We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a second home”
Review of Abbotsleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbotsleigh
Ranked #3 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We came to Whitby to visit family in the area and chose Abbotsleigh as our base and we are very glad we did. Sharon and Paul are wonderful hosts, friendly but professional, and genuinely lovely people. The food was fantastic and the room was gorgeous, i didn't want to go home! Abbotsleigh is a beautiful home and Whitby is a great place to visit.

Room Tip: whatever room you choose, you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxi2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2012

What can be said...........If you are thinking about visiting Whitby stay at Abbotsleigh!!! The rooms are fantastic and are better than some so called 4 and 5 star Hotel chains. Everything from coffee maker, wet room, furnishings and bedlinen are of the highest standard. The whole experience was like going home to family or friends and was genuinely given.
The breakfast experience and it was an experience could grace the finest hotels, cooked to order from a fantastic menu including fresh kippers and locally sourced ingredients.
If I find a fantastic place I normally don't shout too loud to avoid the disappointment of not being able to return due to popularity...........i break my own rule here because Sharon and Paul deserve the highest praise and really do deserve the best of customers who will have to pay a little more to receive simply the BEST!!!!

Thankyou Sharon and Paul for making us so welcome

Kevin & Liane

Room Tip: Starfish was awesome....gothic bed massive wetroom fantastic furnishings..................really spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We have been going to Whitby for nearly 20 years and my husband and i both agreed it was the best place we had ever stayed. Paul & Sharon are lovely hosts. The cakes, biscuits and breakfasts were first class and good quality. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Our room was spotless and the wet room was a special wow factor along with the coffee machine in the room. The special touches make it an extra special stay. The Guest house is a lovely building and is situated in a quiet street although it is only a 5 minute walk away from the town. We will definately definately stay there again and would recommend it to family and friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in the kelp room but looking at the brochure all the rooms look of a very high quality the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed for two nights and would highly recommend this guest house to anybody who appreciates good service and a friendly atmosphere. From the warm welcome, tastefully decorated rooms, cleanliness and delicious breakfast this guest house is a great all rounder and convenient location

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisanst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at Abbotsleigh whilst completing a Charity Bike Ride.
Staying here was a welcome change from the hotels we stayed in on the way up from london. Sharon and Paul made us really welcome from the start.
The little touches and attension to detail really made the difference.
Paul and Sharon would of done anything to make or stay better.
The room was well furnised,clean and spacious.The food was amazing the smell of home baking a welcome addition.
I would recommend this B&B to anyone looking to stay in Whitby.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We had a wonderful break at this fantastic B and B. A lovely welcome from Sharon and Paul to a beautifully restored period home We stayed in the Ammolite room and it was lovely, very high quality fittings and bedding and great attention to detail. The ensuite wet room was fab. The breakfast was superb and high quality and was worthy of any 5 star hotel, beautifully presented and piping hot with a wide choice of items. Before we left Shaon showed us the other rooms as they were vacant and all were equally beautiful and of the same exceptionally high standard. We can't recommend this B and B highly enough. Well done Sharon and Paul for offering such suberb accomodation and being so friendly and helpful. We intend returning.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cutieNorthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My partner and I had a perfect break at this beautiful B&B in Whitby. We wholeheartedly recommend it and are already spreading the word to friends and family. Paul and Sharon could not have been more helpful, friendly, accommodating...simply perfect hosts. The decor was beautiful, breakfasts delicious, advice informed and generously given and the little extras such as tea and homemade cake on arrival and biscuits in our room - replenished daily ;-) - just made our stay delightful. We cannot recommend this B&B highly enough.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lady047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,093 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
638 reviews
0.4 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#5 of 152 in Whitby
337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dillons of Whitby
Dillons of Whitby
#6 of 152 in Whitby
714 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#9 of 152 in Whitby
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbotsleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbotsleigh

Address: 5 Argyle Road, Whitby, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: £98 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbotsleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Abbotsleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing