We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Lounge with Freview TV, 42" LCD TV & Surround System
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge with Freview TV, 42" LCD TV & Surround System
Double Fronted Detached Cottage with Hardwood Double Glazing for Warmth & Quiet Lounge with Cosy Log Burner Set in Antique Fire Surround for those Romantic Nights in
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
90 reviews
Lounge with Freview TV, 42" LCD TV & Surround System
Double Fronted Detached Cottage with Hardwood Double Glazing for Warmth & Quiet
Lounge with Cosy Log Burner Set in Antique Fire Surround for those Romantic Nights in
Kitchen with Induction Hob, Full Oven, Combi Microwave, Coffee Machine & Washing Machine.
Kitchen with Induction Hob, Full Oven, Combi Microwave, Coffee Machine & Washing Machine.
Main Double Bedroom with Mahogany Sleigh bed
Double Bedroom with Mahogany Sleigh Bed
Twin Bedroom with Mahogany Sleigh Beds Second Floor
Designer Travertine Family Bathroom
BBQ & Seating Area immediately in front of Gulls Cry & LED Patio lighting & Security Cameras
Summer House in Court Yard
Rear of Gulls Cry as seen from Cliff Street
Hall
Lounge at Christmas
Court Yard at Christmas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 90 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JimbobJam...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I stay in Whitby each year, usually around Christmas. This year we decided to go with friends during half term and managed to find this golden gem.

Colin, the owner, is a very nice bloke and extremely helpful. All my dealings with him were via email and after mountains of questions (on my part), Colin was very prompt to answer.

The cottage is beautiful and is situated within a minutes walk from the harbour and all the shops etc.. The overall cleanliness of the cottage is to a very high standard and the furniture / decor is also very nice and to a high standard. It also comes fully equipped with pretty much everything you would need for your stay.

I would highly recommend the cottage to anyone and we will certainly be back!

Thanks Colin and your housekeeping team for making our stay wonderful!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 May 2014
Once again really can't say enough about my appreciation of a great review like this and the time taken to write it.
I will still strive to keep up the standards, and improve where possible to enable my future guests to have as an enjoyable stay as my previous hopefully have.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tijakeja
Sittingbourne
1 review
“A dream come true”
Reviewed 12 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

The Cottage is an absolute gem immaculately clean has everything you would want and more.Excellent location superbly and tastefully decorated and furnished to the highest standard.
Colin the owner was unbelievably helpful going above and beyond what any one can reasonably expect both prior to during in and post our visit answering questions on the cottage and providing superb details for eating out and visiting the area all extremely accurate.
If you can find anywhere better in the Country I will be amazed

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time and effort for a really thoughtful review, it really is appreciated.
The comments on cleanliness are a credit on the efforts of my partner along with our Housekeeping Team, thank you so much.
My own childhood and adult experiences in and around the area enable me to hopefully give accurate and honest descriptions which are written in the welcome pack. Thank you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saskiam19...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 20 February 2014 for a stay in December 2013

My partner and I stayed at Gulls Cry for the festive period and it really was the most relaxing and enjoyable Christmas that we have ever had-we put this all down to the wonderful Gulls Cry Cottage! Not only did the cottage have everything that you could wish for in terms of practical items (an extremely well equipped kitchen, including tea/coffee and other useful condiments, tea towels, cleaning products, a large dining table, washing machine, TV, DVD player and a selection of DVDs, surround sound system, board games, bath and shower, iron and ironing board), the manner in which it was decorated and furnished made us feel like our stay was really special and luxurious and most importantly, made us feel 100% relaxed. With beautifully decorated bedrooms, which all had amazingly comfortable beds and TVs in them, a spacious and modern bathroom, a cosy and homely lounge with large, squidgy sofas and a log fire, we really couldn't have asked for anymore. Colin, the owner, had even put a Christmas tree up for us and other tasteful Christmas decorations. We spent most of our time at Gulls Cry, simply sitting with the fire on, admiring our surroundings! When we did decide to venture out for a beach walk, it was great to literally be a 2 min walk away from the bustling centre of Whitby...hard to believe really, as the cottage is tucked away in a quiet and secluded side-street with it's own patio-court-yard. We truly couldn't fault the place. Thank you Colin!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Mar 2014
Many thanks for a great review, I feel Christmas would'nt be Christmas without a tree to sit by and the log burner glowing, really please you enjoyed it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PDLMillSk...
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Immaculate & Beautiful Cosy Cottage!”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Can highly recommend Gulls Cry Cottage. Its the only property I have rented in Whitby that was immaculately clean. The décor, beds, furniture etc is all of high quality. The owners have done a fabulous job with it. Also it would also be fantastic in summer because it has a private outside decking/seating area (with BBQ) something you don't often get with Whitby rentals. We had a fabulous weekend in your very beautiful 1660 period cottage, thank you Colin.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness & quality of everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2014
Hi,thank you so much for a wonderful review. My housekeepers are very good at what they do and Linda, my partner, & I try to go at least every 3rd or 4th let and deep clean it, to keep it to a high standard. We really appreciate that it's noticed.
We will endeavour to keep the furnishings and decor in good order so others such as yourselves can continue to enjoy the breaks you all undoubtedly deserve in Gulls Cry.
Colin & Linda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanieeyr...
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Stayed at Gulls Cry for the new year, we immediately felt at home, warm welcoming and cosy. Fantastic decor and renovation, comfy beds snuggly and warm. Close to everything, all in all a fantastic place to stay in Whitby can't fault it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2014
Really appreciate another brilliant review and so pleased you had a great vacation in Whitby.I will continue to add bits and freshen up the cottage to make sure it remains a pleasant and cosy place to stay for a well earned break.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny880
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A gem of a find!”
Reviewed 23 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Having read all of the very positive reviews we were expecting great things. I can honestly say these were exceeded!
From the moment we arrived at the cottage we felt relaxed and at home. When our youngest son (13) asked within 5 minutes when we could come again we knew we'd met everyones expectations!
The cottage is beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. The beds were really comfortable and it was always warm and toasty.
The situation couldn't really be better being within 2 minutes walking of harbour, shops and loads of restaurants.
Colin had supplied lots of information on places to visit and places to eat.
A fabulous place to stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Immaculate cleanliness & decor
Liked least: TV controls complicated!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2013
I am so grateful for a lovely review and your time taken to write it for us. It's so appreciated, and very important to us that you have enjoyed your stay. We aimed to make the cottage special from the first day of it's refurbishment, and sincerely hope we reached a standard that is acceptable and within budget for our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claireth0...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fantastic”
Reviewed 24 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Hi, this is probably 4 time I have stayed at the cottage and I will keep on going back simply because it is gorgeous. Each time we have walked with our bags to the front door we feel as if we have 'come home'. Absolutely everything you could ever need is there. The courtyard is so peaceful and Whitby itself is just fabulous, no matter what the weather.

Thank you Colin, we'll be back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Sep 2013
A really big thank you for your lovely review once again, becoming a bit of a habit you visiting Gulls Cry.
It's so nice that guests such as yourself feel we have done enough to make you revisit to enjoy it repeatedly, and bring along others to share it with you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing