We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fox and Hounds

The Fox and Hounds
Ranked #80 of 213 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Gorgeous!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Sue is gorgeous..........Jason is gorgeous...........Jason's food is gorgeous too!!!!!!!!
It's perfect
x

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank busybeestudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    7
    1
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Simply excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

Housed in a former pub between sandsend and runswick bay is this excellent restaurant with 6 or 7 tables.
The proprietors clearly work hard to make the menu food and hospitality effortless.
The majority of city restaurants could learn from this business.
A simple menu of 3 courses comprising 3 choices.
Excellent ingredients cooked with precision and no gimmicks.
Booking is essential.
Well worth a visit and detour if necessary.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank goldhench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Well worth the trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Great friends brought us here for dinner. Great restaurant with outstanding front of house and tight menu. Had the scallops to start absolutely oustanding followed by the fillet steak. There is no passing trade just a loyal following. Make the trip it is worth it

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phillipsj0792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Charity Begins at Home”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

I visited this restaurant with friends some 18 months ago and had a pleasant evening, although I felt the food was a little pricey. I was, consequently, very pleasantly surprised when my daughter gave me a voucher for a dinner for two (excluding drinks) last Christmas. She had won the dinner in a raffle for a local charity.
My intention was to take my partner for a celebratory meal on her birthday in December 2014.
On telephoning the restaurant I spoke to the host, Sue. She queried the prize and alleged she could not remember giving out such a voucher and needed to know more details. I contacted my daughter who gave me full details of the charity and the event. I duly relayed this information back to the restaurant only to be told that it would not be honoured. There still seemed to be some scepticism about the voucher and was told that the prize was out of date even though it did not say this anywhere. She said that the restaurant was only small and in any event she had donated to the charity in other ways.
I was most disappointed at the response and said that in my view a meal is a meal whenever it is taken. Obviously, this was not accepted. Needless to say I shall not be visiting this restaurant again and will not recommend it to friends or famiy in the future.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Trevor T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guisborough
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bloody brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

What ever they do - they do it well. The food was skilfully cooked and presented. The host, Sue, made us feel special. And the little touches, like decor and napkins, helped produce an evening that felt like a treat and not a mundane night out. We have lived in this area for 20 years, and applaud the fact that such brilliant surprises turn up such as this. We ambled out of what was an old pub and walked into a full moon. Very happy and content. Thank god for people who work so hard to be creative and give others such pleasure and an experience. Simon the Stand UP Paddler from close by.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travguisborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fox and Hounds also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to The Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing