We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”
Review of Dunsley Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dunsley Hall
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Stayed two nights Bed and Breakfast for £99-00 on a Groupon deal.
Could not have asked for anything better. We had room No.1 on the ground floor which is enormous and on both nights we had the market menu with a bottle of very nice wine included. The whole dinning experience and the service from all the staff was always excellent especially Lydia who made us feel very welcome.
Would go back tomorrow if we could afford the time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandMe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    398
    251
    76
    29
    29
See reviews for
88
543
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Cave, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Just returned from a 3 night break and really enjoyed our stay in this Country House Hotel apart from the 1st night. We had a SUPERB dinner chosen from the a' la carte menu,grouse & duck that melted in the mouth, excellent starters and divine deserts ;complimentary entrees and sorbets of the same high standard;wish the chef could have come home with us,
The problem was when we retired to our beautiful room (17).The bed is a nightmare.It dips in the middle but far worse were the creaking springs,sleep became impossible and we couldn't wait for the morning. Reception had no hesitation in giving us another room and housekeeping said that people had complained about this bed before so please,please get it sorted, not to do so is just plain mean and makes it appear that you do not value your guests.
The rest of our stay in room 18 was great. Food consistently good. Staff in all departments exceptional.Beautiful surroundings, enhanced by watching the birds at the feeders in the gardens and the very handsome chickens- thanks to them for their lovely eggs.
Cannot wait to come back.

Room Tip: Ask if bed has been sorted out first if they give you room 17
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Got a 2 for 1 deal with breakfast through buyagift. This made the stay excellent value for money.
THE SETTING - The hotel is situated in a nice, quiet rural area, ample parking and well kept, relaxing grounds. It is about a mile and half from Sandsend and a 5 minute drive from Whitby.
THE ROOM - We were given room 1. This was a large room with a four poster bed and lots of character. It had 2 large bay windows with sea and garden views. There is a bath with overhead shower. The room was clean although i noticed quite a large cobweb on the ceiling. In fairness to the cleaner, you can only see this when the bedside light is on. There is bottled water and tea and coffee making facilities and free wifi. The bed was really comfy and the room nice and warm.
THE STAFF - All staff were friendly and willing to help. I liked the fact that they were clearly there if you needed them but not overbearing if you didn't.
THE FOOD - Breakfast was really good and catered for many tastes. Free range eggs that were laid on the estate and cooked how you wanted them. Fresh fruit salad, fruit juice, toast and a Dunsley Grill set me up nicely for a day of walking. It appeared that in the evening, a lot of non-residents were eating which is obviously a good sign. Due to it being very busy, we just had an evening snack in the bar which was really tasty and quite well priced.
Overall, a really pleasant stay. I would definately recommend for a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Got this hotel on an Internet Deal with a buy one night and get one free. Booked 2 x rooms (Breakfast included). Was NOT disappointed overall, although there were a couple of small "niggles". Daughter found it extremely difficult to get Internet access and more or less gave up after the first day. Also our rooms were not near each other (me on top floor with one grandchild - daughter on ground floor with other child). But as she was a smoker, it made her life easier for popping out occasionally for a cigarette.
My room was more of a suite - with a small hallway with seating plus a separate lounge area with large settee and armchair. My room/suite therefore had 2 x flatscreen large tv's- good choice of channels. Bathroom was large, but shower was not brilliant (temperature not consistent) . Lovely comfortable beds with large bedrooms and plenty of storage space. Heating was fine (and controllable by client - didn't take long to cool down or warm up). Didn't have any meals at hotel (just breakfast) - you could not fault the choices of breakfasts - from smoked salmon right through to boiled eggs on hot food (plus vegetarian option) plus fresh fruit, cereals, endless toast, croissants, yogurts etc. Breakfast could really set you up for the day. Went out each day to visit family and only returned mid-evening. Weather was excellent whilst we were there - our age range of 4 people was 9 years old to mid-50's and we ALL ENJOYED our stay and would certainly stay here again if we could get another "deal".

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms (ground floor and top floor) - both rooms were good standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanSillsPrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Excellent 2 night stay. Warm welcome on arrival and all staff very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Ate in the bar both nights. Food well cooked and presented and at reasonable prices compared to some places we have stayed at. Breakfasts were excellent and set us up for our days out. Stayed in room 4 which was very clean, comfortable, quiet and peaceful. The hotel is situated in a quiet rural setting well away from the hustle of Whitby but only 10 mins drive away from the town and close to other coastal villages and coastal walks.
Without doubt, we will be returning to Dunsley Hall Hotel some time again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We have just come back from a fantastic weekend away, staying on a bed and breakfast basis ay Dunsley Hall. The hotel is situated in an elevated position in the small hamlet of Dunsley accessed via a narrow winding round, on arrival we enjoyed a warm welcome on arrival and shown up to our room - we stayed in room three a corner room with marvelous views on two sides - the rolling country side of this fabulous part of Yorkshire and and a coastal view of Sandsend. the room is very spacious with an extremely comfortable four poster bed; a sitting area in a large bay area and a well appointed bathroom. Breakfast was scrumptious with a wide choice; all eggs are advertised as Dunsley's own free range eggs and the hens can be seen wandering outside in the grounds - the Dunsley grill with locally sauced sausages and yorkshire cured bacon certainly sets you up for the day.

Whitby is just a short drive away - with the North York Moors and Yorkshire coast on the doorstep the steep one mile descend into Sandsend or up to the Whitby road may be off putting with mobility issues; however if you enjoy walking this is an idea location to explore the local area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpokotoks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We have just returned from a lovely stay, on arrival we were greeted checked in and shown to our rooms and were told we could take complimentary coffee in the bar or lounge once we were settled. As we were heading into Whitby we chose not to take them up on the offer. We went to the reception and asked a different receptionist if she could book us a taxi, this lady was as equally cheerful and professional as the First Lady.

Food, we had breakfast both days afternoon tea and an evening meal.

At breakfast there was a wide selection, I chose the Dunsley grill which was gorgeous. I believe the hotel has its own chickens so the eggs are very fresh.

Afternoon tea was equally gorgeous, we had various sandwiches, brownies, Bakewell tarts, Etonian mess and of course not to forget the freshly baked scones which were still warm with clotted cream and jam. As much tea or coffee you wanted too. We chose to have this in the lounge area which was very nice, panelled walls, lovely fire place and sofas. We played cards and read magazines,

Evening meal, we went to the bar got a drink while we looked at the menu, there was lots of nice sounding choices, we both chose the carpaccio for starters which melted in the mouth the main course I had slow cooked beef cheek which was to die for and the wife had Plaice which looked gorgeous.

The wine is of reasonable price most bottles around the 20 pound mark which I thought was good for a hotel, after our meal we ordered coffee and had this in the lounge were we played cards which was a lovely finish to our day.

Room, we were in room 25 this was a very spacious room which had a huge bed two seats, dressing table wardrobe side tables, tv and beverage making facilities, the bathroom had a heated floor which was great but could get warm if you were in there a while. The bath was large which had two shower heads a fixed and a wall one. Outside the window was bird feeders which was a nice touch as we got to see a lot of nice wildlife.

All in all our two nights away were very relaxing all the staff where very nice and engaged in conversation with you asking how your day had been which I thought was nice.

I will be going back.

Room Tip: We had a basic room which offered everything you needed. Therefore unless you want something a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
2.4 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#2 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
2.7 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
2.5 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#10 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunsley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunsley Hall

Property: Dunsley Hall
Address: Dunsley Hall Dunsley Lane, Whitby YO21 3TL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Whitby
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#4 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunsley Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once home to a Victorian shipping magnate, Dunsley Hall is a hidden gem that offers all the comforts you expect of a modern hotel. All en-suite rooms are individually furnished with tea & coffee making facilities, flat screen TVs and there is Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The restaurant has rosette awards for food and service and there are many interesting and attractive features. These include an original stained glass window an Inglenook fireplace in the guest lounge. The hotel is set in four acres of landscaped grounds which include tennis court, putting and croquet. Just three miles north of the famous coastal fishing town of Whitby where you can visit many attractions including Whitby Abbey (where the date for Easter was decided), the Captain Cook Memorial Museum, see Whitby Jet being turned into attractive jewellery and Whitby is also the setting for Bram Stoker's Dracula novels. Unspoilt Sandsend Beach is just one mile from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Dunsley Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunsley Hall Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing