We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Does the job, but room for improvement.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jane's Kitchen

Jane's Kitchen
Ranked #91 of 213 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Does the job, but room for improvement.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We visited here for breakfast after spending the night in whitby.

Both of us had a full English breakfast.
Tomatoes were tinned plum variety which was a little disappointing and not clear from the menu. The produce, whilst cooked well, seemed to be budget, which we didn't feel was reflected in the price.

At twelve quid for two breakfasts, we could've gone to wetherspoons and got slightly better fare for cheaper, however we do like to support local businesses.

It wasn't a bad breakfast, and we ate it, but I don't think I'd hurry back.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LauraJo34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    36
    14
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Disgusting”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Me and my partner went in late yesterday afternoon. He got a breakfast. The toast was burnt and the sausage and bacon hard and rubbery and tasted awful as if it was a day old. I got the homemade curry which was powdery and really strong and overpowering. I asked if i could have half rice half chips and was told tui couldnt as of the portion sizes. The staff hovered and i could see in the kitchen everything wad microwaved. Out of all the places in Whitby we cose this. So dissapointed!!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shellc78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
374 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Where else could you get a cream tea for a fiver ?! Tea, sandwich, scone, cream and jam with friendly service. Not top quality that you would expect from a posh tea shop but great nonetheless. Do recommend it? Yup! Would I go again? Yup !!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere, great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We love Whitby and visit regularly. We were delighted to find such a lovely cafe which welcomed us and our dogs. We had the afternoon tea special, which was excellent value for sandwich, cream scone which was delicious and tea at £5. Our dogs were treat to a sausage, will definitely go back when next in Whitby. The staff were all so friendly making the place feel really cheery.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jayne-allseasons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Me and my Fiancee visited early in the morning and had a lovely cup of tea and a beautiful scone. Lovely traditional cafe. The staff are wonderful helpful and chatty. I will be visiting this place again :)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jane's Kitchen also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Jane's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing