We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing warm welcome lovely hotel”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn on the Moor
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2009

charming hotel. had a 2 night stay, Owners and staff at the hotel were very warm and welcoming ( late arrival, plate of sandwiches made up for us great) cosy, clean room.
breakfast was wonderful. We would stay again. Its not the ritz and frankly thank god its a warm friendly relaxing hotel. l loved it. (and yes have stayed at the ritz and the other so called posh hotels and you don;t relax in them) great real ale.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2009

At the last minute, I decided on a weekend away to help celebrate my birthday. I am originally from North Yorkshire and know the area well certainly pre-Heatbeat. My wife knew nothing of the reservation etc until it was all in place, but loves the area having been intorduced to it by me some seven or so years ago. My booking was done over the telephone and I accepted a four poster room for two nights on a special deal of £110 for the first night and half price (£55 ) for the second. it was pointed out to me that the room was on the second floor and there was no lift. I paid a £50 deposit by credit card. On arrival at the hotel on Friday evening about 6.00 pm it was nearing the end of a hot day and there were guests in the pleasant garden. We were dealt with efficiently and warmly by a lady in reception and given a small mortice lock key on a heavy brass key ring designed to discourage one from taking the key away from the hotel and told our room number and given directions to it. The stairs to the second florr were steep but not too bad, but someone with mobility problems would not manage them. Our room was directly at the top of ther stairs and was named as well as having a number. The room was very spacious with two opening windows, some rather heavy fitted wooden furniture, a large four poster with a sort of mock tudor bedspead and canopy, tv, tea and coffee making equipment, a rather rickety easy chair and a dining type chair. The corridors, stairs and the bedroom appeared to have been recently re-carpeted. The ensuite bathroom was a bit of a disappointment. It was very very small with toilet, washbasin and bath with mixer tap shower over. There was one very small shelf under the mirror, over the washbasin with some complimentary toiletries but nowhere to put one's own washbags. But all in all it seemed reasonable for a short stay if not exactly luxurious. After unpacking and a quick refresh in the bathroom we went down for something to eat. We were offered the bar or a 'restaurant' to eat in. The restaurant was really a room off the bar with tables with tablecloths on, but they were not laid up with cutlery, glasses etc. and it all looked quite austere. The next morning we found this and an adjoining room was where a buffet breakfast were served. We chose the bar to eat in. This was narrow, but looked friendly apart from a rather incongruous pool table slap bang in the middle. The tables were converted sewing maching stands, very 80's, each with a wall bench and a couple of chairs. Rather strangely the benches had a rather haphazardly cut off cut of the aforementioned new carpet loose on the seat. The small but surprisingly well stocked bar was at one end was staffed by a well mannered cheerful young man who quickly served us with real ale from a a choice of three and a gin and tonic. He also gave us menus and said he would take our order when we had decided on our choice. The menu conmsisited of a Specials loose sheet and an a la carte in a somewhat dated leatherette folder. Both were imaginative and we had a bit of difficulty deciding what to choose, it all looked good. My had homemade chicken pate and I chose homemade beef carpaccio followed by seared salmon and haddock and homemade chips respectively. All was served quickly and all was excellent. English was not our servers native tongue and there was a bit of confusion over a request for a peppermill but this was quickly and jovially sorted out by the proprietress who had earlier dealt with us on arrival. Other guests were coming into the bar all the time and those with children were going into the 'restaurant'. The other dishes I saw looked as good as ours. Sitting on one of the benches near us, enjoying a beer and talking to a couple of guests at the bar was a guy who we think was the proprietor. The bar could have done with a makeover but seemed friendly enough, however one big quibble we had was when a family with two boys sat in the bar with the boys then proceeding to use the pool table. A sign on a large pink card by the bar clearly stated that 'No Childeren were Allowed in the Bar at any time'. The proprietor did not bring this to the parent's notice, if they had indeed missed it, and did not stop the children using the pool table, in fact to the contrary he and the guest he was talking to encouraged them by commenting on their skill. Don't have rules and signs if they are not to be enforced.
On returning to the room we found we could not obtain a signal on the TV. A call to reception saw the proprietress and then the affable barman quickly come to the room and fix the aerial in place.
The bed was comfortable enough with top sheet and duvet under the 'tudor' bedspread, but the two pillows were rather well used and lumpy. This was rectified next day when two more were provied at our request. When we tried to use the shower, what a disaster. The water would not come through the showerhead unless both taps were turned on and even then most of the water came out of the mixer tap. As a result it was only lukewarm. i determined that the shower hose had collapsed and needed replacement. I alos thought the return valve in the tap was broken. We managed as best we could and told the proprietress when we went down to breakfast. She offered to move us to another room but we settled on a replacement hose and someone to look at the tap. The former was done bit not the latter as a result the shower was still useless.
We went for breakfast at 09.10 am only to find no place laid for us and all the food being taken away from the buffet. However a table was quickly made ready for us and our order taken. Breakfast we were told was 7.30 until 10.00, but clearly the staff had other ideas. There was a table with small boxes of cereal, some jugs of juices, mostly empty, tinned grapefruit and tinned prunes. The breakfast menu was reasonable and normally available from a hot buffet but as we were 'late' ours was cooked and brought to the table. Bacon, egg, fresh grilled tomato, baked beans and two sausages. Why do accommodation providers insist on using catering sausages, which have tough artificial skins and are complete strangers to pork meat. In North Yorkshire any local butcher would be pleased to supply real suasages using locally reared pork. Nothing much different happened on the remainder of our stay, we eat at a restaurant in nearby Whitby for my birthday dinner. The shower continued NOT to work properly, but we had a more comfortable sleep on the the extra pillows. We had tea brought up to our room on the Saturday evening and on the Sunday morning as the UHT milk skiffs, which taste awful anyway were solid. The newspaper we order for Saturday morning did not materialise, but the Sunday paper did.
It was not too bad a stay and if we were marking it out of ten we would give a seven as improvements are necessary. The premises needs money spent on them to replace the shabby wallpaper in the corridors, but the proprietors need to walk the hotel each day to check on things like cots left in the corridors, mould on the metal windows and an off cut of carpet rolled and left at the top of a staircase to name just three. Plusses are the friendly staff, and the good menu and standard of food. On the minus side, this can be summed up as 'needs to pay more attention to detail'.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank summerhouse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2009

The place I suppose is a bit run down, every reviewer who says this is telling the truth. On first impression from the outside it needs a lick of paint, but many places do so I'm not going to judge that alone.
On arrival we walked into the bar by mistake and it was like walking into those halls you used to hire for a birthday during the 80's. Small bar in the corner surrounded by locals (very friendly and good natured) but the seating had been updated since it was built. An immediate nervous feeling as I thought to myself I had made a mistake.
Anyway booked in as I was still optimistic and was greeted warmly. The room (No. 5) was quite big with a four-poster bed, surprising comfortable given it's perceived condition (old and worn). The sheets were clean and the overall appearance of the room was neat. However, the smell that greeted us was that old and musty aroma and the toilet, although looking clean smelt like a bar toilet on a Friday night. The light fixture for the bathroom was attached somehow to the roof tiles and although it worked, anyone heavy handed would have the whole arrangement including the tile on their head. The sealant around the bath was mouldy and generally the whole place was terribly dated. I have stayed in some of the luxurious places and some of the grottiest in my life and unfortunately this place was heading towards the latter.
After airing the room, we went for a walk and Goathland has amazing scenery (including the very picturesque drive over the moors to get there) but beware, sheep are everywhere.
We had dinner on our return and the food, although not the frozen type we are used to in bar chains, was not really brilliant. Also pretty expensive. Breakfast was pretty standard neither good or bad but the young English girl running the floor (the rest of the restaurant staff are foreign) was very friendly and extremely helpful.
All in all it was interesting but I won't be back, however up that end of England I never found any good looking hotels and that’s why I ended up here - not that there isn't any but Whitby itself is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheIrishTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2009

My wife and i stopped here on the 14th of February so were unable to take part in the half price room offer for Jan/Feb so i feel the £110 a night price was slightly more than i would have paid for the quality of the room. they were spotlessly clean but feel a little lick of paint and modern matching furnishings would not have gone amiss. That however is my only quibble and who go's to a hotel to look at the mix and match decor ? you go for location atmosphere etc and this hotel has it in stacks. We arrived after a period of 7/10 days heavy snow but found the roads open and the hotel car park cleared and free from snow or ice (Metropolitan District Councils take note) The view from our room would have been incredible at any time of the year but then the name of the hotel really does give you a hint as to what to expect when you open the curtains. The food in the restaurant was superb. My wifes duck breast and my lamb were both tender and cooked to perfection and for this quality you would pay twice the prices in some lesser establishment (3 courses for two less the price of champagne was £46). The breakfast was of a really good farmhouse style Full English. The service was impeccable and no fault could be found with any aspect of the staffs attitude. I really would recommend this anyone looking to explore the North York Moors and fans of Heartbeat will love the location situated opposite the pub and behind the garage from the show. All in all a really good stay and the price and quality of the room was balanced by the price and quality of the food

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DystopianMale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2009

Once again had a lovely time at the Inn On The Moor,we have stayed here every January for about 5 or 6 years now,and all the lads cant wait to come back again. Lovely people,good food and accommodation, it is just a good all round place to be made to feel at home in.We like it that much that when we work in Newcastle we travel to Goathland to stay here! Roll on next January!

Stayed: January 2009
1  Thank NYMRamblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2008

Just returned from a great weekend at INN ON THE MOOR. We took our little dog with us and were allocated a room at the back of the hotel. the room was fine, the food was fine and most importantly this hotel is where the locals drink which is always a good sign!!! We will definitely return and thanks for a great weekend. Goathland is a lovely place and we spent a lot of time exploring the area. I can't understand people who write negative things on websites like this. If you are so picky why not stop at home!

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BazilManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2008

on arrival at the hotel it must have been fate that my husband didnt want to get the case from the car until later. outside looks dated and shabby,as we walked into the lobby you could smell the foisty old carpets and the decor was awful. As for the four poster superior bedroom that was a joke,the furniture looked like something you would find on the set of heartbeat and the bedspread was from the forties!! Needless to say we left within 5 minutes of arriving there and lost our deposit too. There is nothing at all good to say about this place apart from it needs ripping to pieces and starting again.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank blondeyMiddlesbrough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitby
6.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,093 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
759 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Seacliffe Hotel
Seacliffe Hotel
#18 of 20 in Whitby
218 reviews
6.3 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
857 reviews
7.0 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on the Moor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Moor

Address: The Mill Green Way | Goathland, Whitby YO22 5LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: £38 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Moor is a modest family run Hotel situated in the picturesque village of Goathland, only a short drive from the seaside town of Whitby. You'll be sure to feel welcome and relaxed in our stunning, newly refurbished Bar and Lounge with our fabulously friendly and accommodating staff. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On The Moor Hotel Whitby
Hotel On The Moor
On The Moor Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing