We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take Away”

New Long King's Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #152 of 213 Restaurants in Whitby
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Take Away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

On a recent visit to Whitby, we stopped for a take away. Both my husband and myself feel that this was one of the best take aways ever. The rice was so fresh it made us wonder what we had been having served up in the past. There was more than sufficient for each of us and it was very tasty too. We would certainly call again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    37
    11
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

A good value for money meal, very friendly staff. Lovely view of the sea. Would go again and would recommend it to others.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank katherine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely family get together”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We were staying at The Towers (which I sadly can't review because I know one of the persons who looks after it) and used this Chinese for a family get together. We had the set menu of £15 per person and the food was so delicious that even our picky nine year old grandson ate well! We had a brilliant night, with excellent service. Decor might well be starting to fade but that became of no interest once the food arrived.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Cheerful Chinese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We ate here prior to returning home from our weekend at Whitby. We were therefore quite anxious to have a good meal but without spending too much time over it. This wasn't a problem as the service was very quick and cheerful.
The menu is a typical standard Chinese one with plenty of choice. I had the duck in an orange sauce with boiled rice. It was very tender and cooked to perfection. The sauce was fine but nothing special.
The ambience of the place is good because it overlooks the sea and we had a window seat overlooking it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GiffLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Long Kings too long”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

What a let down!
We will start with the 2 good points, the view is just beautiful and the spring rolls were the best we have had in many years but that was it.
The restaurant has seen better days and the decor is very interesting, somewhere between old persons home and works canteen.
The food was reasonable, however, the waiter did have his thumb in the hoi sin sauce as he placed it on the table and that was a little off putting.
The staff (1 local girl) was not knowledgeable about either the drinks or the menu and the waiter (possibly owner) was a very unhappy man who did not enhance the evening at all.
Sadly we will not be going back.
We did notice there was a very busy take away trade, so that may be where the business is!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LadyDebra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Long King's Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to New Long King's Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing