We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic B&B in Whitby”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Abbotsleigh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbotsleigh
Ranked #3 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Fantastic B&B in Whitby”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

We had a fabulous stay at Abbotsleigh. It's a very friendly B&B with lovely comfortable rooms but what makes it really special are the owners Paul & Sharon who do everything to make your stay memorable. The breakfasts are made to order and are way up there with the best breakfasts ever! Fantastic choice & cooked to perfection. Even the bread is home made. And the daily home made cake was very welcome after a day out. It was the little extra touches that added to the enjoyment, such as a DVD player in the room and a fairly extensive library of DVDs to choose from, home made cookies in the room every day, fresh milk for tea in the room instead of UHT, comfy beds & pillows etc. The hotel is conveniently situated near the beach and a short walk into the town. Paul & Sharon gave us excellent advice about where to eat and drink, walks etc. It might not be the cheapest place to stay in Whitby but it offers superb value for money. Whitby is my favourite English seaside town and now Abbotsleigh is my favourite place to stay there. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
313
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
northants
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed at the abbotsliegh last weekend with friends they/us found sharon&pauls whole package wonderful.Breakfast unsurpassed rooms top notch.Above all the hosts are so nice & accomodating, thanks you two see you again soon,Helen& Cliff xxxS

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hell384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My wife and myself stayed at the Abbotsleigh What a fantastic experience we had Bedrooms luxurious Breakfast superb and finally the Proprioters were just the best Couldn't do enough for us Will definitely be back Can't praise them enough Brill !!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fluff57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
454 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights, Paul & Sharon were warm and welcoming people who like to make sure their guests get the best stay ever. Tea and cakes a nice chat and lots of information on the area. I just loved our room we had the one with the wet room and lovely french romantic furnjture as i would call it.i will up load my photos later to this review.
We would recomend this bed and breakfast 100% breakfast was great you csn even have the local kippers if you wanted, home made preserves and cakes and biscuits.
Keep the good work up your home is lovely x

Room Tip: WiFi was not that great,,but I had not gone there for that. Our room in the large bay front was beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NolaWarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

This was our second visit to Abbotsleigh and once again Sharon and Paul provided the very best facilities and food. Our room was immaculate,very tastefully decorated and comfortable, with an excellent wet room/shower. Breakfast was just perfect, Sharon's cake and cookies scrumptious and Paul's lemon curd delicious. Nothing was too much trouble for our very friendly and welcoming hosts! We are certainly looking forward to future visits and highly recommend Abbotsleigh, just two minutes from the sea, as the perfect base in Whitby.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband and I chose to stay at the Abbotsleigh as we'd seen the amazing reviews on Trip Advisor. We weren't disappointed. From the moment we arrived we were treated as old friends. We were greeted with tea and cake and shown up to our room. We stayed in the Sea Biscuit room which is a beautiful airy room with a view over the rooftops to the sea. It is only a glimpse of the sea but we loved it.

The bed was soooo comfortable and the wet room was amazing. Little touches like the homemade biscuits in the room and the Nespresso coffee machine made this a really lovely place to stay.

The breakfasts were lush and the local bacon and sausages were delicious.

Our few days in Whitby were amazing and the friendly and relaxed atmosphere that Sharon and Paul have created here at Abbotsleigh have made it a place that we will definitely return to.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clarabelle71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We regret that we could only stay for 2 nights in June . Everything was very professional right from our arrival, and we soon realised that we had been lucky to get this room at fairly short notice. Breakfast was excellent , even we did eat more than we should have ! .A nice quiet part of Whitby - close enough to walk into town & back in the evening. We were hoping for a bath with the room , but when we used the wet room - this was superb after a long walk. No complaints at all

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,945 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel and Restaurant
0.4 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Belfry Whitby
The Belfry Whitby
#2 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#6 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crescent Garden House
Crescent Garden House
#11 of 152 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbotsleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbotsleigh

Property: Abbotsleigh
Address: 5 Argyle Road, Whitby, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbotsleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Abbotsleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing