We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location but 'headsup' re. towels”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kauri Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
114 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 114 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Geoff H
East Maitland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location but 'headsup' re. towels”
Reviewed 24 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Kauri Cottage is a centrally located accommodation, giving access to Whitby (20 minute walk over an impressive viaduct), Robin Hood's Bay (2 hour walk and bus return) and other local areas. The cottage is well appointed and comfortable. However, it should be pointed out that the information for the cottage on Trip Advisor, under 'Amenities', indicated that 'linens' are provided. This is correct for sheets etc, but TOWELS are not provided. This information is on the Cottage website, but could be missed if basing information on the Trip Advisor site. This may not be a problem for people from the UK but, for people from overseas, it requires either the purchase of towels, or the carrying of towels, taking up limited luggage space. In our 5 weeks in the UK and Republic of Ireland, staying at a range of accommodations, this was the only place that did not supply bath towels and we found this to be very unusual.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
26 Sep 2017
Thank you for your review and your comments on your stay at Kauri Cottage. I have noted your comments about towels and now let anyone booking know that towels are not provided when they first enquire to book the cottage. In the 12 years guests have been staying it has never been raised as an issue. However I take onboard the issue for overseas visitors and will now keep a few towels at the cottage for emergencies such as yours. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels around the uk and wish you a safe journey back to Australia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P3589PBja...
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More than it describes.”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The location is amazing, just under the aqueduct, it only took 15 minutes to get to Whitby harbour which is very accessible.

The furnishings were well kept and clean.

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
21 Sep 2017
Dear James Thank you for your review. It's really important to us to get feedback from guests so we can follow up on any improvements we could make so your stay is enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you again next time you visit Whitby. Best wishes Barbara Stones
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trek63245...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage ”
Reviewed 25 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage situated in a lovely place, that's scenic with the river and peaceful. Not far to walk into centre of Whitby. Cottage was lovely, spacious, comfortable and clean. Would highly recommend

Date of stay: August 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
28 Aug 2017
Thank you for giving Kauri Cottage a great review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and it was suitable for you and your guests.It's good for us to know what guests say about their stay and that it met expectations and if there is anything we need to improve. It also helps other guests to decide if it will be suitable accommodation for them so thank you. We'd be happy to welcome you back if you decide to visit Whitby again. Best wishes Barbara"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 Jul 2017
Thank you for giving Kauri Cottage a great review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and it was suitable for you and your guests.It's good for us to know what guests say about their stay and that it met expectations and if there is anything we need to improve. It also helps other guests to decide if it will be suitable accommodation for them so thank you. We'd be happy to welcome you back if you decide to visit Whitby again.
Best wishes
Barbara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 Jul 2017
Hi Stephen
Thank you for your review and good to hear you enjoyed your stay. It's sometimes nice to be away from the hustle and bustle of the Centre of Whitby but have easy access when you want it. We would love to,welcome you back again if you're coming to Whitby in the future.
Best wishes
Barbara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
22 Jun 2017
Hi Jackie so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Kauri Cottage and that it met your expectations. It is a lovely spot by the river to relax and still be close to the bustle of Whitby town centre. We'd love to welcome you back any time. Best wishes Barbara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sheffield
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Date of stay: June 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
7 Jun 2017
Hello Sandra Thank you for your review and it's good to hear you enjoyed your stay at the cottage. I love seeing the steam trains going by on the opposite river bank. They make a great picture against the majestic viaduct. I hope we can welcome you back in the future.
Best wishes
Barbara
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.