We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful wonderful gorgeous !”
Review of Abbotsleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Abbotsleigh
Ranked #2 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“beautiful wonderful gorgeous !”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Just home from a wonderful 2 night stay at Abbotsleigh. we were beautifully welcomed by Sharon and Paul. Offered Tea and home baked cake on arrival it was a wonderful welcome. they showed us to our lovely room (Ammonite) it was breath taking, wonderful wet room, immaculate !!! We went for the goth weekend (first time and will not be last) Sharon and Paul took great interest in our stay and what we were doing. My partner ordered Local Kippers for Sunday's breakfast of which Sharon and Paul went to collect fresh, outstanding! My fav was the aroma of home baking that filled the house and the smell of fresh bread, just heavenly.. You must try Pauls home made Lemon Curd I did intend to ask for a recipe.. its so nice. Breakfast was amazingly good all top quality produce, and the home made bread!! wow.... we asked for the use of a iron for my partners shirt and Sharon offered to iron it for him how wonderful and we returned to find it hung in the wardrobe.... wow I could go on and on but I wont I will leave it to you to experience... this is a 4 star accommodation it should be 5 in gold stars... Thank you so much Sharon and Paul for a wonderful stay, we will be back in October I hope to the next goth weekend it was fun... Best wishes Glyn and Brenda

Room Tip: no tips just stay here its wonderful x
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenglyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    437
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
334
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Cottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2013

What a great find. A wonderful welcome by Sharon and Paul, Greeted with home baked cake and coffee. We had a very comfortable ground floor sunny room, with excellent facilities including a wet room. Breakfast was outstanding with home made bread and preserves and plenty of other choices. Will certainly be staying again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at the Abbotsleigh and thoroughly enjoyed the experience, Paul and Sharon extended the warmest of welcomes with home made cake and tea and lots of local knowledge on arrival.. The room was perfect, with high quality fittings and furniture, excellent en suite all spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were first class and the quiet convenient location is ideal for exploring the town, only a few minutes walk away. We certainly hope to return and enjoy the hospitality again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Of *COURSE* we came back! Why wouldn't we?!

I love this place and it's become something of a joke in the family that we're going to try and stay in each and every room, one stay at a time! :)

The breakfasts are lovely, the rooms are lovely, the hosts are lovely! I can't be more positive than that!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Have just returned from a super stay at Abbotsleigh. The room was stylish, spotlessly clean and the bed was probably the most comfortable I have ever slept in! A particular high point was the breakfast, Sharon offers a fantastic choice- all beautifully home-cooked. Extra touches like the homemade biscuits in the room and delicious cake on arrival compliment the warm welcome from Paul and Sharon. We love visiting Whitby and this B and B is now another good reason to return sooner rater than later.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGR26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We stayed at the guesthouse in the previous year and had to go back in february for valentines day because we enjoyed it so much the first time. sharon and paul can not do enough for you and the food is top class. On arrival one is offered home made cake and the morning breakfast has everything included in it. They are a very warm and friendly couple. Location is great if you can manage a 5 minutes walk. Fabulous hospitality tray is in the room with tea and coffee making facilities.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wizardfletcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed 2 nights here over the easter weekend.We arrived at 3pm and were greeted by sharon with a nice coffee,offer of homemade cake and lots of recommendations of things to do.Our room was great,modern clean and comfy.Just a five minute walk to beach and town centre so you can easily walk to nice bars and restraunts.Breakfast was amazing i had the salmon and scambled egg bagel,partner had full english.We would highly recommend this b n b to anyone.and thank sharon and paul for a lovely stay and would definatly stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in kelp room but f you go direct to own website you can view all rooms.each one nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Damianclayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,001 reviews
0.4 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,091 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#4 of 151 in Whitby
293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#6 of 151 in Whitby
340 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#20 of 151 in Whitby
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbotsleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbotsleigh

Property: Abbotsleigh
Address: 5 Argyle Road, Whitby, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbotsleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Abbotsleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing