We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”
Review of Dunsley Hall

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dunsley Hall
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Spent the night here with my girlfriend lovely location and charming hotel whitby be town is quaint and lots to see and do if seafood is your thing you cant go wrong we loved it great day/ night out, i would defiantly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    261
    77
    29
    29
See reviews for
90
566
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

Don't normally post reviews on trip adviser but thought our experience was more positive then some of the recent reviews here. I agree some parts of the hotel need a little updating but we found Dunsley Hall to be comfortable, the staff friendly and the breakfast very tasty. I also found the hotel to be clean and they made an effort to accommodate our baby by putting up a travel cot and providing a high chair in the dining room without our prompting. The hotel exterior is beautiful and although we didn't explore the grounds fully they looked good too. Thanks for a pleasant trip.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepshed, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Having booked 1 week in advance and have had assurance from the booking company and emails confirming our booking we arrived after a 130 mile trip to be told there was no room and we were the second couple that day that had been turned a way and that they had tried to contact us a 12pm on our arrival day We asked for the manager not on site we asked why the board displayed outside said rooms available no answer we were told that the hotel had been bought out so I ask why they were displaying all the notices from the tourist industry as they were not representative of the hotels new owner no answer. The receptionist offered us a B & B some 10 miles back from where we had come after a quite heated debate she admitted that the hotel was at fault and found a hotel some 30miles from our chosen destination and agreed to pay for it how ever on arrival at that hotel we were asked to pay after informing the hotel they contacted then to resolve the issues .We although booked breakfast at Dunsley Hall had to pay for it at our other hotel we had to park some 5 streets away and carry our suite case I HAVE SENT REPEATED EMAILS TO DUNSLEY HALL ASKED AND BEEN TOLD THE MANAGER WOULD CALL ME BUT TO DATE 26.8.2014 THIS AS NOT HAPPENDING I WOULD WITH DUE RESPECT NO RECOMMEND THE HOTEL OR ITS MANGER
Our receptionist was polite and helpful her name was Michelle pity the manager is not .

Having read the reviews posted re poor quality and standard I would agree totally £150.00per night for substandard accommodation I have contacted the tourist information board re this hotel which they recommend

Room Tip: Check room faces south
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gtown
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Spent one night here in room 8 , dirty stained mattress that is tired and needs replacing , dust and cobwebs everywhere . I was booked in for two nights but found the staff rude and the hotel in need of a good clean . I would not return to this hotel and would not recommend it either .

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank conemanGtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from 2 nights away at Dunsley Hall. We were in room 1, which was very large with a four poster bed. Although it could do with an upgrade, my husband and I still loved it. The hotel has loads of character and this is carried on throughout the hotel. We had a meal in the hotel on the Friday night which was lovely and the service was excellent. All the staff were very helpful and friendly.
We would definitely return.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank SamnLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Penshaw, null, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This is situated in a very quiet part of Whitby. Brilliant location... Hotel is very olde worlde.. The bedrooms are in need of a facelift and no " freebies " in the bathroom, but they were immaculate. Sheets and all the bedding , nipping clean as were the towels. The food is second to none, a must to try. Breakfast has a vast menu and very tasty. The Staff at the hotel are local, no foerigeners!!!! They could not do enough for us, especially the Breakfast staff.. Nothing is too much bother. The Hotel grounds are nice to sit in and have a coffee.. The whole place is so peaceful. We did hear that the Hotel has just been taken over and the new owner has plans to up-grade. Would defo recommend.. You do need a car to get around though as it is not that easy to get a taxi to and fro from Whitby.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CoralDart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I had the Misfortune to spend a night here in August with my family. I've never liked the seaside/coast, but my wife booked a country house hotel to soften the blow.
Looking at trip advisor pictures, I was actually looking forward to going. The bedrooms looked luxurious, the bar and lounge looked so classy and the building itself. Something else. After a 4 hour drive we arrived to be met by a miserable soul at the reception desk. Never in all the hotels I've ever stayed in have i been greeted, or not as the case may be, by someone who clearly didn't want to be there & obviously doesn't enjoy her job. After been pointed in the direction of my room (literally, as it was too much for her to walk us in) I was bitterly disappointed. The headboard hit me first of all, A blue and yellow checky affair, not at all in keeping with the rest of the rooms decor. There were two greasy dirty head marks where our heads were later to be. A cursory look around threw up several more disappointments. Dust on the window sills, picture frames & on the complimentary toiletries... how old were they??
There were several cobwebs around too!! There were dark stains on the carpet where one would put ones feet getting in & out of bed... The main light was on one side of the room holding 5 bulbs... all different and one was out. This theme seemed to follow throughout the hotel as on are way down to the lounge we noticed cobwebs & dust on several of the windows, window catches & sills. I myself was prepared to leave there & then, but as i was travelling with family & some of my party were prepared to turn a blind eye to the dust. In the morning after a tentative sleep,. (incidentally i unscrewed the headboard & removed it & slept headboardless) I hopped into the shower only to find that shower was a contradictory word, trickle was more apt. I think i should have had a dust bath like a bird, there was more of that than water. Hoping that breakfast would be a plus. (fingers crossed) we wandered into the breakfast room. sat at a table & waited, & waited, & waited. Finally my wife caught the eye of one of the two standing & watching waitresses. We were given no direction what to do even though we walked by these ladies on entering, I noticed several other guests looking as bewildered as we were. Breakfast by the way was not that good, Tasteless bacon, a tough sausage & a semi runny egg with lukewarm beans just doesn't do it for me i'm afraid. Whilst we were all together we decided 1 night was enough and went to the reception to inform the miserable soul of our complaints & that we would be leaving, She made a comment about charging us 50% for the day we should have stayed, but we made it clear that that was not happening as they failed to deliver the previous day. We all went up to pack. The manager was called just as we were paying & i must say I am thoroughly disappointed that at no point did the manager apologise or say, 'What can we do to make you stay', or even offer to walk around the room to verify or dismiss our complaints. Disgraceful customer care, dirty dusty rooms & a bad breakfast. This stay was a huge let down run by badly managed team. I am stunned by the amount of positive reviews i have read, reviews which lead to my wife choosing to stay at Dunsley Hall. This is my first ever review on Tripadvisor but i felt it my duty to warn others...

I will never return to this hotel & my advise to you is don't book a stay here either.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank LordPeter2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,023 reviews
2.4 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,116 reviews
2.7 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,066 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hudsons
Hudsons
#8 of 20 in Whitby
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunsley Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunsley Hall

Property: Dunsley Hall
Address: Dunsley Hall Dunsley Lane, Whitby YO21 3TL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Whitby
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
#4 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunsley Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once home to a Victorian shipping magnate, Dunsley Hall is a hidden gem that offers all the comforts you expect of a modern hotel. All en-suite rooms are individually furnished with tea & coffee making facilities, flat screen TVs and there is Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel. The restaurant has rosette awards for food and service and there are many interesting and attractive features. These include an original stained glass window an Inglenook fireplace in the guest lounge. The hotel is set in four acres of landscaped grounds which include tennis court, putting and croquet. Just three miles north of the famous coastal fishing town of Whitby where you can visit many attractions including Whitby Abbey (where the date for Easter was decided), the Captain Cook Memorial Museum, see Whitby Jet being turned into attractive jewellery and Whitby is also the setting for Bram Stoker's Dracula novels. Unspoilt Sandsend Beach is just one mile from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Dunsley Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunsley Hall Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing