We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious, hot food for 60 of us!”

Robertsons Fish Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 213 Restaurants in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious, hot food for 60 of us!”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Recently brought 60 children to Whitby for a school trip, many of whom had never had fish and chips before, let alone seen the sea. Searching for a fish and chip shop that met the need for Muslims to have their food fried in veg oil was tricky but Robertson's cater for that need. Ordering 60 plus portions to take away, we were pleasantly surprised at how they'd managed to deliver hot, delicious food on such a scale. Will definitely use again. Excellent experience.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emu1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    92
    29
    10
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 949 helpful votes
“Great Portions!”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Wandering around Whitby, Robertsons was the restaurant we decided on for lunch as the smell of fish and chips from outside was wonderful.
The restaurant was fairly busy when we went in - but they also do take away next door. Service was excellent and we both decided on fish and chips each with a couple of portions of bread and butter. We didn't have to wait too long for our food and when it came we weren't disappointed. The portions were of a generous size and the batter was cooked just right, crispy and light. The chips were cooked just right too, not at all greasy or dry either.
We both finished off our food and will certainly call again the next time we are in whitby.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunmagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“excellent fish and chips at a reasonable price”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We ordered medium haddock and chips with tea bread and butter.....the fish was massive and lots and lots of lovely chips. The service was very good and staff very polite and friendly. The cost £15.00 for the two of us , very reasonable indeed when you consider other restaurants cost a lot more. We used to go to Hadleys opposite but their prices have rocketed. So I thoroughly recommend Robertsons. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bonnieb197247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smethwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best fish chips ever”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

First class service..quality and quantity of food excelent.batter on fish was light and crispy.I had the ultimate combo it was a very filling meal.staff were very wellcoming.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michael674
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good quality”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We turned up here as a party of 14 unannounced and were very well looked after. We were all seated together and food was very quickly ordered and bought to us. Food was very tasty and staff were very pleasant. Would recommend

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Robertsons Fish Restaurant also viewed

Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 
Whitby, Scarborough District
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Robertsons Fish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing