We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good proper grub”
Review of Jane's Kitchen

Jane's Kitchen
Ranked #93 of 213 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
103 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good proper grub”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We do breakjfast here whenever we stay over in Whitby. It is fantastic, plenty of freshly cooked food done how you like it and plenty of it. A lovely menu and some tremendous cakes on offer as well for those pre and post Abbey steps trips. You can walk through to Janes rock shop as well. Bonus!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheSandersons07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    37
    15
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Massive scones!!”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Popped in for a late lunch after having enjoyed a wander around Whitby on a bright but cold and blustery day. We both had the afternoon tea, nice sandwich, grand pot of tea, massive scone with local made jam and cream, all for £5 each. There was an extensive menu and the food looked good. The cafe was full of locals who all knew each other and were chatting giving a nice atmosphere, the staff and the cafe were both very warm and welcoming

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tylersplus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayr
1 review
“excellent”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

my wife and I were in this lovely place for a "snack", but ended up with great meals! The best food we tasted during our week in the Whitby area. If you find this family run eatery you will not be dissappointed

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank songwriter31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure to eat here”
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Janes is a friendly family business which is bustling and busy. As always our little dog got his free sausage. The breakfast is one of the best in Whitby and we always make an effort to go there.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GooseChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MIDDLESBROUGH
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent staff.”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We visited Janes on Sunday 29th September 2013. It was our Third visit, and each time the staff have been friendly and polite, and the meals are substantial and reasonably priced. I would recommend the lasagne with salad, peas and chips, although they have a vast choice of meals and sweets.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BASILBABES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jane's Kitchen also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Jane's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing