We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three relaxing day in Whitby”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pathway Guest House
Ranked #63 of 152 Whitby B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Three relaxing day in Whitby”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Just had a lovely break at The Pathways Guest House, Whitby. We stayed for 3 nights and found the hosts to be very welcoming and helpful. The rooms were clean. The beds were comfy. The breakfast were wholesome, well cooked and tasty. There was a good choice too. Cerials, fruit and yoghurt, full English, smoked salmon and scrambled egg or kippers. I can not fault this Guest House and will be recomending it to friends. We will be returning!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    15
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
81
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shepshed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We visit Whitby quite often and decided to try a different place to stay this time. As we like peace and quiet and privacy, we chose the attic room which caters for 3 people, having a second single room attached to it.
We were greeted by Phil, who kindly carried our bags to the top floor but we were quite surprised to find that the single room attached was locked even though we had paid for it, therefore, you would need to be specific when you book if you need this extra room.
the room itself was lovely and spacious with a large toilet / shower room. The only negative we could find is that it definitely needs black out blinds at the skylights as it was very bright even in March.
Breakfast was lovely and plentiful and all in all a nice retreat and value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
81 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Well appointed house 5 minutes walk from town. Run by a very friendly couple and of course their dog :) clean spacious rooms and a wonderful home cooked breakfast make for an awesome B&B. Highly recommended to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, England
Level Contributor
122 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We have a weekend in Whitby each year, always seems to be a different B & B. The Pathways is situated in a great location on the West Cliff - access to Whitby is easy, either through the town, or via the steps near the Khyber Pass. The room was comfy, very functional but quite compact. The breakfast was possibly the best we have ever had - fruits, yoghurts, cereals etc. Full English, Salmon or Kippers as main course option. Overall would definately reccomend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linconshire couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We stayed in a triple room, which was clean, spacious and well presented. The added bonus was that the third bed was in a small single room attached to the double room, which my son thought was great having his own room and TV. The owners were friendly and suggested several places to go. The full English breakfast was good, plentiful and freshly prepared. There was also plenty of toast, cereals, yoghurt and fresh fruit. The B & B was 5 minutes walk to the town centre, very we'll located. The one thing that I think could be improved is to have blackout blinds at the skylights. I'm very sensitive to light and even in February had to wedge towels across the windows. This did the job and I would still return here as the whole experience was very good.

Room Tip: Triple room great for family with older child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coimbra, Portugal
Level Contributor
206 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Booked this lovely guesthouse for a couple of nights as a family get together with my 2 daughters/partners and grandchild. Had an excellent time visiting Whitby and staying at this Guesthouse. The rooms were bright and very clean. The hosts friendly and very helpful. The breakfasts were first class and overall everyone had a very enjoyable stay. Would definitely try and book again for a return visit to Whitby.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The owners are kind and accommodating people. There were three of us traveling and they suggested the appropriate combination of rooms for our stay to be as comfortable as possible. Breakfast was outstanding and Phil's pub suggestions can't be beat!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
0.3 mi away
Broomfield House
Broomfield House
#49 of 152 in Whitby
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rylstone Mere Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
The Waverley
The Waverley
#25 of 152 in Whitby
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rosslyn House
Rosslyn House
#7 of 152 in Whitby
332 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pannett House B&B
Pannett House B&B
#27 of 152 in Whitby
120 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Riviera Guest House
The Riviera Guest House
#22 of 152 in Whitby
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pathway Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pathway Guest House

Property: The Pathway Guest House
Address: 2 Normanby Terrace, Whitby YO21 3ES, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pathway Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Pathway Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing