We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cuddy Cottage

Cuddy's cosy lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cuddy's cosy lounge
Cuddy's cosy lounge Cuddy's cosy kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
38 reviews
Cuddy's cosy lounge
Cuddy's cosy lounge
Cuddy's cosy kitchen
Double bedroom
Cuddy's kitchen
Cuddy's dining area
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Showeroom
Cuddy picture
Goths walking up the 199 steps
View of Whitby Abbey
Bottom of 199 steps
Cobbled street in front of yard
View from entrance yard
Harbour view from  199 steps
Rooftops from 199 steps
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rigger17
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cottage”
Reviewed 4 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Really lovely cottage in a brilliant location, close to everything like the town, bay, the abbey as the cottage is right at the bottom of the 199 Steps.
The cottage was spotless really homely and has everything you need to make your stay comfortable.
The communication with the owners is very good and kept us update on everything.
Can’t recommend enough and would definitely stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2018
Thank you so much for your positive review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in Whitby and the cottage. We very much look forward to welcoming you back and just hope you have better weather when you do return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Nov 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write your positive review. We look forward to welcoming you and your family again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jenny V
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cuddy Cottage”
Reviewed 5 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Have spent a fabulous weekend with family in Cuddy Cottage. It is in a fabulous location at the bottom of the Abbey Steps and was easy to find. We had no problem with parking once we unloaded the car it was parked up near the train station where it stayed until the morning we left. The cottage was very clean and comfortable and fully equipped. I look forward to staying again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2017
Many thanks for taking the time to write this positive review. We are pleased you did not have any problems with parking as some people may be concerned about this before their visit. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Aug 2017
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you all enjoyed your stay and look forward to you returning.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Jun 2017
Thank you for your kind remarks and for taking the time to write this review. We will pass on your comments to our "Knight in Shining Armour" next door. Sorry that you had to buy a parking permit but these do allow parking throughout the whole of the Scarborough district if anybody wants to visit other places. Parking can be a problem in Whitby. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TheRaybou...
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 1 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We had a lovely 3 night stay here. The location is simply amazing. We are a family of 4 including 2 boys age 15 and 12 who were comfortable in the upstairs bedroom.
We found the kitchen was well equipped, the shower and hot water were adequate and everything was spotlessly clean. When we arrived in our car the cleaner was still in ( we were early) but she helped out by allowing us to leave our belongings. We avoided hefty parking charges by parking on the road past the Fleece pub and walking back. Only tip we would give would be to load your car the night before departure as driving on Thursday morning past the bin lorry, Brewery delivery as well as various traders vehicles was a bit stressful!
Would strongly recommend this cottage to any family of 3 or 4. Although the car thing is a bit of a drawback, in my opinion it is a small price to pay for the privilege of walking straight out of the yard into Church St with the Abbey Steps to your right and the Harbour straight ahead.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for your kind comments and helpful tips for other people with regard to parking. I can imagine has stressful meeting the other vehicles. We tend to try and find free parking places, such as The Ropery and use a Wheelie bag/case rather than having to carry heavy bags. Once again thank you for your time writing this review and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mermaidgi...
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage beautifully decorated ”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We had such a lovely stay at cuddy cottage , it's a gorgeous little place tucked away with loads of charm and character. We found the parking a bit of an issue, we had a bit of a walk with all our luggage and 2 children but it wasn't a massive issue and was worth it when we got in to the lovely cottage.
We were visiting with friends staying in other places so we felt we didn't get as much use out of the cottage we could but we would love to stay again and stay longer.
Our youngest daughter loved her room and loved the house so much when we got home she told us she missed the cottage.
I thoroughly recommend Cuddy Cottage if you want a cosy place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review . We would love to welcome you all back to stay and hopefully next time you won't have as far to walk with the luggage. If Church Street is not busy we park outside, unload, and turnaround at the bottom of Henrietta Street,. Once again many thanks for your kind positive remarks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing