We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the Cinder Trail” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whitby - Scarborough Trailway

Whitby - Scarborough Trailway
Ranked #17 of 51 things to do in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Leeds
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Love the Cinder Trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

Been on the Cinder trail many times walking & cycling, you get a mixture of fantastic sea views, woodland & general countryside experience, i usually walk from Robin hoods bay to Whitby which is approx 5 miles, once on the trail i came across a herd of six deer, i don't know who was more surprised them or me :) , it's also good to cycle & you can carry on down to Ravenscar & Scarborough, best to take a backpack with raincoat as you can never be sure of the weather, you can also hire Bikes on the trail at Trailways, i found the best place to hire a bike is this one below & no i'm not related i'm just speaking from experience,happy walking or Cycling :)

Dr Cranks Bike Shack
20 Skinner St, Whitby, North Yorkshire, YO21 3AH
Tel: 01947 606661

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gezzaLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    39
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent bike ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

I started my holiday in Whitby this week with a 22 mile bike ride from Scarborough on my a Dahon folding bike with 20 inch racing style tyres & it coped admirably with the cinder path trail. It's a brilliant ride with plenty of tea/coffee/pub stops en-route if you want to stop for refreshments. I was in a group of 8 leisure cyclists & we averaged a very steady 7mph over the whole journey. 3 hours steady pedalling with stops at Cloughton Station Tea rooms (excellent), Ravenscar tea rooms (nice scones) & a pub in Robin Hoods Bay. I can't wait to do it in reverse as a challenge & on my own. It's easily do-able for families with kids & we had one cyclist with dogs in a kiddie trailer. He coped well & didn't need a swap. Highly recommended for walking or cycling.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Barontrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tetney
Level Contributor
302 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Check with the weather forecast before you do the walk as it gets off the beaten track and is a bit heavy going in places. A lovely walk, worth the blisters!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank kayerich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good riding, lovely views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We rode from Whitby to just north of Ravenscar and back. About 22 miles total. It's generally easy riding. The route out of Whitby is a gentle but persistent rise until just above Robin Hood's Bay, the a pleasing descent. Uphill (gently but for longer) out of RHB. But coming back is largely down hill and good fun.

Views are fabulouswith plenty of places worth stopping to take it in.

The condition of the trail is variable. It suits mountain and hybrid bikes. It is a bit rough and probably needs some maintenance. We saw a couple of people on road bikes, and they seemed content.

The weather was glorious, which always help...

Helpful?
2 Thank winksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Concentration Needed!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Cycled the Cinder Trail from Scarborough to Whitby and back again the day after doing the Great Yorkshire Bike Ride. I'm not used to cycling on loose and uneven surfaces, so found that I had to concentrate lots, avoid the 'ditches' and try not to go too fast!!

The views were lovely, although I didn't appreciate them much at the time, and it was a bit of a shock coming into a heaving Whitby (the weather was good), and back into the urban sprawliness of Scarborough.

I'd definitely do it again, with a bit more confidence, so that I can enjoy the trail and the surroundings!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whitby - Scarborough Trailway also viewed

 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Whitby - Scarborough Trailway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing