We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“eerie.. a great chance to learn a bit about whitby.”
Review of Whitby Walks

Whitby Walks
Ranked #5 of 17 Tours in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“eerie.. a great chance to learn a bit about whitby.”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

we had a great time on the ghost walk,( we were even joined by a black cat at the begining of the walk,which turned out to be pure chance and very funny) also a tawny owl followed us around in the town whith its scarey voice. our guide was a lady who knew a lot about the local history and kept our group entertained for the duration of the walk. well worth the money.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank lizYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    15
    5
    2
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
398 reviews
248 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Lot's to see”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

This is a very your around Whitby. With facts & sightseeing. With a knowledgeable guide. I would say for the older children. My grandchildren thought it was great.

Helpful?
Thank Hopefull-guide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Fun”
Reviewed 5 October 2011

Did the Ghost Walk or mini sprint more like. Harry does set the pace a bit but the walk was entertaining and good value for money. Like any comedian/actor Harry feeds off his audience but it's not all one way and the group we were with gave as good as they got! Nothing said was "over the top" or in any way offensive and was ll taken in good part. All in all a great experience which I'd recommend.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank DerbyshireDambuster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A 'must do' when in Whitby”
Reviewed 7 September 2011

This tour starts at 8pm outside the whalebone arch at £5.00 each. Harry is your tour guide and the tour lasts about an hour and 15 minuntes or so. Harry takes you through the streets of Whitby with stories of how Bram Stoker created Dracula and shows you were Bram Stoker stayed when visiting Whitby. He also tells you where parts of the story originated from and how Bram Stoker got his idea, but you will have to go on the tour to find out. Harry is very knowledgable, witty and approachable. At the end of the tour you can chat to him and take photographs. His attire for the tour is inkeeping with the topic, dressed in black top hat and long black coat. The tour we were on had about 25 people and some had children and he played up to them which they all thoroughly enjoyed. All in all it was a very enjoyable and 'different' tour and something you have to do when you are in Whitby.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
8 Thank AMaria123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“suitably scary and very informative”
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We recently did the Ghost walk with a school party. Harry was excellent. He had the children hanging off his every word. A must if you are in Whitby.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank wendysmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whitby Walks also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Whitby Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing