We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, quirky pet friendly house”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jaynedaws...
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely, quirky pet friendly house”
Reviewed 28 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Visited with my partner & 2 other couples, for a long weekend
We loved the quirky nature of the house, the open fire, and the central location. The house was clean & beautifully presented.
Pet friendly, and my dog Penny loved running up & down the stairs exploring all the bedrooms.
I would highly recommend this house.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rachel a
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great house, great location, great holiday”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed in this house recently together with 4 friends and had a thoroughly enjoyable time. The house is in a wonderful location, close to shops and only a 5 minute walk from the beach. It also has 2 free car parking spaces, which was great as in the past we have had to pay to park in the long stay car park.The cottage is really clean and very homely. The lounge is lovely and cosy with a real fire (wood provided) and there are plenty of bathrooms and loos, which is a real bonus. Thoroughly recommend a stay here.......... Also, I stupidly left some clothes behind, which the owner kindly posted back to me. Lovely service!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah H
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 14 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this cottage which is in an ideal location for the centre of Whitby.

The property was clean and the bedding was spotless. Slight issue with the key code which was swiftly dealt with by the owner.

The cottage felt very homely and cosey and everything was in good working order.

We felt very much at home and will be booking again.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex D
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disgusting property”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Stayed here for 3 nights and found the property to be very dirty and unclean. Almost every wall in the property has damp on it producing mould in some places, the pillows were all heavily stained when the pillow covers were removed, and a few of the mattresses were stained. On arrival a stain on the sheet of the 5th floor double bed was spotted. The following day we contacted the owner to complain (and also mention that the wifi wasn't working) and within 5 minutes of the call ending the cleaner came round to sort the problem. This would have been great, if she hadn't burst into the property without knocking. We found this to be quite rude. The dishwasher and oven were in an atrocious state, and were very grimy. Also, the dustbin was full on our arrival, and the "patio" area (which was a damp, moss covered area about 2m squared) had balloons left there from people that had stayed there previously. Plaster was missing off the walls on two of the landings, and the skirting boards in the 5th floor bedroom had collapsed. In the toilet on the 3rd floor bedroom the extractor fan was absolutely caked in grime and dust, and the separate shower room on the 3rd floor opened straight into the bedroom without a door or even a shower curtain to keep the bedroom dry.
At the end of the holiday we rang the owner to explain the problems we encountered in his property, and he refused to speak to us.
Do not stay in this hovel.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2016
Thank you for leaving this feedback. As a result of your comments the owner has employed a different cleaner to look after the property, the microwave and dishwasher have both been replaced and they have reorganised the rubbish collection to make it easier for guests. If we can be of any further help please do not hesitate to get in touch
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen J
Brechin, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
Reviewed 23 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Wasn't expecting a great deal due to the price and it would have been perfectly acceptable if the place was cleaned.
We couldn't bring ourselves to use the cooker or dishwasher, the bins were full when we arrived, paintwork was patchy and the coving covered in cobwebs.
The garage was a godsend as other parking was impossible unless you wished to pay the £7 a day for the council car park.
Must admit that the accommodation heating system proved efficient during a chilly week but it did take a couple of days to get going.
All said and done we had a good stay but more to do wth the family and the pleasant holiday resort that is Whity......will go back.....but to a different appartment

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Surrounding area
Liked least: Property cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2016
Thanks you for your review. Since reading your review the owner has replaced dishwasher and they have hired a new cleaner for the property to maintain their high standards at this property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great house in a perfect location”
Reviewed 1 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We loved this house, loads of room, bags of character and the rooftop terrace was a perfect place for a morning coffee and an evening glass of wine with stunning views across the rooftops to Whitby Abbey.

The house had plenty of space, nicely furnished and even a private garage in a block just up the road. Our first trip to Whitby but we will definitely return as we loved it! The house is just off one of the lovely streets with plenty of interesting shops to have a look at. The walk to the abbey is spectacular and the abbey is well worth a visit. The beach is beautiful and we'd recommend a long walk to Sandsend with some lovely little cafe's when you get there. Robin Hood's Bay isn't far away - stunning place to visit.

& to return to the Captain's Hideaway after your day out is just perfect - so homely and welcoming - great base!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2015
Enjoying a morning coffee and a glass of wine in the evening on the rooftop terrace sounds perfect! We are glad that you enjoyed your first trip to Whitby and are delighted that you liked the Captain's Hideaway. We hope you will book with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire...
Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tired doesn't describe it really”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
6
people found this review helpful

The cottage is situated perfectly for a stay in Whitby, set over 5 floors it has fantastic views - it has great potential but as a reviewer added in 2012 it is tired and I would say in urgent need of decorating and cleaning. There are signs of dampness on the walls and whilst I would expect character in a property of its age this was beyond character. Both the veranda and yard were dirty - a lick of paint and clean up would make all the difference - that said it didn't spoil my stay I love Whitby - had a lovely long weekend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing