We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“David and Shirley R Our 3rd Wedding Anniversary”
Review of Abbotsleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Abbotsleigh
Ranked #3 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mansfield Nottingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“David and Shirley R Our 3rd Wedding Anniversary”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

What a fantastic stay we had at AbbotsLeigh in Whitby, Paul welcomed us with Tea and home made cakes fresh out of the oven delicious. We where very happy with our beaufiful room " Sea Biscuit" with a view of Whitby and the sea and a wounderful wet room. Then to come down in the morning to a lovely dinning room where we where presented with a beautiful fresh fruit platter just an appetizer before our full English breakfast cooked by Sharon, well that just set us up for the day.
We just felt very comfortable and welcome throughout our stay.
Thank you Paul and Sharon for making our 3rd Wedding Anniversary so special [:)]

Room Tip: Sea Biscuit had a room with a view of Whitby and the sea with a large wet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    454
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
345
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2013

spent 3 nights in early April this year,
although we took a chance on weather, and dropped on wonderful spring sunshine. :)
we were more than certain that the accommodation and welcome would be top notch.

we stayed last year for weekend with Paul and Sharon, and felt at home as soon as we returned this time.
a lovely couple and a beautiful house.
breakfast/ home made cake and preserves delicious. rooms Spotless and high standard.

Room Tip: although we have stayed twice now, only stayed in sea biscuit, top floor room of this guest house, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Just home from a wonderful 2 night stay at Abbotsleigh. we were beautifully welcomed by Sharon and Paul. Offered Tea and home baked cake on arrival it was a wonderful welcome. they showed us to our lovely room (Ammonite) it was breath taking, wonderful wet room, immaculate !!! We went for the goth weekend (first time and will not be last) Sharon and Paul took great interest in our stay and what we were doing. My partner ordered Local Kippers for Sunday's breakfast of which Sharon and Paul went to collect fresh, outstanding! My fav was the aroma of home baking that filled the house and the smell of fresh bread, just heavenly.. You must try Pauls home made Lemon Curd I did intend to ask for a recipe.. its so nice. Breakfast was amazingly good all top quality produce, and the home made bread!! wow.... we asked for the use of a iron for my partners shirt and Sharon offered to iron it for him how wonderful and we returned to find it hung in the wardrobe.... wow I could go on and on but I wont I will leave it to you to experience... this is a 4 star accommodation it should be 5 in gold stars... Thank you so much Sharon and Paul for a wonderful stay, we will be back in October I hope to the next goth weekend it was fun... Best wishes Glyn and Brenda

Room Tip: no tips just stay here its wonderful x
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brenglyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 April 2013

What a great find. A wonderful welcome by Sharon and Paul, Greeted with home baked cake and coffee. We had a very comfortable ground floor sunny room, with excellent facilities including a wet room. Breakfast was outstanding with home made bread and preserves and plenty of other choices. Will certainly be staying again!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Just returned from a two night stay at the Abbotsleigh and thoroughly enjoyed the experience, Paul and Sharon extended the warmest of welcomes with home made cake and tea and lots of local knowledge on arrival.. The room was perfect, with high quality fittings and furniture, excellent en suite all spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were first class and the quiet convenient location is ideal for exploring the town, only a few minutes walk away. We certainly hope to return and enjoy the hospitality again soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Of *COURSE* we came back! Why wouldn't we?!

I love this place and it's become something of a joke in the family that we're going to try and stay in each and every room, one stay at a time! :)

The breakfasts are lovely, the rooms are lovely, the hosts are lovely! I can't be more positive than that!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Have just returned from a super stay at Abbotsleigh. The room was stylish, spotlessly clean and the bed was probably the most comfortable I have ever slept in! A particular high point was the breakfast, Sharon offers a fantastic choice- all beautifully home-cooked. Extra touches like the homemade biscuits in the room and delicious cake on arrival compliment the warm welcome from Paul and Sharon. We love visiting Whitby and this B and B is now another good reason to return sooner rater than later.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CGR26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,043 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
825 reviews
0.4 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#9 of 20 in Whitby
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
White Horse and Griffin
#10 of 20 in Whitby
499 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#5 of 151 in Whitby
319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#9 of 151 in Whitby
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbotsleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbotsleigh

Property: Abbotsleigh
Address: 5 Argyle Road, Whitby, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbotsleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and Odigeo so you can book your Abbotsleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing