We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best self catering we have ever stayed in!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kauri Cottage

Cottage front and main access - view to communal lawns
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage front and main access - view to communal lawns
View of front of Kauri Cottage front from the River Esk Ground floor well equipped kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
96 reviews
Cottage front and main access - view to communal lawns
View of front of Kauri Cottage front from the River Esk
Ground floor well equipped kitchen
Ground floor well equipped kitchen
Dining Room with French doors to outside patio seating and communal lawns
Dining Room with French doors to outside patio and communal lawns
Dining Room showing aspect of kitchen
Dining Room showing aspect of kitchen
Second Floor Lounge
Second floor lounge with French doors to outside balcony. Double sofa bed for one or two guests
View from second floor French doors and balcony
First floor bathroom with shower
Second floor double room
Second floor double room
Second floor double room
Second floor bathroom
The famous St Hilda's Abbey
Whitby at night
Beach Sunset
Twin bedroom on top floor
Twin bedroom on second floor next to double bedroom
Single bedroom on first floor
Tourist boat from Whitby harbour to Ruswarpalong the River Esk  on the high tide
Sight seeing cruise from Whitby Harbour up the River Esk.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 96 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Spuddysba...
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best self catering we have ever stayed in!”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

What a little gem of a find! Booked this for a Monday to Friday stay.

Love the tea and coffee welcome pack.

This self catering was the best I have ever stayed in. There is nothing you could want for.

The location is stunning.

We will definitely be returning and would be back in May if it wasn't already booked.

If you are looking at booking, don't hesitate, book it, you won't regret it :-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 May 2014
Many thanks for your kind review and great comments - we are delighted you enjoyed our cottage and would like to return at some stage. We look forward to hearing from you again in the future.

Kind regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rachel s
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A great holiday”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Me, my mum, son, brother and his girlfriend stayed at Kauri cottage for a week in February. It was our second stay after a short but amazing first visit. The house has plenty of living space so perfect for a family visit. The location was wonderful and we all enjoyed the walk into Whitby. The house was warm, comfortable and decorated to a high standard. Absolutely nothing has been missed. We had a fantastic stay with lots of laughs, relaxation and wine. The only disappointment was having to leave at the end of the week. We have already booked our summer visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2014
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review for us. We are pleased that our cottage and the surrounding areas had a lot to offer all members and age ranges of your family, and we are delighted you are coming back to us again this year. We have made a few improvements since your last visit which hopefully will only improve your next stay with us.

Kind regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miffy21
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing as ever”
Reviewed 31 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Our third visit as a party of three couples and it was as fabulous as ever. We all say that we start to relax and unwind as soon as we step through the door. Since our last visit, the already immaculate accommodation, had been redecorated throughout and wifi installed. It really is a testament to the owners that they continually assess customers feedbacks and address them. It's a perfect location for Whitby and the surrounding areas and we have stayed there as a couple, with family, with friends and a gaggle of girlfriends. It's perfect for all and we are back again in July...can't wait.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Apr 2014
Many thanks for your review on our cottage. We do try and take on board visitors comments and certainly Wi-Fi was something that was becoming more and more important for guests. We look forward to welcoming you for a fourth time to the cottage in the summer.

Many thanks and regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven A
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent from start to finish”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I have recently stayed at the cottage with my wife and 16 week old baby--the property was immaculate and the pictures don't do the location or property justice. It was an ideal location and even the steep but short hill out of the complex was not a hardship!!! We had a problem with the central heating on one of the days but after contacting the owners--Martin and Julie--the problem was rectified before we had even returned in the afternoon.
I cannot fault any of the booking process etc by the owners and nothing seemed to much trouble.
We shall be returning without fail.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. We apologise again to you for the slight glitch with the boiler during your break, but thankfully normality was restored for you very quickly. We trust you have now received our 'inconvenience' gift and we thank you for your understanding over the problem. We look forward to seeing you at Kauri again in the very near future.

Kind regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJL1965
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another Wonderful Weekend in Kauri Cottage!”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 for a stay in November 2013

This trip was the second in 2013 we loved it so much!

Since I last visit improvements have been made making our stay even more comfortable and enjoyable.

The installation of of high speed wi-fi and BT Sports made my daughter and her friend very happy, they can now use their Ipads etc. But Sports simply made my husband's day!

When we were there last we did notice the Creaking floorboards on the first floor, they've vanished! Obviously then repairs must have been carried out.

The paintwork throughout was fresh and new with co-ordinated bedding in all 3 bedrooms. (I notice these things I'm a woman!)

There is a lovely large slumber sofa in the lounge, nice an long for putting up feet up. I also noticed there were a few more side tables and lamps etc. Like I say I notice these things.

All in all it was a wonderful stay, the cottage is so close to the town, but far enough for peace and quiet, with that lovely view of the Viaduct and river.

The improvements and re-decoration was an instant hit, it's good to see owners keeping up with repairs and maintenance on a regular basis.

Thanks again, and we will be back!

Mandy, Simon, Daisy & Liv

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Everything, especially the cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2014
Many thanks for your review - it is very pleasing for us that we have regular returning guests such as yourselves and that people are appreciative of our cottage and the constant improvements we try to make. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kauri sometime in the very near future.

Kind regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CountyDur...
County Durham, UK
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“2nd Visit to Kauri Cottage in Whitby and it just got even better!”
Reviewed 26 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We had stayed in Kauri Cottage in the October half terms break in 2013 and were happy to return for a short break in the February 2014 half term school break.

We were lucky enough to be the first let of the new year and were pleasantly surprised to find that the property, which was immaculately clean and tidy on our first visit, had undergone a complete re-decoration from top to bottom.

The place felt brand new, and even better, the owners, Martin and Julie had taken the trouble to install BT Broadband with a You View TV Box and best of all - free wi-fi!!

Kauri Cottage was always very good but now it's even better VFM!

If your a family, or a group of friends, who are quite discerning when choosing some holiday property, and looking for some excellent accommodation in Whitby, look no further - you won't find anything better, in terms of facilities, cleanliness and convenience, in a superb location.

We dined out twice, and returned to 'Kham Tai', and an Italian restaurant in the town, just over the road called 'Cosa Nostra'. Both offer great food and are reasonably priced too.

Kauri Cottage - a genuine 'home from home' experience and thoroughly recommended.

'I will be back'

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2014
Many thanks for your second review on our cottage. We are delighted that you can see the improvements we have made during the winter period. High speed Wi-fi was a must for us this year as it was becoming a more regular request, so we thought we would take the opportunity to add the satellite sport at the same time, again with a view to hopefully ensuring that we can provide 'something for everyone'. We look forward to welcoming you to our cottage again in the future.

Kind regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SteveW67
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great cottage, great location”
Reviewed 31 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

We booked Kauri Cottage as a last minute break in late January.
The weather wasn't great but Kauri Cottage managed to help us forget about that.
The location, directly underneath the old Whitby viaduct and next to the River Esk, is beautiful. It really couldn't be a better location, ideal for a stroll into Whitby (the hill down to the cottage is short but steep, however).
There is everything you need in the cottage for a home from home getaway.
We'll definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Weather (it rained)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jan 2014
Thank you for taking the time to do a review for us and also thank you for your kind comments on our cottage. We are delighted everything was to your satisfaction and we were pleased to be able to accommodate your 'last minute' booking. We are busy at the moment making improvements for 2014, and we hope you are able to visit us again in the future.

Thanks and regards - Martin and Julie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing