We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dogs ARE allowed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Robertsons Fish Restaurant

Robertsons Fish Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 213 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Guisborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dogs ARE allowed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We were rather cynical about reviews about dogs being allowed in, so we phoned to check - sure enough they are.
Prompt and friendly service, sensible sized portions - we got the shoppers special, and we'll be visiting again.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    90
    26
    10
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Hull UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Delicious fish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Visited Robertsons last week after spotting on board special offer for fish, chips, bread and butter and a drink for £6.95. After sampling the above I felt so full, the fish was fresh and the batter was perfect.The service was quick and waiting staff friendly we will certainly visit again when in Whitby and would recommend to friends.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dog friendly fish restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We found this fish restaurant by chance in a brochure and could not believe dogs were allowed so we rang them to ask if it was true - yes they said as long as they are well behaved but we can only allow one dog at a time. Each time we have visited this restaurant in Whitby with our golden retriever called Bonnie we have been made so welcome even given a bowl of water for her.
Also the very important part the menu is outstanding with plenty of variety even if you are vegetarian and the actual fish and chips is delicious. We would certainly recommend this establishment but if you have a dog please ring and check first that they can accommodate you and your pooch.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Marion R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heysham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“One of the many.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We ate here because our usual was full. This is one of the many fish restaurants in Whitby and is of a reasonable standard. We had the special (f&c, tea, bread and butter) at £7.50 I think, which was good value. Nothing bad to report, but nothing special either.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Argentum66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better than Magpies in my opinion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

Lovely chips. we always go here. when you get a takeaway, the trays don't collapse when you add vinegar unlike some other places. Nice, down to earth staff. Reasonably priced. What more could you want?

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blessedcurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Robertsons Fish Restaurant also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Robertsons Fish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing