We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Olde Worlde Charm setting in picturesque surroundings”
Review of Dunsley Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dunsley Hall
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
99 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Olde Worlde Charm setting in picturesque surroundings”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Warm welcome awaited us upon arrival. We booked dinner for the following evening & were told what time we could eat! We had already booked to dine out in town the first evening. The bedroom was tastefully furnished but the underfloor heating was very hot and had to turn it off. The television did not have SKY TV which was disappointing. The bed was too soft so difficult to sleep. The Hotel was clean and cheerful. The staff friendly.

The breakfasts were excellent and a good choice of food available and nothing too much trouble if a deviation of the menu was required. Bar meals were available if required and room service if booked the previous evening (charged). Dinner was good, promptly served and not overpriced. I had seafood Terrine, varied and tasty. My Husband had meat rolls which were hot and delicious, for thr mains, I had a plaice without the pasta as on the menu) which was no trouble. My Husband had the lamb, the vegetables were hot and not overcooked.. A good choice of food on the menu, liked the pre-starter soup and pre-sweet desert, a nice touch.

Car park adequate. Well kept gardens and plenty of wild life! Need a car to get to places as set in rural location. Will return in the forseeable future.

Room Tip: Ask for room in extension as have garden views, turn off heating recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaTD4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    258
    76
    29
    29
See reviews for
90
555
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2012

After 6 hours of driving what a warm welcome we rceived at Dunsley Hall. All the staff were pleasant, welcoming and professional without being stuffy. The gardens were breathtaking (even in the month of Janaury!!!). The accommodation was superb, as was the food (again seved by such lovely staff). Wish we could of stayed more than one night. Will we go back? Without a shadow of a doubt and for longer. Thank you for a, if brief, fantastic stay.

Room Tip: If you like attic bedrooms with character and a HUGE bathroom - room 15 is the room for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rotherham
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

have just had a romantic weekend in Whitby- Dunsley Hall is fantastic, beautiful hotel and surroundings, excellent value for money. Valentines menu in restaurant to die for- expensive but well worth it! thanks for a great break- will certainly be visiting again.
the bar is lovely and cosy in the winter- can't wait to return in the summer

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RotherhamTravelpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds Yorks UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed Thursday 9th Feb arrived just as snow falling, went for a look around whitby (2 miles away) only to find weather getting much worse, attempted to get back to the hotel without succsess as approach road very difficult in snow. The owner was so obliging and came to pick us up in his 4x4 and took us back next morning for our car. Although hotel was quiet the meal we had in the bar was 1st class concidering we had not intended to eat there, with lovely warm stove and great decor. Would definately recomend this hotel if you enjoy peace and quiet and good food.

Room Tip: Room 3 four poster on 1st floor very comfortable two windows great view. Although bathroom has no fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linniepoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

So why 4 out of five?
Nothing to do with the staff, the food the location, the rooms the cleanliness or officiancy what-so-ever.

4 out of 5 goes to the fact that there only 4 channels on the TV, and that the internet only worked in the bar, minor problems that could be solved at little cost.

Okay, that aside, you'd be hard pushed to find a more friendly staff.

Food:
The food was impeccable, an extensive menu both in the bar and in the restaurant. Speedy service with a smile and pleasantries, nothing fake, nothing forced, all genuine, from professional and tentative staff.

Rooms:
Spotless, large bed, desk, chairs, ample dresser space, large bathroom - ours had no shower, just a snake from the taps of an ornate cast iron bath. Bright and modern bathroom, and a large spacious bedroom, some people have said 60s style i'm not sure about that, but its themed that way. Its not decor that's actually been there since the 60s.....you know that....... right?
Room 25, 26 and 27 open out onto a lovely garden area that, in summer would be a great place to relax. If you want Internet, I suggest room 27 and its right beside the bar, in 26 we had nothing.

Restaurant and Bar:
Large restaurant and and breakfast area, and a snug yet spacious bar area, with a really old world country feel to it country feel to it, leather seating, open fireplace, appealing to all ages but like it or hate it, impressive none the less.

Food:
We never sampled the restaurant menu, but guests there that weekend had no complaints.
Over the weekend stay -
In the bar we sampled: Stake and Ale pie, Gammon and egg with rice and seasonal vegetables and smoked haddock with spinach in a prawn butter sauce.
Breakfast: Triangles of toast with haddock and poached eggs, full English breakfast, scrambled eggs. 10/10 on all food and service.

Overall, 9/10

I'd recommend to anyone looking for a great relaxing break in a stress free well catered for setting.. just limited internet and and TV.

Room Tip: Id say 27.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

I'm writing this whilst still at the hotel sat in the bar, fire on. We are now the only guests at the hotel but coming out of season, being quiet can be expected.
We have a lovely room in what I believe to be the new part of the hotel, overlooking a small garden with a sea view (just). Very comfortable, clean & well maintained.
Most staff excellent all apart from 1 who annoyed me a couple of times over trivial matters (female restaurant manager I believe).
Overall a lovely hotel with very pleasant attentive staff in a lovely setting about 2/3 miles outside Whitby near sandsend. You can't walk anywhere so will need the car but if u don't mind that & want a lovely relaxing setting, it's for you. We paid very little with a KGB deal & were very happy with what we got.
Give it a try. I don't think you'll be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarahaj67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We have just returned from a two night stay, and had a wonderful time. The country house is beautiful, the staff are very well trained and obviously love working at this hotel. My husband compared the food to michelin star quality that we have sampled, The chef has done a fantastic job with the menu. Dunsley Hall is a country house hotel therefore it is perfect for a relaxing break If you want a busy bar go to a pub, as this place is tranquil and we hope that it stays this way.We are already planning our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,996 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
606 reviews
2.4 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#7 of 20 in Whitby
404 reviews
2.7 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
2.6 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunsley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunsley Hall

Property: Dunsley Hall
Address: Dunsley Hall Dunsley Lane, Whitby YO21 3TL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Whitby
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#4 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunsley Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once home to a Victorian shipping magnate, Dunsley Hall is a hidden gem that offers all the comforts you expect of a modern hotel. All en-suite rooms are individually furnished with tea & coffee making facilities, flat screen TVs and there is Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The restaurant has rosette awards for food and service and there are many interesting and attractive features. These include an original stained glass window an Inglenook fireplace in the guest lounge. The hotel is set in four acres of landscaped grounds which include tennis court, putting and croquet. Just three miles north of the famous coastal fishing town of Whitby where you can visit many attractions including Whitby Abbey (where the date for Easter was decided), the Captain Cook Memorial Museum, see Whitby Jet being turned into attractive jewellery and Whitby is also the setting for Bram Stoker's Dracula novels. Unspoilt Sandsend Beach is just one mile from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Dunsley Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunsley Hall Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing