We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for money”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Whitby
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn on the Moor
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
west yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“great value for money”
Reviewed 21 February 2010

a very old but lovely place, peaceful, relaxing, made to feel welcome good service and great food ideal locaction for nym walks

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank florida2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    28
    11
    7
    15
See reviews for
23
60
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2009

A recent, return visit to the Inn on the Moor provided not only the anticipated joyous reunion with friends, as well as owners Judy and Malcolm, but also the anticipated rest and relaxation that only the Inn can provide. My/our rooms - and those of companions - were clean, with appropriate accoutrements of toiletries, coffee/teas, towels, etc. Some decor may be dated but that only adds to the charm. If we were looking for something more stark, modern, and state-of-the-art, we wouldn't have felt nearly as comfortable. The bed was so-o-o-o-o comfortable and, even with a room at the top of the stairs, I embraced the quiet of the Moors which was quite a break from our normal, noisy and hectic urban American life-style. Our meals were more than abundant and delicious. Morning breakfast kippers are fresh and local as are other items when in season and, again, are more than plenty. A special Thank You to the chef who even shared his recipe! With a teenager joining us this time, the free WI-FI was a big hit as was the pool table in the bar which provided many evenings of fun "entertainment" for those who played, as well as those who watched the games. The Inn is a great place to use as "home base" for day trips to near-by villages, hiking trails, and shopping. Tenovations that had been done to the Inn since our last visit 3-years-too-long-ago (new pub foyer, toilets, sunroom, etc.) were beautifully done and yet not so modern to be out-of-character with the original Inn. When you are looking for a holiday to slow-down, de-stress, and always find friendly, helpful staff, the Inn on the Moor is surpassed by none.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Proartist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighouse
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2009

When we arrived , it was late on Friday evening, wind swept and bedragled , we thought we would enquire to see if there were any rooms ,low and behold they had just the one room left and only for £100.00 per night . The receptionist took us to our room , we went through winding corridors and landings and we could not help observing that the entire hotel was empty ! {and had probabably been that way since 1937}.Our room was straight out of a Raymond Chandler novel and NOTHING worked ,even my alarm clock died in the early hours ! We actualy didnt have one room but 4, yes we had the run of the entire landing but could only lock the landing door and not our actual room , so our romantic evening was spoiled by sitting bolt upright in bed ,in the pitch black , in sub zero temperatures waiting for the axe murderer to come bursting through the door ! After a wonderfull nights sleep, we went down to the ' self service' breakfast room. Yes we had to nick everything from other tables - knives , forks ,cups, jam ,etc . We like history and old things, but nothing prepared us for this weekend all in all we had a very creepy experience, We think they put two many noughts on the bill when we got it ,they should have knocked one off .We would recomend this hotel if- you have money to burn, no sense of smell, no sense of taste, or if you love the film Amativille house of horror .P.S, keep driving another 9 miles to Whitby and stay at the Arundel House hotel Its fantastic

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank willywilson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south tyneside
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

i thought that the room was nice, a little dated but that was part of its charm ,but what really spoilt it was the strong smell of smoke in the room. the bathroom was titchy and very dated (and not in a good way), bit of mould round the shower and the toilet wobbled when you sat on it!No complimentary tolietries apart from shampoo, not even soap. And why do they only give you 2 sachets of coffee? No hot chocolate or biscuits either which i might have expected for £100. On the plus side, the staff were very friendly.

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank silverfliflop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALTBURN BY THE SEA
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

charming hotel. had a 2 night stay, Owners and staff at the hotel were very warm and welcoming ( late arrival, plate of sandwiches made up for us great) cosy, clean room.
breakfast was wonderful. We would stay again. Its not the ritz and frankly thank god its a warm friendly relaxing hotel. l loved it. (and yes have stayed at the ritz and the other so called posh hotels and you don;t relax in them) great real ale.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northumberland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2009

At the last minute, I decided on a weekend away to help celebrate my birthday. I am originally from North Yorkshire and know the area well certainly pre-Heatbeat. My wife knew nothing of the reservation etc until it was all in place, but loves the area having been intorduced to it by me some seven or so years ago. My booking was done over the telephone and I accepted a four poster room for two nights on a special deal of £110 for the first night and half price (£55 ) for the second. it was pointed out to me that the room was on the second floor and there was no lift. I paid a £50 deposit by credit card. On arrival at the hotel on Friday evening about 6.00 pm it was nearing the end of a hot day and there were guests in the pleasant garden. We were dealt with efficiently and warmly by a lady in reception and given a small mortice lock key on a heavy brass key ring designed to discourage one from taking the key away from the hotel and told our room number and given directions to it. The stairs to the second florr were steep but not too bad, but someone with mobility problems would not manage them. Our room was directly at the top of ther stairs and was named as well as having a number. The room was very spacious with two opening windows, some rather heavy fitted wooden furniture, a large four poster with a sort of mock tudor bedspead and canopy, tv, tea and coffee making equipment, a rather rickety easy chair and a dining type chair. The corridors, stairs and the bedroom appeared to have been recently re-carpeted. The ensuite bathroom was a bit of a disappointment. It was very very small with toilet, washbasin and bath with mixer tap shower over. There was one very small shelf under the mirror, over the washbasin with some complimentary toiletries but nowhere to put one's own washbags. But all in all it seemed reasonable for a short stay if not exactly luxurious. After unpacking and a quick refresh in the bathroom we went down for something to eat. We were offered the bar or a 'restaurant' to eat in. The restaurant was really a room off the bar with tables with tablecloths on, but they were not laid up with cutlery, glasses etc. and it all looked quite austere. The next morning we found this and an adjoining room was where a buffet breakfast were served. We chose the bar to eat in. This was narrow, but looked friendly apart from a rather incongruous pool table slap bang in the middle. The tables were converted sewing maching stands, very 80's, each with a wall bench and a couple of chairs. Rather strangely the benches had a rather haphazardly cut off cut of the aforementioned new carpet loose on the seat. The small but surprisingly well stocked bar was at one end was staffed by a well mannered cheerful young man who quickly served us with real ale from a a choice of three and a gin and tonic. He also gave us menus and said he would take our order when we had decided on our choice. The menu conmsisited of a Specials loose sheet and an a la carte in a somewhat dated leatherette folder. Both were imaginative and we had a bit of difficulty deciding what to choose, it all looked good. My had homemade chicken pate and I chose homemade beef carpaccio followed by seared salmon and haddock and homemade chips respectively. All was served quickly and all was excellent. English was not our servers native tongue and there was a bit of confusion over a request for a peppermill but this was quickly and jovially sorted out by the proprietress who had earlier dealt with us on arrival. Other guests were coming into the bar all the time and those with children were going into the 'restaurant'. The other dishes I saw looked as good as ours. Sitting on one of the benches near us, enjoying a beer and talking to a couple of guests at the bar was a guy who we think was the proprietor. The bar could have done with a makeover but seemed friendly enough, however one big quibble we had was when a family with two boys sat in the bar with the boys then proceeding to use the pool table. A sign on a large pink card by the bar clearly stated that 'No Childeren were Allowed in the Bar at any time'. The proprietor did not bring this to the parent's notice, if they had indeed missed it, and did not stop the children using the pool table, in fact to the contrary he and the guest he was talking to encouraged them by commenting on their skill. Don't have rules and signs if they are not to be enforced.
On returning to the room we found we could not obtain a signal on the TV. A call to reception saw the proprietress and then the affable barman quickly come to the room and fix the aerial in place.
The bed was comfortable enough with top sheet and duvet under the 'tudor' bedspread, but the two pillows were rather well used and lumpy. This was rectified next day when two more were provied at our request. When we tried to use the shower, what a disaster. The water would not come through the showerhead unless both taps were turned on and even then most of the water came out of the mixer tap. As a result it was only lukewarm. i determined that the shower hose had collapsed and needed replacement. I alos thought the return valve in the tap was broken. We managed as best we could and told the proprietress when we went down to breakfast. She offered to move us to another room but we settled on a replacement hose and someone to look at the tap. The former was done bit not the latter as a result the shower was still useless.
We went for breakfast at 09.10 am only to find no place laid for us and all the food being taken away from the buffet. However a table was quickly made ready for us and our order taken. Breakfast we were told was 7.30 until 10.00, but clearly the staff had other ideas. There was a table with small boxes of cereal, some jugs of juices, mostly empty, tinned grapefruit and tinned prunes. The breakfast menu was reasonable and normally available from a hot buffet but as we were 'late' ours was cooked and brought to the table. Bacon, egg, fresh grilled tomato, baked beans and two sausages. Why do accommodation providers insist on using catering sausages, which have tough artificial skins and are complete strangers to pork meat. In North Yorkshire any local butcher would be pleased to supply real suasages using locally reared pork. Nothing much different happened on the remainder of our stay, we eat at a restaurant in nearby Whitby for my birthday dinner. The shower continued NOT to work properly, but we had a more comfortable sleep on the the extra pillows. We had tea brought up to our room on the Saturday evening and on the Sunday morning as the UHT milk skiffs, which taste awful anyway were solid. The newspaper we order for Saturday morning did not materialise, but the Sunday paper did.
It was not too bad a stay and if we were marking it out of ten we would give a seven as improvements are necessary. The premises needs money spent on them to replace the shabby wallpaper in the corridors, but the proprietors need to walk the hotel each day to check on things like cots left in the corridors, mould on the metal windows and an off cut of carpet rolled and left at the top of a staircase to name just three. Plusses are the friendly staff, and the good menu and standard of food. On the minus side, this can be summed up as 'needs to pay more attention to detail'.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank summerhouse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2009

The place I suppose is a bit run down, every reviewer who says this is telling the truth. On first impression from the outside it needs a lick of paint, but many places do so I'm not going to judge that alone.
On arrival we walked into the bar by mistake and it was like walking into those halls you used to hire for a birthday during the 80's. Small bar in the corner surrounded by locals (very friendly and good natured) but the seating had been updated since it was built. An immediate nervous feeling as I thought to myself I had made a mistake.
Anyway booked in as I was still optimistic and was greeted warmly. The room (No. 5) was quite big with a four-poster bed, surprising comfortable given it's perceived condition (old and worn). The sheets were clean and the overall appearance of the room was neat. However, the smell that greeted us was that old and musty aroma and the toilet, although looking clean smelt like a bar toilet on a Friday night. The light fixture for the bathroom was attached somehow to the roof tiles and although it worked, anyone heavy handed would have the whole arrangement including the tile on their head. The sealant around the bath was mouldy and generally the whole place was terribly dated. I have stayed in some of the luxurious places and some of the grottiest in my life and unfortunately this place was heading towards the latter.
After airing the room, we went for a walk and Goathland has amazing scenery (including the very picturesque drive over the moors to get there) but beware, sheep are everywhere.
We had dinner on our return and the food, although not the frozen type we are used to in bar chains, was not really brilliant. Also pretty expensive. Breakfast was pretty standard neither good or bad but the young English girl running the floor (the rest of the restaurant staff are foreign) was very friendly and extremely helpful.
All in all it was interesting but I won't be back, however up that end of England I never found any good looking hotels and that’s why I ended up here - not that there isn't any but Whitby itself is definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheIrishTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitby
6.7 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,019 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
722 reviews
6.2 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
416 reviews
7.1 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,112 reviews
7.0 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn on the Moor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn on the Moor

Property: The Inn on the Moor
Address: The Mill Green Way | Goathland, Whitby YO22 5LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Whitby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn on the Moor is a modest family run Hotel situated in the picturesque village of Goathland, only a short drive from the seaside town of Whitby. You'll be sure to feel welcome and relaxed in our stunning, newly refurbished Bar and Lounge with our fabulously friendly and accommodating staff. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On The Moor Hotel Whitby
Hotel On The Moor
On The Moor Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing