We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid”
Review of Long Kings

Long Kings
Ranked #160 of 213 Restaurants in Whitby
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

The food was really poor quality and was not freshly cooked. The starters were very disappointing and the crispy duck in pancakes was not crispy and it did not taste very nice.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank caluja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    18
    5
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Saturday night out.”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Four of us visited this Chinese Restaurant on Saturday 7th June and had a lovely meal. The staff were very obliging and we enjoyed the views out over the bay of Whitby. we shall go again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing evening.”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This restaurant has the most beautiful setting, overlooking the sea, ideal for a cosy meal for two, However the mood was somewhat spoilt be the fact that as we arrived two members of staff appeared to be having a row and were shouting at each other across the restaurant! As we ordered our drinks the owners two children were wandering abou,t both with IPads with games playing loudly. Later they sat with some guests at a table next to ours, one still with his ipad game drowning out our conversation.
We have eaten here before and had enjoyed it but we did not feel the food was as good as it had been and certainly the atmosphere was not condusive to the peaceful evening meal we had been looking forward to.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3Martins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleights, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“early evening meal”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

we have been to long kings on numerous occasions , both sit in and take away , meals are always a good standard and portions ample , service is quick and courteous , nothing seams a problem for the staff , the sweet and sour chicken balls and egg fried rice are always a very good portion , drinks are not too expensive , no need to book if going before 19:00 , well worth a visit

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We tried a takeaway from Long Kings, as we had heard positive things about this establishment. We were not disappointed.The food was excellent, the staff courteous and very efficient. Although we collected a takeaway, the food was hot when we got home.The only negative point is that they do not provide a delivery service. Would definately reccomend.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liz j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Long Kings also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Long Kings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing