We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Abbotsleigh SUBERB”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Abbotsleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbotsleigh
Ranked #4 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hitchin
1 review
“Abbotsleigh SUBERB”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Me and My wife spent 2 glorious nites at Abbotsleigh. We were met by Sharon after a 4 hour drive with a Pot of tea and a delicous slice of homemade cake. Both Sharon and Paul advised us on places to eat and places to see , the location is superb just a short walk to the seafront and harbour , Abbotsleigh is the nicest cleanest and is run by the nicest couple we have ever encountered , and without doubt the best accomondation we have ever stayed at ,Breakfast was hearty plentiful and gorgeous . We will most certainly be returning and i would recomend this beautiful Accomondation to family and friends . thank you for a glorious weekend. Paul & Paula

Room Tip: Starfish room was superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
310
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Sharon and Paul met with a smiling face and a very welcome coffee and homemade cake. Sharon took the time to find out our tastes in food and recommended some very good restaurants for our evening meals. The rooms were excellent in decor, cleanliness and space. Fantastic wet room, marvellous 'special' breakfast and hosts. We will definitely visit again and have allready recommended Abbotsleigh to lots of our friends and family. The stay was delightful from start to finish. Well done Sharon and Paul, you are doing a wonderful job. This will be hard to beat.

Room Tip: I looked around most of the rooms and would recommend them all. Kelp is advertised smaller than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Begrudged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Fantastically comfy and amazingly friendly. About two minutes walk from the sea and five/ten minutes from the centre of town... luxurious and nicely placed.

it's hard to pick holes in how nicely we were received, too! No doubt at all that we'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2012

If you like a warm welcome, a cup of tea and home-made cake on arrival and to feel truly spoilt, this is the place for you. Outstanding bed-and-breakfast, delicious food, freshly decorated, clean and tasteful room and excellent attention to detail. Home-made biscuits, fresh milk, coffee machine for a real coffee in your room. Choice of breakfasts is excellent, from full English to Whitby Kippers - all tastes catered for. Professional but genuine welcome from friendly and knowledgeable hosts Sharon and Paul, made for a very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmooreke7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Great b and b. Lovely warm welcome from Sharon and Paul. The room and en-suite were very nicely decorated. Would defintly go again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank royce_reid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We were greeted with home made cake (the best Ive ever tasted) and a lovely cup of tea, which accompanied the warm welcome from Sharon and Paul! We then were shown our room which was superb, decorated very tastefully and extremely clean.

The en-suite wet room was luxurious to say the least, it was hard to leave and actually explore the beautiful town of Whitby!

The home cooked breakfast was delicious - what better way to start the day!
We can't recommend Abbotsleigh highly enough, we will be returning very soon, can't wait, thank you Sharon and Paul!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank righton69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We came across this B & B looking for an overnight stay and what a find. The place was very well appointed with fantastic bathrooms and bedrooms, spotlessly clean and the hosts were perfect. Breakfast was really nice and wish we could have stayed longer. We would definatley stay again. One of the best B & Bs we have stayed in, great place.
Chris & Lyn.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisRobbins186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,938 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
765 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#3 of 152 in Whitby
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#7 of 152 in Whitby
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbotsleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbotsleigh

Property: Abbotsleigh
Address: 5 Argyle Road, Whitby, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbotsleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Abbotsleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing