We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if you visit whitby,stay here!!!!!”
Review of Abbotsleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbotsleigh
Ranked #2 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2012

what can i say this b and b is fab start to finish.great hosts great rooms.make you feel really welcome and nothing is too much trouble the restraunts they recomended were great and reasonable prices.breakfast was great.would def recomend it to all.well done guys.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bekw71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
There are newer reviews for Abbotsleigh
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

454 - 460 of 477 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2012

Stayed at Abbotsleigh over the regatta weekend and could not fault the B&B. The rooms have all been recently re-furnished to a very high standard-especially the bathrooms-amazing walk in shower! (we stayed in the ammonite room)
We were warmly welcomed by the owners Paul and Sharon who were attentive, professional and always helpful (couldn't do enough for us). The home-made cakes on arrival were gorgeous and a great start to our stay.
The rooms were spotlessly clean, spacious and bright and airy. Breakfast was lovely with a good wide range of options from full English to Whitby kippers.
We will definately be returning to Abbotsleigh and have already recommended it to loads of our family and friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bcd76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

On arrival we were greeted by Sharon and Paul with coffee and cake.The room we had(sea biscuit)was large and very comfortable with a large wetroom.The breakfast was really tasty,especially the home made bread.I can think of no way to improve this house.Will certainly use Abbotsleigh to stay in Whitby again(if there is room)

Room Tip: Sea Biscuit is large with a good view.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderersCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We stayed at Abbotsleigh Friday and Saturday night of Regatta Week in Whitby.
The whole experience was 1st class from start to finish, we received a warm and friendly welcome from the hosts on the friday along with homemade cake and tea.
The room ( starfish ) was lovely - nice decor, well furnished and the wet room was a wow factor.
Breakfast both mornings was plentiful and of a very high quality and came with excellent service from our hosts.
Some lovely little touches - the milk in the flasks and biscuits etc in the bedroom.
Weather was great and enjoyed Whitby too and the regatt
Overall could not fault this b&b in any way and would return on our next visit to Whitby.
- Sean & Pat ( Doncaster ).

Room Tip: Only saw our room but cant imagine you could go wrong with any of the 5 rooms at Abbotsleigh.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This is a friendly and discrete b&b with rooms that are beautifully and luxuriously furnished. We felt very comfortable, cosy and well looked after. The food was beautiful and plentiful, which made this a really good value stay and the dvd and book library would have been well used if the weather wasn't so good. It is also situated close by to a pretty beach, making it an ideal short and romantic break! Loved this and would definitely choose to come back again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Writing this on behalf of my parents as they r a little computer 'shy' :)
Couldn't rate this place enough and they have been around!
Place was pristine, bedroom beautiful and the homemake cakes and bread were delicious.
Sharon and Paul were wonderful hosts, friendly polite and couldn't be more helpful.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imshiYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

What a terrific B&B. Four of us used a company to book our hotels while we walk the Cleveland Way so we don't always know what to expect. Most are good but this was excellent. You couldn't have got a better room or service if you were paying top money in a top London hotel. We were given a very welcome afternoon tea on arrival with home-made cake at no extra charge; there were home-made biscuits in the rooms which are beautifully appointed and plenty big enough to hold you and your luggage and still allow you to walk around comfortably. No need to feel claustrophobic here unlike some hotels. The house is a good location on a wide street not far from the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ponte55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,081 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
635 reviews
0.4 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 152 in Whitby
334 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dillons of Whitby
Dillons of Whitby
#5 of 152 in Whitby
712 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#9 of 152 in Whitby
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbotsleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbotsleigh

Address: 5 Argyle Road, Whitby, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: £95 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbotsleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Abbotsleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing