We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel with terrfic foood”
Review of Dunsley Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dunsley Hall
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Stayed for just one night, on a last minute getaway, needing just to re-charge 'my batteries' from the daily grind, Hard to fault anything, Our room was cosy, comforable and immaculate, with the best shower in the bathroom I have ever seen or used! The food is truly superb, possibly one of the best meals I have eaten anywhere, The staff are attentive and friendly in this lovely old period house hotel. With without any hesitation I would and have recommended this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BebbieHartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (877)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

768 - 774 of 877 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

Wonderfully understated luxury in the most peaceful surroundings. The staff are most helpful and friendly and the food superb. I would highly recommend this hotel?

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank kirkup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

My husband and I love this place. We got married here last year and have had a few stays on the run up to the wedding but due to circumstances we haven't been back since we got married. We were really looking forward to revisiting Dunsley and were not disappointed! We were really touched to be remembered by the staff and the service we received was second to none.
We were in room 18 - our favourite! Huge room, beautiful building and the perfect place to relax. We dined in the restaurant in the evening too - again the service was fantastic as was the food. We ate off the al a carte menu which although leaned towards the more pricey side, was well worth it.
We were by far the youngest people in the hotel - a point raised by others in their reviews on here - but for the type of hotel with the room rates it commands, you aren't going to get masses of young folk on a cheap weekend away....which is pretty perfect for us.
I would recommend this place to those who enjoy a more relaxed, sedate break and whilst ever we have money in our pockets we will be lifelong visitors to Dunsley.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

excellent hotel which ticks all the correct boxes. Professionally managed and excellently maintained providing us with a wonderful stay. Lovely period house which has an atmosphere of stepping back in time.Large comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms with comfy beds,hairdryer tea coffee robes etc. Lovely food and a great choice .Outstanding staff. Plenty of car parking and enjoyable gardens. We could not find fault with anything. This hotel is a true credit to its owners, many could learn from them!!!!Thank you so much. carol and john Lytham st annes

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carolmarieke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

This is a very impressive hotel, infact one of the most tasteful and well maintained I have stayed in. It is in a beautiful, quiet setting with excellent staff .
The rooms are spaceous, carefully designed and have a lovely period look.There is also a really impressive lounge too which is furnished to a high period standard, has a very relaxed atmosphere and has a lovely stained glass window which must be seen.
The dining experience is of a high standard with a good menu and the food is freshly cooked and well presented.
Altogether a very elegant hotel with excellent standards.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SCOOTERCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night . The hotel is in a beautiful surroundings . The room we had was of the highest standard tastefully decorated but in keeping with the tradition of the hotel. The room had patio doors which opened up onto a small garden which in the summer would be fantastic. The bathroom was immaculate with a lovely old fashioned bath, the only downside to us was the fact that there was no shower but that is our personal preference. It was a very cold weekend but our room was beautifully warm as it had under floor heating which was really welcomed . The breakfast was excellent. A very nice hotel which we would return to again.

Room Tip: rooms 22 to 24
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suzi13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Even though the rain was bouncing off the road, the moment we pulled into the driveway the weekend break was promising to be one to remember. The beautiful building set in lovely green gardens and a view of the sea in the distance set the tone for the days to come. The receptionist was so helpful and showed us to our room up quirky staircases and little corridors dotted with lovely antiques. Room 18 was delightful, from the comfy armchairs to the super bathroom and the most comfortable bed ever. The teapot in the room for our morning cup of tea was a lovely change from the usual and breakfast was freshly cooked and served with a smile. We cannot wait to return,

Room Tip: I only saw room 18 but you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunandstuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,132 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#6 of 19 in Whitby
647 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 19 in Whitby
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 19 in Whitby
1,181 reviews
2 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#17 of 19 in Whitby
219 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#5 of 19 in Whitby
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunsley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunsley Hall

Address: Dunsley Hall Dunsley Lane, Whitby YO21 3FG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Whitby
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#4 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: £67 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunsley Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once home to a Victorian shipping magnate, Dunsley Hall is a hidden gem that offers all the comforts you expect of a modern hotel. All en-suite rooms are individually furnished with tea & coffee making facilities, flat screen TVs and there is Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The restaurant has rosette awards for food and service and there are many interesting and attractive features. These include an original stained glass window an Inglenook fireplace in the guest lounge. The hotel is set in four acres of landscaped grounds which include tennis court, putting and croquet. Just three miles north of the famous coastal fishing town of Whitby where you can visit many attractions including Whitby Abbey (where the date for Easter was decided), the Captain Cook Memorial Museum, see Whitby Jet being turned into attractive jewellery and Whitby is also the setting for Bram Stoker's Dracula novels. Unspoilt Sandsend Beach is just one mile from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Dunsley Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunsley Hall Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing