We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Abbotsleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbotsleigh
Ranked #3 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Writing this on behalf of mum and dad who have just stayed here!
They thought the rooms were beautifully furnished and thought had been put into making them comfortable with great facilities
The friendliness of the owners and the lovely touches of home baking and quality of food
Made it a pleasurable stay and they will recommend to friends and will return

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
312
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Once again we returned to Abbosleigh, this time on a lovely sunny bank holiday weekend...and once again we were not disappointed! As always Sharon and Paul were the perfect hosts, the rooms were beautifully clean and the food - well it doesn't have a breakfast award for no good reason!
Whitby was busy so we didn't venture to far, but as the beach is only at the end of the road, we had no reason to, lovely clean beaches, sun and sand what more can we ask for!
Already planning when we can return...

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank righton69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

Genuine hospitality from friendly, caring hosts and outstanding attention to detail made our stay a truly memorable and enjoyable experience. Beautifully appointed rooms have many thoughtful and luxurious additional touches such as the home-made biscuits, fresh flowers, quality bathroom amenities and linens and a Nespresso coffee machine. Delicious breakfasts, some of the best I have had, include locally sourced produce and home-made breads. The Fortune's kippers are highly recommended ! Would most definitely return and will recommend to friends and colleagues.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCT2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

After a 3 night stay,we found Paul & Sharon to be wonderful host's & genuinely nice people, nothing was too much trouble. The room's are refurbished to a very high standard and spotlessly clean with Coffee Machine and Kettle, many choices Tea and Coffee pod's, fresh milk offered daily,and homemade Biscuits too. En suite wet room's are to die for. A very relaxing atmosphere, with an extensive Breakfast Menu, for all taste's, all locally sourced produce,with Home Baked Bread and Cakes even Home made Lemon Curd, We cant wait to return for another visit :)

Room Tip: They are all very good rooms..fact !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tex R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2013

Fantastic cooking and a beautiful B&B.

There's huge attention to detail with books and DVDs to borrow and in every room there is a coffee machine, tea & chocolate with fresh milk (none of those horrid little plastic tubs of treated milk) and homemade biscuits.

The top room, 'sea biscuit' is cosy and sensual with a fantastically comfortable, huge bed and spotless white bedding. Perfect for a romantic break.

The breakfast room is sunny and relaxed with a sumptuous breakfast menu. Choose from a full English breakfast, made with locally sourced produce or bagels with fancy fillings. There's also fresh fruit. Throughout the day there's home made cake available.

The B&B is very tastefully furnished throughout. We were so impressed by the decor that we asked for a guided tour of the rooms - they were all different and all beautiful.

I keep wanting to refer to it as a hotel rather than a B&B. That's because it felt like one.
If you're looking for somewhere top notch to stay, this is the place. And get in quick because it won't be long before they're booked solid every week of the year they're open. Such high quality accommodation is difficult to find in Whitby.

Room Tip: If you want romantic go for Sea Biscuit, dramatic go for the gothic room, light and airy, then the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felicity R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield Nottingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

What a fantastic stay we had at AbbotsLeigh in Whitby, Paul welcomed us with Tea and home made cakes fresh out of the oven delicious. We where very happy with our beaufiful room " Sea Biscuit" with a view of Whitby and the sea and a wounderful wet room. Then to come down in the morning to a lovely dinning room where we where presented with a beautiful fresh fruit platter just an appetizer before our full English breakfast cooked by Sharon, well that just set us up for the day.
We just felt very comfortable and welcome throughout our stay.
Thank you Paul and Sharon for making our 3rd Wedding Anniversary so special [:)]

Room Tip: Sea Biscuit had a room with a view of Whitby and the sea with a large wet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013

spent 3 nights in early April this year,
although we took a chance on weather, and dropped on wonderful spring sunshine. :)
we were more than certain that the accommodation and welcome would be top notch.

we stayed last year for weekend with Paul and Sharon, and felt at home as soon as we returned this time.
a lovely couple and a beautiful house.
breakfast/ home made cake and preserves delicious. rooms Spotless and high standard.

Room Tip: although we have stayed twice now, only stayed in sea biscuit, top floor room of this guest house, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#2 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#6 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crescent Garden House
Crescent Garden House
#11 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbotsleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbotsleigh

Property: Abbotsleigh
Address: 5 Argyle Road, Whitby, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbotsleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Abbotsleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing