We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Granby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Granby
Ranked #114 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
wigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Terrible food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

Went to granby because they let dogs in beer fine when food came was not well presented on eating tasted awful chips tasted like cooked in old oil I had mixed grill meat was not cooked pork still had blood in decided to leave wont be going back

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank w1lson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    38
    12
    9
    7
See reviews for
20
48
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

After one of the local shop workers reccomended The Granby to eat we were looking forward to a nice mix grill and lasagne- standard pub menu.Once ordered i went to the ladies to wash my hands to be greated by a male using the toilet in full veiw.I returned and was greated by a young women who said that would be her other half and that he was bladdered ! The meal came in no time and to our disapointment the lasagne was runny and looked under cooked.There was plenty on the mix grill plate however one mouth full of the 'steak' and it tasted terrible .When we told the bar chap and asked to see the chef he said he has just gone out,he wont be long.A few moments later the chef came back through the main doors in his chefs uniform carrying a bottle of pop ! We played down our disapointment as there was another couple in ordering a meal.The chef agreed with our concerns and we were given a refund for the food but not our drinks which we had not drank.We were very disapointed however we were given some refund.I would not recommend to others.The pub is in need of a good spring clean, it is situated in a prime town centre location so has the potential to be bustling with customers.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TCNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

My mother lives in Whitby and most times we visit we go to the Granby for food. As with many pubs and cafes in the town, dogs are welcome as are children.

The food is typically home-cooked fayre, chicken and chips, fish and chips, ham egg and chips etc and I always choose the steak and kidney pie with vegetables, which in my mind is good enough to rival the "must-eat" Whitby fish and chips.

Definitely worth considering if you are on a budget and want a value for money meal.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 707whitbycrab707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

If your visiting whitby you must visit the granby hotel.from the outside it looks like any average pub. My partner and i ate in the Granby 3 times during our 7 day stay in a near by bed and breakfast. the food is very good value for money and if you are like my partner and you like too have fish and chips, expecially if your by the sea you really must try the Granby.Having tried Trenchers and not being very impressed the Granby is just as good if not better. The bar staff are very welcoming,will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank happyholsBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.2 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#8 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Horse and Griffin
0.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#65 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#2 of 5 in Sleights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Broomfield House
Broomfield House
#50 of 152 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Granby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Granby

Property: The Granby
Address: 34 Skinner Street, Whitby YO21 3AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Granby 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Granby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing