We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Because you should”

Captain Cook Memorial Museum Whitby
Book In Advance
More Info
US$458.22*
and up
Private Tour to Whitby and the North York Moors from York
More Info
US$657.44*
and up
Private Group North York Moors and Whitby Day Trip from York
More Info
US$50.47*
and up
The York Pass Including Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #12 of 52 things to do in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Winner of the 2013 VisitEngland Gold Award for Excellence! Visit the house where the James Cook came to serve his seaman's apprenticeship. The handsome 17th century house on the harbour belonged to Cook's master, the Quaker shipowner, John Walker. It was here in the attic that the family lodged thier apprentices when not at sea serving the London coal trade.The Museum's rich collection celebrates Cook's achievements and the work of those who sailed with him - sailors, scientists and artists.See letters in Cook's own hand, original paintings and drawings, ship models and maps, and strange objects from newly discovered lands.Special Exhibition for 2014 - 'Australian Encounters! Charting a Continent'. Cook and his successors completed the chart of the continentss coastline and marvelled at the strange new creatures they saw - 'unlike anything encountered before!'.
swindon
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Because you should”
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Quite interesting and a must for young geographers interested in Cooks voyages and the discovery of Australia. Staff are very helpful and knowledgeable but it must be said that there isn't a great deal to be thrilled by. Pay attention to the building and its history, more up my street perhaps but I found it more interesting than the contents. Visit as part of a day out in Whitby because you should.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank beedeeeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    197
    53
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wingerworth, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great tribute to a Great adventurer!”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Visited the Captain Cook Memorial Museum recently and absolutely loved it! Originally from NZ so held a lot of meaning for me especially as we had studied about James Cook at school many years ago!

It was great to follow through the house that James Cook had actually lived in for over 10 years and the exhibits throughout the house defined what a inspiring man he must have been.

Enjoyed chatting to the volunteer ladies on the different floors, who appeared to be very passionate about his life time

Thank you for the privilege :)

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wiki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Don't rush to it....”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

Small so called museum. Lots of letters and paintings and a few models spread over several floors. Woman at front desk/shop had no sense of humour.. Not for the kids.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Interesting but not enough to captivate”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is a museum dedicated primarily to Captain James Cook but also includes general maritime history.

It is located in a house that Captain James Cook boarded at while undergoing his apprenticeship. Noting that Captain Cook's childhood home was transported to Melbourne Australia and his marital home was located elsewhere in the UK.

The museum is filled with letters between Captain James Cook, the owner of the house as well as other important figures of the time. I found these very interesting and captivating.

There are also some letters (copies) between Sir Joseph Banks (who accompanied Captain James Cook on his first voyage-cataloguing the flora and fauna), and Lord Sandwhich amongst others in the British Navy. the correspondence discusses his needs and wants for his participation in Captain Cook's second voyage. These letters really changed my view of Sir Joseph Banks who now comes across as very self absorbed and egotistical (in my view).

The exhibition winds through a number of rooms and is over a number of floors- I couldn't see any lifts.

In a nutshell, other than containing correspondence and a small number of artifacts, the whole experience was rather flat. Only go if you are an enthusiast who likes to read correspondence. I would also not recommend it for children as there was not enough to captivate them whilst you work your way around reading.

The

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank traveldreamer61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter R, Manager at Captain Cook Memorial Museum Whitby, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your comments. I thought I should just point out one or two things for potential visitors. There is a lift between the ground and first floors thus enabling less mobile visitors to visit 70% of the Museum in person, we also show a DVD on the ground floor which is specifically designed to show those visitors who cannot access the upper floors exactly what they would have seen had they been able to visit in person. Visitors with children are offered a fun work sheet to enhance the enjoyment of the visit , please see previous review for comments on the suitability of the Museum for children. I should also point out that Cook's childhood home was not transported to Australia (pardon the unintential pun) and nowhere within the Museum does it state such. The cottage now in Melbourne belonged to Cook's father who moved there after Cook had left the area and there is no evidence to suggest he ever visited.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, Lancashire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Really interesting a must when in Whitby”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Visited this week with family (wife & 2 boys, 4 & 9) and for the very reasonable entrance fee we all found it really interesting. Covering four floors, including the attic where Cook lived with the other apprentices, there are many contemporary letters, diaries and drawings from the voyages which I could have spent hours poring over. It's fantastic that these items have survived. A special thanks to Trevor the education officer who very kindly took the time to show my sons items of interest which weren't on general show, Joe was immensely taken with Ronnie the rat and the shoe buckle bracelet!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stainto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain Cook Memorial Museum Whitby also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Captain Cook Memorial Museum Whitby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing