We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dunsley Hall
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Estbek House(Sandsend)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hudsons(Whitby)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (930)
Filter reviews
930 results
Traveller rating
470
299
91
37
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
470
299
91
37
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomplimentary sherrycountry houselovely hotelpublic roomsminute driveon arrivalfour poster bedsunday lunchlots of characterone night stayoriginal featuresan evening mealrelaxing breakbed and breakfastbeautiful roomthe ground floorshort break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
889 - 894 of 930 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2009

We booked two rooms for Aug 30 to accommodate my wife and her parents (Czech citizens) and myself, an Indian immigrant.
One of the rooms simmered at at least 35 deg celsius and nothing, absolutely nothing was done. In fact, seeing our origins, we were 'educated' about the hotel's heating system in sheer arrogance by staff basking in self awarded excellence and unrelenting presumtion that nothing can be wrong with the hotel..Nothing practical or acceptable was offered to resolve the problem.
The hotel is far too modest for a so called stately house and the annexe where most rooms are, is nothing special (with disordered heating system) You pay more than what you would for a 4 star central london hotel - for nothing!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank madhupchaurasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2009

Lovely location between Sandsend and Whitby, very scenic. Large old stone manor house - windows in restaurant very draughty ! Rooms spacious, very tastefully decorated, en suite and all in superb decorative order and immaculately clean. Beautiful grounds and mini golf.
Breakfast - very good selection of different breakfasts from full english to Whitby Kippers, porridge, cereals etc.
If I was being picky (and for the price I am) the scrambled egg was well overcooked and rubbery. Apart from that I loved this place

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FifiLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2009

We went to Dunsley hall with 3 generations. The hotel suited all of us perfectly. The kids liked to play on the lawn, and everyone enjoyed the large, very english drawing room to sit. read and relax. We initially went as a walking holiday, but only decided to do one main walk! Even though the hotel is not quite in whitby, it is only a mile away. It is actually just behind the next town along, which we thought was much less crowded and quite beautiful. The food was really lovely aswell. Out of the 12 of us staying, each night 1 of us wouldn't like our food. But apart from that, food was very lovely, traditional british food. The staff were very friendly. We all thought the hotel had some lovely touches, which was great. The only thing that we weren't too happy with was the rooms. Some were much better than others. We would recommend the rooms on the extension, which we were much happier with. Quite pricy too. Lovely weekend getaway in all.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MR1234Hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2009

We come here when we need to relax and enjoy really good food and surroundings.Perfect for us as it is less than an hour to travel to. The staff and owners are welcoming and service is always with a smile. Worth every penny !!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank molly043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Stayed Friday and Saturday nights. Room 3 is ready for an update especially the bathroom which doesn't have a shower.
Friday night was fine, the hotel being in an excellent location with friendly reception staff.
On the Saturday we were asked to put back our dinner time to 8 30 from 8 pm, however the bar was full of wedding guests so moved to the empty lounge for pre dinner drinks and order taking. Every step then was painfully slow with our two ladies not eating until 9 40 pm (they didn't have a starter ).
Basically its difficult to mix ordinary guests with wedding guests so just check when booking and ask details of the room you are having ie when was it updated ?

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank allenafricatwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews