We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pub that dogs and children are welcome.”
Review of The Granby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Granby
Ranked #138 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Visited last year food and drink was excellent and great value. It was great to find family friendly pub. And very nice and clean well decorated .Will be back next this year when we visit witby may have look at the accommodation.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank angelg2965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
There are newer reviews for The Granby
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

We dined here one mid week evening in December, although the pub was very quiet the food was excellent. Our meals were reasonably priced, well cooked and plentiful. We had a lamb roast dinner: tender lean meat. 2 Yorkshire puds and 4 veg and cod and chips with peas, coleslaw and salad. Possibly the best battered cod fillet I have ever eaten. Real ales were good but a touch expensive. Well worth a visit to this cosy pub when in Whitby.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppyday39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Didn't stay here, but visited for lunch on the back of Tripadvisor reviews. Was not disappointed!! Best steak pie I've ever had, and the other food looked amazing too! Great value for money with a good selection of quality beers and friendly staff. Can't wait to go back. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank razjam85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

When we go to Whitby (3 - 4 times per year) we make sure we have at least one meal each time, Good food, fast service, smaller portions this time than previously. But they do let dogs in - and have some fantastic beers too. Nice place for a pint on my own with Dog whilst they go swimming or to the museum.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sore_ears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We didnt stay here but had a meal. The Sunday Roast is massive, really good value. A lady walked into the pub as I was tucking in and asked me what I was eating as it looked so good, she went to the bar and ordered 'I'll have what she's having'.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjmunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

we have just returned from a stay in Whitby and we ate a couple of times at the granby,the food is first class and as a very good menu and is value for money .
the staff are very friendly as are the locals and the beer is well kept.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ged57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We recently visited the Granby for lunch and were very impressed. There was plenty of variety on the menu and good prices best of all it tasted great ! It is a clean and welcoming pub away from the fish shops on the sea front ! Very friendly staff both behind the bar and the kitchen.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tod305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.1 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
438 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 5 in Sleights
134 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#119 of 151 in Whitby
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Wilson Arms
The Wilson Arms
#125 of 151 in Whitby
104 reviews
0.5 mi away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#5 of 53 in Whitby
277 reviews
5.5 mi away
Station Tavern
Station Tavern
#141 of 151 in Whitby
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Granby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Granby

Address: 34 Skinner Street, Whitby YO21 3AJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Hotel Style:
Ranked #138 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: £64 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Granby 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Agoda so you can book your The Granby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing