We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't think of anything negative about my stay”
Review of Abbotsleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbotsleigh
Ranked #3 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at Abbotsleigh whilst completing a Charity Bike Ride.
Staying here was a welcome change from the hotels we stayed in on the way up from london. Sharon and Paul made us really welcome from the start.
The little touches and attension to detail really made the difference.
Paul and Sharon would of done anything to make or stay better.
The room was well furnised,clean and spacious.The food was amazing the smell of home baking a welcome addition.
I would recommend this B&B to anyone looking to stay in Whitby.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

469 - 475 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2012

We had a wonderful break at this fantastic B and B. A lovely welcome from Sharon and Paul to a beautifully restored period home We stayed in the Ammolite room and it was lovely, very high quality fittings and bedding and great attention to detail. The ensuite wet room was fab. The breakfast was superb and high quality and was worthy of any 5 star hotel, beautifully presented and piping hot with a wide choice of items. Before we left Shaon showed us the other rooms as they were vacant and all were equally beautiful and of the same exceptionally high standard. We can't recommend this B and B highly enough. Well done Sharon and Paul for offering such suberb accomodation and being so friendly and helpful. We intend returning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cutieNorthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My partner and I had a perfect break at this beautiful B&B in Whitby. We wholeheartedly recommend it and are already spreading the word to friends and family. Paul and Sharon could not have been more helpful, friendly, accommodating...simply perfect hosts. The decor was beautiful, breakfasts delicious, advice informed and generously given and the little extras such as tea and homemade cake on arrival and biscuits in our room - replenished daily ;-) - just made our stay delightful. We cannot recommend this B&B highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lady047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

This is our second visit here at Abbotsleigh in Whitby and it was just as great as the first and no doubt next time as well, it is very highly maintained and the hospitality from Paul and Sharon is first class. They have invested a lot in this business and you truly benifit from its comforts and quality of fittimgs. This is far more than a B&B and wish them evry success

Room Tip: All five rooms benifit from same standard, choose ground floor if difficult to go up one or two flig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

what can i say this b and b is fab start to finish.great hosts great rooms.make you feel really welcome and nothing is too much trouble the restraunts they recomended were great and reasonable prices.breakfast was great.would def recomend it to all.well done guys.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bekw71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Stayed at Abbotsleigh over the regatta weekend and could not fault the B&B. The rooms have all been recently re-furnished to a very high standard-especially the bathrooms-amazing walk in shower! (we stayed in the ammonite room)
We were warmly welcomed by the owners Paul and Sharon who were attentive, professional and always helpful (couldn't do enough for us). The home-made cakes on arrival were gorgeous and a great start to our stay.
The rooms were spotlessly clean, spacious and bright and airy. Breakfast was lovely with a good wide range of options from full English to Whitby kippers.
We will definately be returning to Abbotsleigh and have already recommended it to loads of our family and friends.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bcd76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

On arrival we were greeted by Sharon and Paul with coffee and cake.The room we had(sea biscuit)was large and very comfortable with a large wetroom.The breakfast was really tasty,especially the home made bread.I can think of no way to improve this house.Will certainly use Abbotsleigh to stay in Whitby again(if there is room)

Room Tip: Sea Biscuit is large with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderersCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#1 of 20 in Whitby
2,095 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
638 reviews
0.4 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#8 of 20 in Whitby
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#5 of 152 in Whitby
337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dillons of Whitby
Dillons of Whitby
#6 of 152 in Whitby
715 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#9 of 152 in Whitby
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbotsleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbotsleigh

Address: 5 Argyle Road, Whitby, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: £99 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbotsleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Abbotsleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing