 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#21 of 151 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.6 mi away
Launceston Villa Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riftswood B&B
Riftswood B&B
#14 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ellies Guesthouse
Ellies Guesthouse
#22 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#7 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosewood Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosewood Bed and Breakfast

Property: Rosewood Bed and Breakfast
Address: 3 Ocean Road, Whitby YO21 3HY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Rosewood Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rosewood Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing