We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really great Hotel”
Review of Dunsley Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dunsley Hall
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A really great Hotel”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

The place to stay if you want brilliant food, comfortable rooms, excellant service and friendly staff. Whitby is our choice for holidays for over 45yrs and this hotel is a GEM in the North Yorks Moors crown.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenian30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    267
    78
    29
    31
See reviews for
94
577
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Horncastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

The hotel is in a lovely location and on arrival were very pleased.Reception staff are very friendly and showed us to our room.We stayed in room 22 in which i thought was very basic for the price,(no free view or sky).On inspection of the room we were very disappointed,lots of dust on wardrobe,toilet roll holder rusty,shower gel stand rusty, really was not what i was expecting for £320 for two nights.The bar menu doesn't have enough choice even though the medium rare sirloin steak was the best i have ever eaten.Hotel was ok but its more suited for the business client or the elderly.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This is our third stay at Dunsley and each time the staff have been very friendly and helpful, the accommodation excellent and the meals are a work of art. We feel it is very good value for money. The bar area and lounge are so comfortable and welcoming. We will certainly stay again and also recommend Dunsley to our family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara and Fr... M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

This Hotel is very different to any Hotel we have stayed at before it was built in 1900 as a home for a shipping magnet or so we were told by a receptionist. It looks like a castle and has beautiful grounds which we could not enjoy because of the bad weather.It is like stepping back in times with all the quaint rooms full of character. The only thing I would say is that the bathroom, although quite big did not have enough shelving for toiletry's etc. The food was excellent and so were the staff. If you want a realy good rest this is the place to go.

Room Tip: Only experienced the one we were in and that was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barbara w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We checked in and were shown to our room, which was quite a way from reception, and lots of steps in between, not a problem for us, but if you have any mobility problems I would mention it when you book and ask for a room more easily accessed. Our first impression was not great, after booking us in the receptionist whizzed off, not offering any help with our bags and leaving us ten paces behind trying to keep up, and as soon as we were in the room she dashed off again! The room was clean and very spacious, with an inner hallway from which you entered the bedroom or bathroom. We were in room 18 which was the subject of a not so positive review so I was beginning to wonder if I had made a good decision! My view on the subject of the extractor: yes you could hear it but we didn't find it a nuisance; yes they did turn it off at about 10.30pm; but, we didn't have the window open and I think I might have had a different view if it had been hot at night... True, the curtains don't block out the light fully, but I think that is one of the quirks of staying in a period building.
We ordered a paper and expected that it would be delivered, but apparently people steal them so you have to collect them from reception, I'm not convinced by that argument, and would suggest that when you order a paper it would be helpful to advise guests what the procedure is.
On a more positive note, everything was clean and in working order, we had a comfortable stay, and the quality of food at breakfast was very good, we had haddock or kippers both of which were very tasty.

Is it worth £200 a night? Probably not.
Is it worth staying if you get a special offer? Yes

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleDollyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Found the hotel on the 'net'. Nice location, lovely grounds, plenty of parking. Reception fine. Room nice except Bathroom a little tired/dated
Restaurant very expensive (but might be good?) so didn't eat there. Breakfast good.
Staff good. Bar area lacked atmosphere. Well placed for Whitby and surronding area

Room Tip: Top of the house headroom quite small in doorways
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Just got back from a lovely relaxing 2 night break at Dunsley. The hotel is set in a tiny hamlet down a country lane and your first glimpse of the hotel will elicit a 'wow'!!!!
We were given a lovely warm welcome and shown to our room, (another 'wow' moment!!!) we settled in and then went for a walk to Sandsend and had something to eat in The White Hart pub, where the portions were ENORMOUS and more importantly delicious.
We had an explore around the lovely gardens and checked out the fabulous lounge, what a place to while a way and hour or two.
The next evening we decided to have a bar meal at the hotel, as we had been out walking all day.
'Bar meal' doesn't do it justice, I ordered soup and a sandwich it all came beautifully presented and was absolutely yum!!!! the mushroom soup served with warm mini crusty rolls was to die for I could have polished off another bowl with no problem!!!!!! The sandwich was served with salad, coleslaw and crisps. The breakfasts were as good too, with eggs fresh from the Dunsley's own hens, who are as welcoming as the staff!!!!
So, the t.v. doesn't have Channel 5, but seeing as the only thing worth watching on that channel is CSI, it is no big deal, we sat in the bar after our meal and read our Kindles.
Crisp spotless linens, fluffy bathrobes, snow white towels, well stocked tea and coffee tray, and lovely peace and quiet. I didn't even mind the dawn chorus!!!!!
It is more suited to older couples, which makes for a better ambience. We can't wait to visit again.

Room Tip: Room #3 is gorgeous, corner room so views over the countryside and the sea fourposter bed, comfy ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAKELBE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,051 reviews
2.4 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,133 reviews
2.7 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,100 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hudsons
Hudsons
#8 of 20 in Whitby
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunsley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunsley Hall

Property: Dunsley Hall
Address: Dunsley Hall Dunsley Lane, Whitby YO21 3TL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#3 Family Hotel in Whitby
#4 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunsley Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once home to a Victorian shipping magnate, Dunsley Hall is a hidden gem that offers all the comforts you expect of a modern hotel. All en-suite rooms are individually furnished with tea & coffee making facilities, flat screen TVs and there is Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The restaurant has rosette awards for food and service and there are many interesting and attractive features. These include an original stained glass window an Inglenook fireplace in the guest lounge. The hotel is set in four acres of landscaped grounds which include tennis court, putting and croquet. Just three miles north of the famous coastal fishing town of Whitby where you can visit many attractions including Whitby Abbey (where the date for Easter was decided), the Captain Cook Memorial Museum, see Whitby Jet being turned into attractive jewellery and Whitby is also the setting for Bram Stoker's Dracula novels. Unspoilt Sandsend Beach is just one mile from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Dunsley Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunsley Hall Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing