We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”
Review of Europa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Europa
Ranked #66 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

The hosts- Ann and Michael make this place great, I was greeted on arrival in a very friendly manner. The room had fantastic amenities, the free bottle of water in the room was a nice addition. The location is closeby to the main seafront and the breakfast was fantastic.

It was not of these places whereby you only see a member of staff on check in/exit. Ann and Michael were lovely hosts.

The room itself was nice and it was quiet at night. If there had to be a critical comment it would be the bathroom is a bit tiny. However the b+b was lovely, clean and would stay here again when Im next in Whitby.

Room Tip: I'd recommend Magpies for its fish and chips
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magic_andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Excellent location, the room was very clean and comfortable, much better than I expected for the price, breakfast was very good not at all greasy, we were booked in for 2 nights over valentine weekend, unfortunately we had to return home a day early for personal reasons. The couple running the place were very friendly and helpful, you got the feeling nothing would be to much trouble. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to other couples, they do not take bookings of large groups.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We arrived earlier than checkin time for our one night stay but the hosts very kindly gave us a parking permit so we could park up and have a wander around. Parking can be a bit of a problem but if you look for a zone with a "W" on the sign you can park there free of charge.
On our return to the guest house Anne and Michael gave us a very warm welcome and we were shown to our room no.2 on the second floor. The room was very spacious, lovely decorated with an en suite built into the corner. The bed and bedding was very comfortable and extremely clean. There was tea and coffee making facilities in the room.
The breakfast choice was excellent and cooked on demand.
The location is good with a nice walk down a few steps to the hub of the town.
We would not hesitate to stay here again and would definitely recommend to friends and family.
We would highly

Room Tip: Room 2 comfortable and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank japete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoxyWhitby_UK, Owner at Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for this review. Your feedback is much appreciated and it was a pleasure to meet you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This was a last minute booking for a one night's stay at the Europa and we could not have made a better choice. Anne and Michael were very welcoming and our room was very comfortable and spotlessly clean. However, the best part of our stay was definitely the breakfast which was one of the best we have ever tasted. Parking was easy as our hosts gave us a parking permit free of charge on arrival. We will certainly look forward to going back again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy186408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoxyWhitby_UK, Owner at Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you both again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

myself and my wife stayed here between the dates of 25 july to the 28 july and was very impressed with the welcome and very happy with our room comfy bed and spotless. the breakfast in the morning was all grilled ( apart from the egg lol ) we often go away for weekends and can honestley say that this b&b is in our top 3 and will 100 per cent return .

Room Tip: the classic room was a very nice room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank derek t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We have been going to the Europa for a number of years now because the place is excellent. Anne and Michael who run the Europa are lovely people and the place is immaculate and the breakfasts wonderful.

Room Tip: All rooms are clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sylvia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoxyWhitby_UK, Owner at Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Hello and thank you for your kind comments. It always a pleasure to see you both., and we are pleased that you continue to enjoy staying with us when you visit Whitby. We look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Just got back from four fantastic nights stay. Fount the hosts were very friendly and helpful, the guest house was spotless and the breakfast divine. The room was lovely and comfortable, with tea and coffee making facilities which were topped up everyday. You can park right outside the guest house free of charge as you were given a 'council parking ticket'. Short walk to sea front and would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shielasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FoxyWhitby_UK, Owner at Europa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind comments. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.3 mi away
Sanders Yard
Sanders Yard
#50 of 152 in Whitby
217 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 5 in Sleights
138 reviews
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ruswarp Hall
Ruswarp Hall
#1 of 1 in Ruswarp
270 reviews
0.5 mi away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#6 of 52 in Whitby
284 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Hotel
#3 of 4 in Sandsend
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa

Address: 20 Hudson Street, Whitby YO21 3EP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: £78 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Europa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing