We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting....”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn on the Moor
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Interesting....”
Reviewed 26 May 2009

The place I suppose is a bit run down, every reviewer who says this is telling the truth. On first impression from the outside it needs a lick of paint, but many places do so I'm not going to judge that alone.
On arrival we walked into the bar by mistake and it was like walking into those halls you used to hire for a birthday during the 80's. Small bar in the corner surrounded by locals (very friendly and good natured) but the seating had been updated since it was built. An immediate nervous feeling as I thought to myself I had made a mistake.
Anyway booked in as I was still optimistic and was greeted warmly. The room (No. 5) was quite big with a four-poster bed, surprising comfortable given it's perceived condition (old and worn). The sheets were clean and the overall appearance of the room was neat. However, the smell that greeted us was that old and musty aroma and the toilet, although looking clean smelt like a bar toilet on a Friday night. The light fixture for the bathroom was attached somehow to the roof tiles and although it worked, anyone heavy handed would have the whole arrangement including the tile on their head. The sealant around the bath was mouldy and generally the whole place was terribly dated. I have stayed in some of the luxurious places and some of the grottiest in my life and unfortunately this place was heading towards the latter.
After airing the room, we went for a walk and Goathland has amazing scenery (including the very picturesque drive over the moors to get there) but beware, sheep are everywhere.
We had dinner on our return and the food, although not the frozen type we are used to in bar chains, was not really brilliant. Also pretty expensive. Breakfast was pretty standard neither good or bad but the young English girl running the floor (the rest of the restaurant staff are foreign) was very friendly and extremely helpful.
All in all it was interesting but I won't be back, however up that end of England I never found any good looking hotels and that’s why I ended up here - not that there isn't any but Whitby itself is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheIrishTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    27
    11
    7
    14
See reviews for
20
57
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2009

My wife and i stopped here on the 14th of February so were unable to take part in the half price room offer for Jan/Feb so i feel the £110 a night price was slightly more than i would have paid for the quality of the room. they were spotlessly clean but feel a little lick of paint and modern matching furnishings would not have gone amiss. That however is my only quibble and who go's to a hotel to look at the mix and match decor ? you go for location atmosphere etc and this hotel has it in stacks. We arrived after a period of 7/10 days heavy snow but found the roads open and the hotel car park cleared and free from snow or ice (Metropolitan District Councils take note) The view from our room would have been incredible at any time of the year but then the name of the hotel really does give you a hint as to what to expect when you open the curtains. The food in the restaurant was superb. My wifes duck breast and my lamb were both tender and cooked to perfection and for this quality you would pay twice the prices in some lesser establishment (3 courses for two less the price of champagne was £46). The breakfast was of a really good farmhouse style Full English. The service was impeccable and no fault could be found with any aspect of the staffs attitude. I really would recommend this anyone looking to explore the North York Moors and fans of Heartbeat will love the location situated opposite the pub and behind the garage from the show. All in all a really good stay and the price and quality of the room was balanced by the price and quality of the food

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DystopianMale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
whitnashn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2009

Once again had a lovely time at the Inn On The Moor,we have stayed here every January for about 5 or 6 years now,and all the lads cant wait to come back again. Lovely people,good food and accommodation, it is just a good all round place to be made to feel at home in.We like it that much that when we work in Newcastle we travel to Goathland to stay here! Roll on next January!

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank NYMRamblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2008

Just returned from a great weekend at INN ON THE MOOR. We took our little dog with us and were allocated a room at the back of the hotel. the room was fine, the food was fine and most importantly this hotel is where the locals drink which is always a good sign!!! We will definitely return and thanks for a great weekend. Goathland is a lovely place and we spent a lot of time exploring the area. I can't understand people who write negative things on websites like this. If you are so picky why not stop at home!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BazilManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2008

on arrival at the hotel it must have been fate that my husband didnt want to get the case from the car until later. outside looks dated and shabby,as we walked into the lobby you could smell the foisty old carpets and the decor was awful. As for the four poster superior bedroom that was a joke,the furniture looked like something you would find on the set of heartbeat and the bedspread was from the forties!! Needless to say we left within 5 minutes of arriving there and lost our deposit too. There is nothing at all good to say about this place apart from it needs ripping to pieces and starting again.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank blondeyMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normanton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2008

Called in on August bank holiday weekend on the off chance that there may be a vacancy. Having no look elsewhere, we should have known better, when they just happened to have 1 room available. The room was supposed to be a Superior room. However, the only thing that was Superior about it was the King Size Bed. The room was very much in need of a lick of paint and new bedroom furniture. The Ensuite needed pulling out and starting all over again, as this was falling apart, for example the sink tap did a complete 360 degree turn!!

Decided to head for the bar, which was a great dissappointment, both for the prices they charged and the seating arrangements. These were wooden benches with matching carpet piece padding!!

We paid over a £100 for this room, when we could have probably stayed some where else for 2 nights at the same cost.

Never again.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DustyNormanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benfleet Essex
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2008

My wife and I have been staying at IOTM since 1991 when we first saw it- we go back at least once per year and have been there at some stage every month of theyear
It is the only place we can totally relax and get away from day to day
The staff are friendly and excellent - Malcolm and Judy Simpson are the best hosts you could wish for
Prices are competitive - we have seen many structural changes since 91 and no doubt see many more

Benfleet Essex

Stayed March 2003
Helpful?
Thank baseballer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitby
6.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
1,996 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
712 reviews
6.2 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#7 of 20 in Whitby
404 reviews
7.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 20 in Whitby
1,087 reviews
7.2 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#17 of 20 in Whitby
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on the Moor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Moor

Property: The Inn on the Moor
Address: The Mill Green Way | Goathland, Whitby YO22 5LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Moor is a modest family run Hotel situated in the picturesque village of Goathland, only a short drive from the seaside town of Whitby. You'll be sure to feel welcome and relaxed in our stunning, newly refurbished Bar and Lounge with our fabulously friendly and accommodating staff. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On The Moor Hotel Whitby
Hotel On The Moor
On The Moor Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing