We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dracula”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dracula Experience

Dracula Experience
Book In Advance
More Info
US$46.03*
and up
Steam Trains, Whitby, and the North York Moors Full-Day Tour from York
Ranked #15 of 17 Tours in Whitby
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Alloa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dracula”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Being a family of Dracula enthusiasts we entered the Dracula experience unsure of what to expect. I can honestly say we weren't disappointed. Plenty of scary atmosphere, the only thing I would like to suggest is the 8st Dracula cloak worn by Christopher Lee in the old Hammer Horror films could maybe be made more of a focal point. All in all great value for money though. £5 per adult and £3 for children.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    36
    60
    65
    170
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Great Way of Stepping into Dracula's Whitby”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Bram Stoker would be proud of The Dracula Experience in Whitby. In a town ripe with potential for providing Dracula fans, Stoker fans and all other haunter enthusiasts a way of experiencing the town infamous for being the place of Dracula's arrival to England, The Dracula Experience rises to the challenge. In this small scare attraction, visitors enter the story of Dracula and its connections to Whitby. They travel through scenes from both the novel and film adaptations while hearing the story of Dracula told to them throughout. There are many clever scares from both animatronics and a live actor, ensuring a genuinely dark experience as any horror fan would have it. For the price of only a few pounds, The Dracula Experience turns an otherwise bright and tourist-filled harbor town into the dark, ominous atmosphere that would make Bram Stoker grin evilly in his grave.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChrisKullstroem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tockwith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Been to Whitby a heap of times and walked this 'attraction' on a number of occasions. Never fancied it, but was with my girlfriend and she wanted to go in and even paid for us both ! Was told it would take around 15-20 minutes to go through the whole thing. It was very very dark, but you could still tell that the scenes in the building were old and not particularly realistic. Sound quality was poor and there were no live actors during our visit. I think this place is more of a health and safety hazard than a visitor attraction. I didn't feel at all educated when I came out of the place. It's only saving grace is that it is so bad, its funny. Poor poor show in what is otherwise a very nice sea side town.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth a penny”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We went to this experience because as we walked past it had a line out of the door. But once we had got around we found it wasn't worth the money. As we walked round all the displays were in bad condition and wernt scary or even told a story. Needs some money spent on it to do it up. The only one actor that was there was on his phone as we walked past. so he hadn't heard us coming and made a pathetic attempt to scary us which didn't work. Wouldnt waste your money on this as it clearly states no refunds on the way it which we thought was odd but understood why as we left this converted house.

Helpful?
2 Thank Risha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wishaw
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Expected better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Yes it was cheap but we still expected a little bit more from this place. The worst part was at the end where the exit dumps you on the street at the rear of the building. Would say it would be worth going here just to see what not to do. The whole thing could have been so much better.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Kenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dracula Experience also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Dracula Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing