We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Customer Care”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Pathway Guest House
Ranked #54 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed with Phil & Gillian for 2 nights. We had the family room which was very clean and well equipped. The breakfast was superb with a choice of full English, smoked salmon or locally sourced kippers, there was also kipper pâté on offer as well. Location was brilliant, short walk into the town centre.

Unfortunately while we there out little boy went down with a virus & was very poorly, Phil & Gillian were very helpful and supportive and Gillian very kindly got a DVD for our boy to watch while he lay in bed- such a kind thought.

I have stayed in a few B & B's but this one I will certainly return too and I highly recommend it.

Lovely B&B, great food and fantastic hosts.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2013

Sam and Ray

We stayed in April 13 for 2 nights as always Phil and Gillian were very welcoming, the room was very clean and cleaned daily with accessories provided. Excellent service at breakfast great food and a good variety of food, Location is in good walking distance of the key places to visit. Would highly recommend a stay.

Room Tip: Stayed in most rooms all very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed at The Pathway Guesthouse in March with my husband and parents. I stayed in the top floor room and my Mum the floor below. Our rooms were excellent and had everything we needed as well as being clean, decorated in a modern style and well kept.

The breakfast is very good and substantial, and there is always tea and coffee available in your room.

The guesthouse is located close to the town although 10minutes uphill away from the quayside.

I would highly recommend this place and would definitely return!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in the family room and it was perfect. It was spacious, nicely decorated and the bathroom was really big. (There was even a small fridge in the room). The breakfasts were great - there was so much choice and and were cooked beautifully. The B&B is situated in a very good location and is in easy walking distance of the many interesting things to see in Whitby. We also enjoyed exploring the surrounding area including the North York Moors Railway, Eden Camp and Boggle Hole. A wonderful B&B in a great place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

A great experience for New Year 2012/13. Nothing was too much bother for Phil and Gillian who had Buck Fizz on ice for their guests on New Years morning, went beautifully with my smoked salmon and scrambled egg breakfast. Lovely guest house in a perfect location to enjoy Whitby.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We have just returned from our 2nd visit to the Pathways B&B. It was impressive the 1st time but this time it excelled. The room we had was beautifully decorated and very clean. Gillian and Phil are very friendly and make you feel at home.
The breakfast has a great choice and is high quality and well cooked and presented. As vegetarians we are normally are offered a sub standard breakfast but not here.
The location is great, less than 5 mins stroll to the harbour and shops et.c.
We are looking forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chasrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Just got back from a four night stay in Whitby. What a lovelly place Whitby is but I'm here to give The Pathway a mention. The Pathway guesthouse is situated on John street, on the left hand side as you're going down, about three quaters the way down on the Normanby Terrace side.

The building is smart & has well kept frontage with a small fishpond. Once inside it is spotless, warm & welcoming & decorated very well. We stopped in the family room on the top floor as there were three of us - me, the wife & our 13 year old son. What a lovelly room. Again, beautifully decorated, a very comfortable double bed & a separate small bedroom with it's own TV for the lad!!. Pleanty of tea, coffee, milk & biscuits on the hospitality tray - so many times there is not enough on them but plenty here. Great en suite shower room & I loved the Velux windows throughout. All in al lthe room was excellent as was the whole of the guesthouse. When looking for somewhere to stay I look for a good website & like to see what is on offer for breakfast.

The breakfast at the Pathway is fantastic. Dry cured bacon & thick "proper" sausages are offered, not that thin watery bacon or the poor quality pork sausage. This with eggs of your choice, fried bread, fresh cooked tomatoes, black pudding, buttered mushrooms & baked beans making great cooked breakfast. There is also cereal, yoghurt, fruit, toast, fresh berries to help yourself to. If you want smoked salmon or scrambled eggs you order the day before.

The hosts - Phil is an absolute diamond. An excellent host & you couldn't wish for better. His Mrs. served breakfast with efficiency.

To sum up - it's EXCELLENT. Stop here if you want the best Guesthouse stay in Whitby & a cracking breakfast.

Phil & Gillian - thank you very much.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank smh69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
3.3 mi away
The Plough Inn
The Plough Inn
#1 of 5 in Sleights
138 reviews
1.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,120 reviews
1.2 mi away
Ruswarp Hall
Ruswarp Hall
#1 of 1 in Ruswarp
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#6 of 52 in Whitby
284 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Woodlands Hotel
The Woodlands Hotel
#3 of 4 in Sandsend
57 reviews
5.5 mi away
Station Tavern
Station Tavern
#125 of 152 in Whitby
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pathway Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pathway Guest House

Address: 2 Normanby Terrace, Whitby YO21 3ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range: £56 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pathway Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Pathway Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing