We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few days in Whitby”

Cross Butts Stables Restaurant
Ranked #35 of 213 Restaurants in Whitby
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to the Stables restaurant, we are open daily from 7am till late. Whether you are just dropping by for coffee and cake or joining us for breakfast, lunch or an evening meal - our relaxed environment makes us a perfect venue for drinking or dining or both! At the Stables we pride ourselves on our freshly prepared home made food and offer a wide variety of seasonal dishes. Our meals are created by a team of highly experienced chefs using locally supplied quality produce.
New Romney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A few days in Whitby”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We took friends from Kent to see Whitby which is a place I know well and where my parents lived. Unfortunately due to mist, fog, low cloud, fret - call it what you will - we didn't see as much of North Yorkshire as we would have liked! We had eaten at Cross Butts Stables several times in the past and always liked the place. The food is very good and they coped well with our nephews and niece. They have a lovely outside space with rabbits, horses and glorious views (when weather allows you to see them!) This time we stayed in their courtyard rooms for 3 nights. Very different - our rooms had an 'upstairs' for the bedroom with living area and bathroom downstairs. The meals were excellent and the accommodation was great. Staff were helpful and courteous. Really couldn't have asked for more - except good weather which was beyond their control!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CAROLINE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    145
    56
    37
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hull
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"A great mix of food, staff and surroundings!!"”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We had been out for the day at dalby forest, the weather had been unkind, We were wet, cold and in need of food and as all the other pubs had stopped doing food so we had a drive round to find somewhere, We have driven past the place a hundred times in the past and if id have known the food was this good we would have stopped and visited a LONG time ago. The menu is great, not to big and not to small, and as my husband can't eat certain things its sometimes a task to find suitable things to eat for him.The inside is lovely in decor, old yet upto date, all the lovely origanal beams and big wooden hand made tables, the staff were ALL very helpful, polite and welcoming. I had the steak and ale pie that came with a veg and the best REAL chips, the pastry had herbs in it and the steak just melted in the mouth. And as for the veg, there was peas, carrots, THE most Amazing pumpkin puree, and as a yorkshire lass I love gravy and all i was missing was a slice of bread to mop it up and Im fairly sure if id have asked they would have got me one!!!. All in all this is a fantastic place with great views and AMAZING food. They also do weddings here so if you are looking for a venue with charm and personalty, with food to die for then this is the place for you!! Please PLEASE give the cross butts stables a go if your passing by its well worth it and please bare in mind that when we visited we had not booked and just turned up to be welcomed by a great place. We will be back with friends soon.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate311Hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little rock
Level Contributor
82 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sunday dinner at its best”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We had a table booked for 3.30 pm for 11 including 2 family members who are in wheelchairs.we arrived early and only had to wait ten minutes till we were shown to our table.They have a room upstairs with access via an elevator.The decor in this room was dark and not as inviting as the rest of the place but this would be my only criticism.We of course ordered the Sunday dinner mine was the Turkey and others ordered the Beef and some ordered the whitby fish and chips and they were all outstanding.The Yorkshire puddings were a bit crispy but nothing that a good lathering of gravy couldn't fix.The food at The Crossbutts definitely stands out in a very competitive market and we would highly recommend eating there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zman180Littlerock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Made to feel as welcome as cockroaches”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

We pulled in to their car park to be greated by a lovely sign sayoig all welcome open from breakfast to supper. We walked in to be greeted and asked "have we booked"?. No as we were on a day out, they sniped that they were fully booked. And we could wait but there was no where to sit. So we left as they unpolitly piointed out they had a wedding. Good for them however once there is no wedding I am sure they would be more accomadating to passing trade.....bad show would not advoise you go as very unwelcoming staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank beegirl1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I have been looking forward to returning here for a meal for a while. The first time was 110%. I wasn't disappointed. Once again the food was fabulous. Best ever. 210%. It's certainly the best fillet steak I've had and I've had a few. Gorgeous chips and great presentation. Staff are attentive too. Lovely house wine. Someone mentioned about the music being too loud. I didn't notice ANY music. Also mentioned that it was gloomy on the inside if you're not on the terrace. The lighting is just right and the surroundings are beautiful. Take a look on their website. It's exactly the same but with a great atmosphere. I don't know where these people normally eat, but it's obvious they are not used to quality. They should have went to Arbutt's café instead. Can't wait for my next venture to Sleights and Whitby.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris_21061075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cross Butts Stables Restaurant also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Cross Butts Stables Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing