We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location”
Review of Dunsley Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dunsley Hall
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
207 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
Reviewed 23 August 2011

A beautiful old building in a lovely location close to Sandsend and Whitby. Our rooms, both doubles, were clean and well furnished with ours (room 25) especially nice as it had patio doors enabling you to sit out in an attractive garden, complete with fountain.
Breakfast was nice and plentiful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brock59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    251
    76
    29
    29
See reviews for
88
543
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We stayed at Dunsley for two nights and were very pleased when we arrived to find a magnificent old country house. The room was large and well appointed and very comfortable. Staff were welcoming and friendly. We eat in the main restaurant on the first evening which is when the issues started to appear. The prices were very expensive, which would have been OK if the food and the service were at the same level. Unfortunately, they were not. We had to pour our own wine, they did not give us the correct cutlery for our food and the food itself were just OK. When you are paying £27 for a steak you expect better. The 2 waitresses in the restaurant clearly had not been trained which left us feeling a little cheated on what could have been a very nice meal. Other than that the hotel was very good and I would recommend it to people but but advise them to eat out.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CruisingBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

I stayed at the Dunsley Hall with my partner for a mid week break. We were allocated a lovely room overlooking the gardens, although on the small side the room was very clean.
We ate in the hotel on the first night and had a really enjoyable meal, with canapes served on the terrace whilst we enjoyed pre- dinner drinks. I would recommend the hotel for anyone looking for a quiet country hotel break.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeannie459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We had a lovely overnight stay. Great garden view room and spacious bathroom. Efficient and friendly staff. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukrebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, Scotland
Level Contributor
85 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Firstly I looked at previous reviews and was amazed at the pettyness of some comments e.g. the kettle in the wrong place

Stayed overnight in room 19; quiet, clean, large modern bathroom with gels and creams; a good size room especially compared to City hotels.

We had dinner and breakfast and both excellent especially dinner; service was better than average for 'Country House' style places and the staff were attentive, helpful and friendly. The restaurant is a lovely rectangular room and not cramped.

I undeerstand it is not 4-star because there is no lift and they do not turn the bed down! Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay and would go back if in the area. It is only 3 star but much better than many higher rated hotels we have stayed in, particular the meals which were superb. We booked through booking.com and for £(( B&B we thought it was excellent value and did not consider the food and drinks to be expensive.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2011

My wife and I stayed at Dunsley Hall for 3 nights in June 2011. We were greeted by friendly staff who showed us to our room (Number 3) rather than simply giving directions. We were invited to take tea/coffee in the lounge after settling in ,which we did. Our room was very large and well furnished with all items in excellent condition and the room, like all the public areas we used was immaculately maintained and cleaned. The en suite was modern and spotless. The lounge is a beautiful oak-panelled room which opens out to a lovely garden-side terrace where drinks can be taken when the weather is fine. All the staff seemed friendly and helpful and actually seemed to work as a team (a rarity these days). Because of its construction, the hotel has no lift but help is available for luggage, but if informed at time of booking they will make all effort to allocate a ground floor room if necessary. We had pre-dinner drinks in the bar (another oak panelled room, with luxurious leather easy chairs), and our Dinner orders were taken there, and complementary pre-dinner chilled canapes served. Both the main dining room and the “Oak Room” are wonderful dining areas, the former with views of the bird feeders in the well maintained gardens. The tables are beautifully set out and the atmosphere in both rooms highly conducive to a good dining experience. We found no pretentiousness at all; merely friendly and efficient service. The kitchen and serving staff have a working system that ensures short waiting times and efficient clearing of tables.
So now to the all important food. Breakfasts are a feast. A self service table caters for fruit juices, fresh fruit salads, cereals, croissants, yoghurts, and the like. Cooked breakfast include all the obvious choices with the “top” meal being a full English, including eggs (from their own hens), bacon, sausage, black pudding, mushrooms, tomatoes etc. The food is local, fresh, tasty and cooked to your requirements. Racks of toast with butter and jam/marmalade are liberally supplied as is tea/coffee.
Despite the undoubted excellent quality of the breakfast, the highlight of Dunsley cuisine is dinner.
The ingredients are usually locally sourced and of high quality. The dishes are simple, to bring out the flavours of the ingredients (not swamped with unnecessary sauces), and are cooked to perfection. Equal care appears to be applied to all components of the meal (the seasonal vegetables, served as a side dish were all cooked separately and each perfectly done; sweet Chantennay carrots, green beans with a “squeak” on the tooth, and firm yet tender asparagus). As main course throughout the stay we had, duck, guinea fowl, chicken, beef fillet, sea bass and gnocchi. All dishes were close to perfect, with just enough “jus” or other accompaniment, the bring out the flavour of the main ingredient. A lovely touch is the complimentary “amuse bouch” (an example being tomato and orange soup) served prior to the starter, and the palate-cleansing sorbet, served between starter and main. Desserts were not mass produced, as so often happens, but again obviously lovingly prepared in the kitchen, and included such delights as Eton mess, Creme brulee, and for me, the gem; bitter dark chocolate tart. So was this really “exorbitant” as one reviewer suggested? By no means. The price compares favourably with any high quality restaurant anywhere in the country, and is a brilliant deal compared to restaurants in major UK cities, (probably even Manhattan!). Prices for wine also are “par for the course” in a restaurant, but for each category of wine on the list at least one, was at the price set for the house wines, (£15.95 at time of writing).
In summary, a delightful hotel in an impressive building, surrounded by well tended grounds superb views, excellent cuisine run by attentive, friendly and efficient staff; what's not to like?

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Profnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Spent a romantic weekend with my husband and loved every minute of it. Excellent location, sea views, so much to do around (Whitby, beaches, York Moors etc.). The hotel is definitely 4star in all aspects. Ambience, service was second to none, food fantastic, real fine dining experience with hints of genius (wild mushrooms, creme brulee). Could not recommend enough. We will be coming back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LenkaGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
2.4 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
2.7 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#9 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunsley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunsley Hall

Property: Dunsley Hall
Address: Dunsley Hall Dunsley Lane, Whitby YO21 3TL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#3 Family Hotel in Whitby
#4 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunsley Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once home to a Victorian shipping magnate, Dunsley Hall is a hidden gem that offers all the comforts you expect of a modern hotel. All en-suite rooms are individually furnished with tea & coffee making facilities, flat screen TVs and there is Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The restaurant has rosette awards for food and service and there are many interesting and attractive features. These include an original stained glass window an Inglenook fireplace in the guest lounge. The hotel is set in four acres of landscaped grounds which include tennis court, putting and croquet. Just three miles north of the famous coastal fishing town of Whitby where you can visit many attractions including Whitby Abbey (where the date for Easter was decided), the Captain Cook Memorial Museum, see Whitby Jet being turned into attractive jewellery and Whitby is also the setting for Bram Stoker's Dracula novels. Unspoilt Sandsend Beach is just one mile from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Dunsley Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunsley Hall Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing