We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really good food here!!”
Review of The Hare & Hounds

The Hare & Hounds
Ranked #17 of 216 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“really good food here!!”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Just called in mid week and late in the evening for some supper on our way back to Robin Hoods Bay. Staff were very welcoming and the food just superb.

I had fresh beer battered cod with new potatoes and salad garnish, partner had chicken breast stuffed with mozzarella cheese followed by assiette of desserts - just outstanding.

Would recommend anytime - has to be one of the best around and exceptional value for money.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamesdc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    71
    24
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Ruby Wedding Celbration”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Six of us celebrated my sister in law's 40 Wedding Anniversay. We each ordered a different meal and they were all excellent, well presented and tasty. Definately another visit soon.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lancelot37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Place to eat”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Visited here last year and went back for another visit. We both ordered Double Burger and Chips and we can honestly say they were the best ever. The handmade chips were delicious and the burgers were so tasty and cooked perfectly. Prices are good as well. Recommended!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsAJ284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellington
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A good country pub”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Popped in here for lunch and found a good pub selling nice home cooked food with pleasant efficient staff. We ordered just main courses of Whitby Scampi ( just had too do it as we are here) and Sirloin steak both arrived promptly and were perfectly cooked all in all a very nice visit to a lovely country pub

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank germanshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“MMmmmm lovely”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We went here for a family meal - 4 adults and a 16 year old. We had starters mains and pudding and it was ALL lovely VERY nice food and service was great to. We arrived just before 5.30pm and got seated - however I would say we were very lucky as we arrived early - if you wish to go later I would say book a table. We also asked about the Wednesday night steak night £30 for two people and were told its best to book that night if you wish to go. The pub is just next door in another room and allows friendly dogs :) the toilets are in the pub - I must say they could do with abit of TLC! :/ but apart from that everything was super - a lovely night out and we are all stuffed. My husband LOVED the chips soooooooooo much he had a second bowl for his pudding! I had the chicken and ham pie and have to say I WOULD have it again and again - YUMMY.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vickiwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hare & Hounds also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Hare & Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing