We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great few Days”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pathway Guest House
Ranked #63 of 151 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Great few Days”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Just had 2 nights in Pathways (Thu 11.7 to Sat 13.7.13) and a fab few days they where. The B n B was spot on, couldn't fault it, clean, good rooms (If you can have the four poster-our mates did and we where jealous!)-we had the attic room and it was great-big en-suite, plenty of room.
Our hosts where great, very friendly-breakfast was great, fresh fruit, yoghurts, full English, smoked salmon-I had fresh kippers from the smoke house-really great.
Will definitely be trying to go back-especially if this weather holds out!!

Room Tip: Go the extra mile and have the four poster room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    16
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
83
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Just had two nights at pathways n would def return. Room was really nice n clean. Lots of little touches which we were really impressed by in a guest house. Biscuits in room, shower products n really nice soft towells. Phil n gillian who own n run the pathway are really friendly. Breakfast was also really good. Fresh fruit daily, juice, cereal, full english, kippers or salmon. Kippers n salmon need ordering day before. Will def go back and stay here. This is first time i felt need to do a review on trip advisor, so should indicate what good value fof money pathway is.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We have just returned from a weekend in Whitby where we stayed at The Pathway Guest House.....well what can we say, from the moment we arrived we could not wish for any more. Gill and phil were extremely friendly and couldn't do enough for you. Our room was very clean, well maintained and very spacious. We enjoyed it that much that when we left we booked for next year!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2013

A great guest house with great food, great accommodation, big spacious rooms very clean and well decorated. Ten minuets walk from centre of town and all amenities. Can not think of one bad thing about the pathway would definitely stay again. Phil and Gillian went the extra mile to make your stay memorable.

Room Tip: Choose for poster bedroom nice big quiet well furnished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Just had a 5 day break in Whitby our first visit there and stayed at the Pathway Guest House. Very friendly atmosphere, enormous breakfast but you could request what you wanted if you didn't fancy that nothing was too much trouble for Phil and Gillian. The rooms are lovely and clean and very well decorated and spacious, and they even had a mini-fridge in the room! You can usually park in the same road and the location is ideal, everything is within a few minutes walk away. I would definatley recommend a stay here it is home from home.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnforth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2013

We stay at The Pathway guesthouse twice a year, every year and it never fails to impress. It's a beautiful building in a great location, local amenities are easily accessible. Phil and Gillian are lovely and look after us really well, doing everything they can to make our stay special. The rooms are spacious and very clean with everything you need for a stay away from home. The breakfast is brilliant and keeps us going all morning and most of the afternoon too! Very tasty food and they are happy to alter the menu to peoples individual tastes. Really can't fault the guesthouse and we will continue to return year after year. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We (Lin, John, Bow and Sue) stayed 4 nights 3.6.2013 to 7.6.2013 at the Pathways Guest house:- great food, service, cleanliness, one to one care, and great location. We cannot praise this guesthouse enough it was a brilliant find for our break at Whitby, can't fault it in anyway. Phil and Gillian are lovely people, very welcoming and attentive to our needs. We have no hesitation in highly recommending this guesthouse, the best we have ever stayed in. We will return next year.

Room Tip: There was 4 in our group, my husband and I had 4 poster bed on 1st floor - room was massive. Brothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LINDA22550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.3 mi away
Broomfield House
Broomfield House
#51 of 151 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Elizabeth House
Elizabeth House
#3 of 52 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#7 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#21 of 151 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waverley
The Waverley
#23 of 151 in Whitby
5.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pathway Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pathway Guest House

Property: The Pathway Guest House
Address: 2 Normanby Terrace, Whitby YO21 3ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pathway Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pathway Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing