We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly old-fashioned - and brilliant with it!”
Review of Saxonville Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Saxonville Hotel
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2011

It was a question of finding somewhere ar short notice - but am I glad I found this! Most excellent food (including a brillant table d'hote), a relatively spacious single room (a rarity), service was excellent without being obsequious. Not cheap, but worth every penny!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bathman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (310)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 310 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2011

What a gem of an hotel, we went away for the weekend with some friends and how we wish we could have stayed longer.
The staff at the hotel are so friendly and the service we received was excellent,the food at the hotel is first class,and it is the cleanest hotel we have ever stayed in. thank you to all at the saxonville hotel. WE WILL BE BACK!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shixy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

Oh wow, what a fantastic place to stay. It is the cleanest hotel we have ever stayed at and the staff are so helpful and friendly! The food is first class and we felt really spoilt! We don't however want to recommend it to anyone for the simple reason that there won't be any vacancies when we next wish to stay!!! (only joking we have told everyone about it !)
Thank you all so much for making our short stay so enjoyable!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chean_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2011

This is the third year in a row that we have booked an early weekend getaway with the Saxonville, taking advantage of their special offer. Whenever we book, friends are always eager to join us so there tends to be a few of us staying at the same time. I can not fault, the cleanliness, nor the friendliness of all the staff and the service is outstanding. One word of warning though if you are coming to stay here forget the diet, the food is outstanding and you don't want to miss a thing. We have visited other Hotels in Whitby to look at their facilities, but nothing compares to the Saxonville and we wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandCW_Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights to celebrate my mums Birthday. There was me my husband, our 2 children & 6 other adults & 2 more children. My mum & Dad stay at this hotel every year & have been coming here for a number of years, so we knew what to expect.
We had a family room on the top floor with a double bed & 2 single beds. The room looked like it had recently been re-decorated along with new carpet. There was a flat screen tv on the wall, tea,coffee etc... , hairdryer & fluffy dressing gowns & slippers. The bathroom was also nice with plenty of towels & toiletries,
The food in the hotel was fantastic & you could not fault it we had breakfast each morning (plenty to choose from) & the 5 course silver service meal in the evening . They do also have a seperate childrens menu aswell. The staff were excellent & the service that we received was fantastic.
The hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk to whitby centre. We would definatly stay at this hotel when visiting Whitby again.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 186356Red20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2010

This was our short break in Whitby, the hotel was slightly expensive but worth the money. The breakfasts and evening meals were delicious, the silver service was first class. It was very helpful to find a hotel with parking in Whitby.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helensbid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2010

We had booked a three night break inclusive of breakfast and dinner. It was excellent value for money. This hotel is outside the town centre which means that parking is easy in its own car park. The walk into the town is fairly easy but there are a number of steps which could cause a problem for the less able. Our room was clean, warm and comfortable and of reasonable size. Service in the restaurant was friendly and efficient. The menu was traditional and well cooked and presented. We had 5 courses and coffee which we considered to be exceptional value for money.There was no vegetarian option but we understand that one would be available on request. Breakfast was of an equally high standard.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank narrowboatcrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
1.4 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,161 reviews
2.1 mi away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
893 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 19 in Whitby
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 19 in Whitby
1,220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay Royal Whitby Hotel
0.4 mi away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#6 of 19 in Whitby
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saxonville Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saxonville Hotel

Address: Ladysmith Avenue, Whitby YO21 3HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: £77 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Saxonville Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Accommodation in Award Winning Family Run Hotel. Well situated on Whitby's West Cliff. The comfort and hospitality of Saxonville Hotel can be found just a few minutes stroll from the narrow winding alleyways of this delightful historic town. Our Fairfield Restaurant has an excellent choice of traditional fair complemented by our extensive wine list and our special sweet trolley of mouthwatering desserts. No supplement on single rooms. Private Car Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Saxonville Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saxonville Hotel Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing