We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just fabulous”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Abbotsleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbotsleigh
Ranked #4 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just fabulous”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband and I chose to stay at the Abbotsleigh as we'd seen the amazing reviews on Trip Advisor. We weren't disappointed. From the moment we arrived we were treated as old friends. We were greeted with tea and cake and shown up to our room. We stayed in the Sea Biscuit room which is a beautiful airy room with a view over the rooftops to the sea. It is only a glimpse of the sea but we loved it.

The bed was soooo comfortable and the wet room was amazing. Little touches like the homemade biscuits in the room and the Nespresso coffee machine made this a really lovely place to stay.

The breakfasts were lush and the local bacon and sausages were delicious.

Our few days in Whitby were amazing and the friendly and relaxed atmosphere that Sharon and Paul have created here at Abbotsleigh have made it a place that we will definitely return to.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarabelle71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
311
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We regret that we could only stay for 2 nights in June . Everything was very professional right from our arrival, and we soon realised that we had been lucky to get this room at fairly short notice. Breakfast was excellent , even we did eat more than we should have ! .A nice quiet part of Whitby - close enough to walk into town & back in the evening. We were hoping for a bath with the room , but when we used the wet room - this was superb after a long walk. No complaints at all

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and i stayed here last weekend and we could not have wished for a better place to stay in Whitby. A friendly welcome as you first walk through the door followed by coffee and cake is a great way to meet your hosts. A wonderful room with a great wetroom / shower was more than we expected and was very comfortable for our weekend away. The choice for breakfast the next morning was excellent , full english , fresh juice, toast , cereals , yoghurts , kippers were just some of the delights on offer. The location is great too , just a short walk into the main centre of Whitby is ideal away from the main hustle and bustle. Paul and Sharon have created a home from home and we will definately be returning on our next visit to Whitby.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights as a treat for our wedding anniversary and were treated with outstanding customer service, home made cakes which were excellent. The room was fantastic, clean, elegant with top quality furniture and fittings, the wet room was great. The breakfast 1st class. Parking good, quiet area not far from town. Would stay again and recomend to anyone who wants to be spoilt. Thanks to Paul and Sharon.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

What a gem of a B/B . The moment we arrived Sharon greeted us as if we had know each other for years.Tea and homemade cakes were offered which looked delightful. Then off to our room stunning in a word and a super wet room, and a bed so comfy you don't want to get up but be assured you must as you certainly would not want to miss the fantastic breakfast that awaits you,and on your return from a day out more cakes and homemade biscuits in your room.All I can say is the only complaint you will have is the weather , if its not to you liking.In my opinion Sharon and Paul have created perfection Well done .

Room Tip: If you don't like traffic noise opt for a back room,although not really a lot of traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brenda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed at Abbotsliegh guest house in Whitby for two nights. The quality of the rooms was excellent, each room having its own theme and design. The food was just as good and the welcome second to none we have experienced. Thank you Sharon and Paul for this wonderful break for our wedding anniversarry.

Room Tip: There is no lift in Abbostleigh so the rooms on the top floor could be difficult for some. There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADG412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NORFOLK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at Abbotsleigh for three nights during May.This was our second visit. We had a lovely stay. The room was very clean and the bed comfortable. Breakfast was very good and the home made cakes lovely. Sharon and Paul are excellent hosts and we look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALAN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
1,940 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
765 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#3 of 152 in Whitby
265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#7 of 152 in Whitby
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbotsleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbotsleigh

Property: Abbotsleigh
Address: 5 Argyle Road, Whitby, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbotsleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Abbotsleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing